Microsoft Project

4.4 (1,883)
Write a Review!
Project management & collaboration software

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(1,883)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

1883 Reviews

Cesar
Cesar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

Reviewed on 31/08/2018

Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and...

Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pros

Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level
within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.

Cons

One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

pawan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and trustworthy solution for tracking Projects.

Reviewed on 20/01/2023

Microsoft Project is a powerful tool for managing projects and tracking progress. The software's...

Microsoft Project is a powerful tool for managing projects and tracking progress. The software's Gantt charts, resource histograms, and critical path analysis make it easy to identify potential issues and make adjustments as needed. Additionally, the integration with other Microsoft Office applications such as Excel and Outlook allows users to easily share data and collaborate with team member

Pros

Microsoft Project is its ability to provide a clear and comprehensive overview of a project's progress, timelines, and resources. The software's Gantt charts, resource histograms, and critical path analysis make it easy to identify potential issues and make adjustments as needed. Additionally, the integration with other Microsoft Office applications such as Excel and Outlook allows users to easily share data and collaborate with team members, making it an efficient tool for managing projects and teams.

Cons

when using Microsoft Project for the first time, users may initially find the software to be overwhelming and difficult to navigate. The software has many features and options, and it can take time to understand how to use them effectively.

Alternatives Considered

Airtable and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

There are several reasons why someone might choose Microsoft Project over alternative products. Some potential reasons include:Familiarity: If someone has previously used Microsoft Project or is familiar with its interface, they may feel more comfortable sticking with it.Integration: Microsoft Project may have better integration with other Microsoft products that the user already uses, such as Excel or SharePoint.Advanced capabilities: Microsoft Project may offer more advanced features and capabilities for project management, such as detailed resource management and project portfolio management.Industry standard: Microsoft Project is widely used in many industries, and is considered the standard for project management software.Support: Microsoft Project may have better support options, such as a larger user community or more extensive documentation, than some of the alternatives.
Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

I want to like this product as it has potential, but...

Reviewed on 26/05/2022

This product has so much potential if they could resolve the bugs, interface, and integration with...

This product has so much potential if they could resolve the bugs, interface, and integration with other Microsoft software. It truly could be a one-stop product if they could dial this in.

Pros

This product is incredibly affordable, especially when it comes with the entire Microsoft Suite. It also is familiar when compared to other Microsoft products.

Cons

Unfortunately, this product feels dated and clunky. It's visually not as appealing as other project management software and is the least intuitive in design. This product also is riddled with bugs that prevent tasks/projects from updating or saving properly, which can be devastating to an entire team. Additionally, this product is very clunky when integrating with other products, especially with other Microsoft software, which is genuinely disappointing.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com and Asana
Imtiaz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of Microsoft Project

Reviewed on 3/04/2024

Microsoft Project stage helps in really plan an Undertaking in light of the distributing assets,...

Microsoft Project stage helps in really plan an Undertaking in light of the distributing assets, its associations with exercises, Calendar, Reports which at last aides in observing of Task in much preferable way over regular programming projects, for example, Excel Templates.

Pros

Planning of Assignments on time premise or on custom measures
Cooperative Errand Task and getting Progress Information sources On the web
Guides, Various Reports assist with surveying the undertakings
Promptly accessible applications from Share point Store MS Office store are helpful for expanding the usefulness of the item eg Custom Dashboards

Cons

Ascertaining Undertaking Progress in light of Custom Fields( which are utilized to quantify Assignment Progress on Exceptional Execution Models )
Improving on CSOM and JSOM customization
Not restricting Help to Just Out of The Crate highlights

Norma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Ultimate Project Management Software

Reviewed on 14/09/2021

Pros

MS Project has many powerful features for project management like gantt charts, budget tracking and task management that give users a ton of detailed options for managing resources. It's fairly easy to integrate with an existing microsoft environment and requires little to no maintenance once your custom templates are set up.

Cons

It does have a steep learning curve that can seem intimidating to new users and the overwhelming amount of feature capabilities can seem daunting. MS Project also does not integrate well with other project management software so that can definitely be improved.

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork.com , Birdview and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Project

Zoho didnt provide the more detailed options I needed for resource management.

Switched From

Zoho Projects

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

We were already a Microsoft environment so the easy transition and integration with our other apps made the decision pretty easy.
Mohamed Salah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Comprehensive Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 17/01/2023

Microsoft Project is an excellent tool for project management. It is feature-rich and highly...

Microsoft Project is an excellent tool for project management. It is feature-rich and highly efficient, allowing users to easily create and monitor projects. The cost can be prohibitive for some businesses, but its comprehensive capabilities are well worth the investment.

Pros

Microsoft Project is an incredibly comprehensive and user-friendly project management tool. It has a wide range of features and capabilities, making it ideal for businesses of all sizes. It allows users to easily create and monitor projects, track progress, and share resources.

Cons

Microsoft Project can be quite costly, especially for businesses with limited budgets. Additionally, navigating the menus and settings can be a bit tricky, as there are numerous options and features to choose from.

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Project is your way to plan ahead projects

Reviewed on 19/03/2023

A great platform to work on and it does the complete job.

A great platform to work on and it does the complete job.

Pros

Support is great, features are wonderful, there many many updates with new changes, interfaces are really giving what you are looking for.

Cons

It might not be very easy to find your way at the beginning but then you will.

Alternatives Considered

Trello

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Project

A great program yet it does not have all the features.

Switched From

Workzone

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

Support is better with MS Project as we have seen all the reviews.
Francesco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Three Pillars : Quality, Time & Money

Reviewed on 24/09/2022

Pros

Tracking construction projects, schedule and milestones. Monitoring the work and quality assessment. Cutting costs and risk through accurate planning and risk projections

Cons

Charts might be overly crowded sometimes specially for extensive big projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MS Project review

Reviewed on 22/02/2022

Good time & cost estimation support as well as the scheduling tool.

Good time & cost estimation support as well as the scheduling tool.

Pros

Really easy GUI with basic tool available for entry level Project Management.

Cons

The greatest bug of this SW is the lacking of a WBS for waterfall Projects.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

A cheaper solution for the real Company needs.
Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly recommended tool

Reviewed on 29/07/2021

Pros

I like the ability to track multiple project timelines.

Cons

This tool is not included in basic Microsoft Office.

Abraham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft PowerPoint - By Abraham Chongkit

Reviewed on 16/02/2020

So far my overall experience with MS Project is a little more unique then expected and I would...

So far my overall experience with MS Project is a little more unique then expected and I would probably prefer more clarification on its compatibility and uses from Microsoft and their retail agents around the world before purchasing. The installation was pretty straight forward and I have not had any issue in regards to the application functionalities, and features. However, it did take me long to learn how to use MS Project and I would probably suggest that the help and instructional features could be adjusted to accommodate other users similar to my situation.

Pros

The great thing I like most about MS Project is that it's interface is quiet similar to that of other MS Office products, such as MS Excel. This familiarity gives me the confidence that the product I am about to use, is very similar to other MS Office products that I use on a daily basis. MS Project integrates well with Office 365 which allows me the space that I need to work remotely from anywhere when I'm outside the office, at home or sitting at a cafe having coffee while working on a task. Even when there is no internet connection, MS Project still works perfectly offline because it is a desktop application after all and your files are stored locally which allows ease of access when you need them. In addition to the user friendly interface of MS Project and its well designed features, I also love the built in templates that come with MS Project which is ready for use when I need it. The various templates have different themes and natures which gives you the flexibility to chose from according to the task you are trying to accomplish.

Cons

The least thing I liked about MS Project is that it took me a while to get used to the menus, and features such as the interface when i first started. It took a lot of practice and further research on how to use the product faster and efficiently because my first impression is that MS Project was not really user-friendly at the beginning. I think MS Project is a bit expensive and you need to plan and make an effective decision before you purchase the full license, and the reason I say this is because if you're a small business with a small budget then you can only afford a handful of user licenses, which means if your business will scale up in the future, then you have to purchase more user licenses to accommodate growth. Another con with MS Project that I found out is that it is only compatible with computers installed with the Windows operating system and you need to install the full licensed version to start using the full features of the application. I normally work remotely and I need an application that is compatible with other mobile devices such as android, apple iOS and Linux. I am unsure if MS Project can accommodate under these circumstances according to the application prerequisites and requirements of use for MS Project.

Fahed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tracking Your Work

Reviewed on 20/03/2022

With this amazing program you can create milestones for your projects to plan and determine phases...

With this amazing program you can create milestones for your projects to plan and determine phases and requirements of each phase of project lifetime. MS Project can give you a clear view to track your project and how it is going off track or doing well, so you well be able to evaluate works and make a good actions due to milestones changes to give an assessment in proper way. It is need a time to do a good plan with MS Project, then you will feel ease to track your project and it will be smooth especially if everyone involved in this work plan know about it.

Pros

MS Project is one of the simplest programs for project management. To plan, monitor, and evaluate projects in the correct way, which decrease risks and waste of time in work that includes milestones of the project lifetime. We can link Microsoft programs with each other that ease the process of data entry especially with Microsoft Excel tables while we build our plan, we can move these data to Microsoft Project. Create activities are very easy in addition to arrange it according to priorities, and determine resources. You can find the vital path of the program, and choose filters, as needed, among the Microsoft Project things. It is easy to update data, also the percentage of each milestone can be view simply and you can filter activities to know which one is delayed and which one is going in track by using Microsoft Project.

Cons

Nothing important to talk about Microsoft Project unless sometimes the program hang for a while after making an update for some data then it will move on. I have used Microsoft Project for many years and I did not find any problems unless this one.

Israel Jose
Israel Jose
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Is a valuable project management resource suitable for projects of any size

Reviewed on 6/05/2018

Since I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into...

Since I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into organized projects. This very helpful when I need to present proposals because I can give a solid overview of the project's idea, estimate, in the early stage, and to control during the execution, all the resources and manage and predict risks. The linkages, not only are easy to use but also help me when dealing with complex tasks. During presentations, the Gannt window allows me to show timelines versus the lines of tasks and clarify any doubt and even make corrections. I am a fan of the shortcuts, and filters, they help me to zoom over critical points. I really appreciate the fact that I can import and Export tasks in excel formats, it makes my daily work and reporting very easy.

Pros

For any user used to Microsoft's Software Family, the interface and tabs of the software will be very easy to understand and to use. The drag and drop function for schedule makes it easy to modify any resource. It has the most important features that any project management software can have and It is very useful that you can track all the necessary changes, manpower loading, deviations on time, and costs to complete the daily project managing tasks, provide baselines, and formulate all the necessary estimations. The Gantt Chart provides a graphical overview of the whole project and combined with the reports and striking graphics make it easier to understand and present the planning and evaluation strategy. If not the time to start a project from the scratch MPP comes with a very powerful set of templates. Indisputably MPP becomes an ideal first choice for any project manager.

Cons

The first I must say is that you need a strong background in project management theory (critical path method, evaluation techniques and so on) in order to master Microsoft Project and smoothly use all the features and capabilities of the software without having a complex learning curve. Besides, it's not an intuitive program so it is adviced taking a training course, but yes, you can learn to use it by yourself by dedicating hours and discipline. In the other hand, you need to consider the size of your project and company, and considering that it is a monthly subscription (including access to the cloud) that you should pay for every user, it can end up being relatively expensive at the end of the month. The integration with externals apps is null so you need to do it manually. And well, there are some formatting issues, is really complicated sometimes and printed results are not always what is expected.

Stever Jose
Stever Jose
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Be able to have a clear vision, vision and control to make decision

Reviewed on 26/07/2018

Have the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle...

Have the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle to the process and project closure. and the collaboration in external offices with the executors or other leaders is very useful to measure impacts and make decisions.

Pros

Since we implemented it, which is quite easy, it is enough to have a 2010 project server and a professional project for the stations all in collaboration with a sharepoint farm. The implementation process took a couple of months to adjust the configurations and to be able to obtain the greatest possible potential of the solution.
in general we could use the graphs and diagrams in order to measure and make correct decisions to be applied in each case
the collaborative work increased to have a better follow-up of the tasks and be able to finalize or inform some deviation in time of each project
The support of the provider was very specialized for when we had to resort in some cases to the implementation and uses of the platform.
a great functionality was to be able to create project templates without having to go through the process of creating formulas within each file, something that is optional for each use but in ours we had formulas applied to be able to measure specific calculations that we needed.
Roi's early measurements were accurate in a high percentage which helped to clarify the landscape of the project area.

Cons

It is a very expensive solution, for which not all companies are willing to invest, not only in the platform but in the hours of R & D that the team must use to manage it, maintain it and work on the solution.
Another point is that it is not multiplatform and this in the cases that are needed is important to evaluate it or keep it in mind.
It has many features and it is a bit difficult to be an expert because of the number of functionalities that you have and you end up resorting to conventional methods because it is cumbersome to know where to find them.

Majid
Majid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

General porous Project Management tool

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

General porous Project Management tool and not applicable in the complicated projects

General porous Project Management tool and not applicable in the complicated projects

Pros

Windows application is really user-friendly. I love the recurring task facility for creating repetitive tasks without the need of creating each task separately. Supporting the different relationship between tasks including FS. SS, SF, and FF

Cons

I wished it supports backward resource-leveling. It doesn't support the whole areas of the project management body of knowledge including Quality management and risk management in the best way.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud
ADEEL
ADEEL
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A review of Microsoft Project

Reviewed on 23/01/2024

Overall I am quite satisfied with the services of Microsoft Project

Overall I am quite satisfied with the services of Microsoft Project

Pros

Microsoft Project applications are easily accessible from the MS Office Store and Sharepoint Store and can be used to increase the product's functionality, such as Custom Dashboards etc. The main advantage is large database and well-written documentation, questions and issues can be readily answered within the community. On the other hand, Microsoft offers effective technical help.

Cons

Although the use is flawless, the configuration is not the easiest, however once configured. User management is difficult and time-consuming.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Planner

Switched From

Microsoft Planner
Hans
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best project management tool in the industry!

Reviewed on 7/10/2016

Microsoft Project is undoubtedly one of the best project management tool in the industry, whether...

Microsoft Project is undoubtedly one of the best project management tool in the industry, whether you are working on projects in different fields such as IT, Marketing, Finance, Construction, etc. As long as I can remember, MS Project has been helping me deliver projects successfully. It's a software that is ideal for collaborating with my team and it aids in effective planning as well as allocation of resources. Probably the best feature of this program is the resource management aspect of it notably the workload tracking with everyone involved (team members, client, and vendors).

I normally use the Gantt Chart view since this is the easiest to work with and most common as well. I don't think I've ever worked with an easier software that can do simple changes such as linking multiple dependencies. In addition, this is more visually intuitive and you can easily manipulate the shape and colors of the bars (this is very helpful when dealing with multiple tasks).

Overall, this software is definitely one of the top ones out there. It takes a lot of practice to get used to it but having templates (especially the ones specific to your company/industry or whenever you are working on similar projects with identical deliverables [ease of use = tasks are populated]). One good advice for people who are interested in project management: learn this software early one if possible. I know many universities teach the MS Project basics.

Pros

Ease of use, visually presentable (especially when dealing with many tasks), most common software in the industry

Cons

It takes some time to learn the software so it can be intimidated to new users

Wassim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft Project: Simple to use Project Management Software for Small Projects

Reviewed on 2/08/2023

I really appreciate the MS Project package as a first step to manage small projects before heading...

I really appreciate the MS Project package as a first step to manage small projects before heading to learn more advanced project management packages such as Oracle Primavera.

Pros

Microsoft Project is very simple to learn and use in a minimal amount of time. This is why I try to encourage my senior project students in Computer Science to use it in realizing the different scheduling and resource management processes during the various phases of the design and implementation of their project deliverables. Users with basic knowledge of the Microsoft Office suite can easily find their way in using Microsoft Project to manage their project timeline. Simple scheduling mechanisms such as Gantt charts are so simple to implement and track in Microsoft Project. Team collaboration is very elegantly implemented in Microsoft Project which allows team leaders to take informed decisions towards the completion of their tasks. A very nice feature in Microsoft Project is its seamless integration with the different office components such as Excel and Sharepoint. Moreover, it can be easy synched with relational databases via very simple APIs.

Cons

Although Microsoft Project is supported by Cloud sync features in the 365 Microsoft cloud, still Oracle Primavera is much more capable in terms of cloud integration with better PaaS and SaaS services.

Yassine
Yassine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A reliabale software for project management

Reviewed on 4/09/2021

Microsoft Project has gotten more intuitive over time, yet novice users can still be overwhelmed,...

Microsoft Project has gotten more intuitive over time, yet novice users can still be overwhelmed, it reminds me of my years of studying at college, it wasn't an easy task to manage a projet back then with Microsoft project, but once I began to manipulate it started to make sense to me. In the working field, as a user, Microsoft Project helps me to prioritize tasks, define the necessary actions, and then assign them to the relevant team members based on my preferences. There is also a shared team calendar that allows your teammates to see everything at the same time. The calendar sends out reminders for meetings and allows me to keep their work plans in sync with one another.

Pros

Microsoft Project connects with Office 365 via the online service of SharePoint which make changes and loads flexible. The project management software integrates team collaboration technologies such as Skype, Power BI. the interface is similar to the Microsoft Excel ribbon desig, it always gaves me a sensation of familiarity. Obviously, in the field of project management software Microsoft Project was a pioneer. That's the awesomeness of Project, all of this makes The program trusted and continually updated to fulfill our needs. In addition, the software for Microsoft Project management can be used for the production of road maps, budget and expenditures. Teams and companies with the possibility of deploying on-site or in the cloud will have additional freedom.

Cons

Unlike other applications, Microsoft Project saves documents in a proprietary format that makes it impossible for anyone who does not use the software to read the files. It is necessary for me as a project manager to determine whether or not the recipients programs will open the files before transferring them to other people, such as clients or partners. If the recipients programs will not open the files, it is necessary for me to create an alternate compatible format in order to ensure that the recipients can open the files.

Amira
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Method of project management that is efficient and exact

Reviewed on 5/04/2022

I was able to finish the Dashboard presentation on time. Microsoft Project, which will offer you...

I was able to finish the Dashboard presentation on time. Microsoft Project, which will offer you with genuine results, such as completion rates, delays, and the tracking of resources, as well as the ability to make educated decisions.

Pros

An integrated project management program guarantees that roles are integrated throughout the project life cycle. With the program's easy-to-use Work Breakdown Structure (WBS) construction, users can easily add activities, assign resources to each, link activities and extract the important path. Your procedures will get more rapid with practice. Total float and free float for all events are also available for off-schedule activities. Calculates actual completion percentages compared to intended (Cash flow) and update method (Earned value). Managers may review all of this data and make informed decisions on the dashboard. Importing and exporting project data enhances Excel's skills as a project assistant.

Cons

This application has greatly improved my work as an engineer, allowing me to design and update programs while also calculating completion rates and critical path percentages.

Heberth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A great help in project planning

Reviewed on 21/09/2022

When I was first approached to use Microsoft Project, I thought it was going to be a very complicate...

When I was first approached to use Microsoft Project, I thought it was going to be a very complicated software to handle. However, I was wrong, in the first days of use I could realize that I was wrong. It didn't take me long to become familiar with its functions and I never felt lost in its interface. I don't consider myself an expert in this kind of software but it still helped me a lot in the planning of different projects. It is also an added value that it is from Microsoft, since it integrates very well with the other office software of the company. Finally, I don't have much to complain about, but I would like Project to be able to be used online on a web platform. I think if Microsoft would add that feature, it would gain even more appreciation from many of its users.

Pros

What I like most about this software is definitely its ease of use. When I was first approached to use Microsoft Project, I had already heard about it and had the conception that it was a bit complicated software. However, in the first few days of work I realized that I was wrong. Its interface is very intuitive and that makes even novice users get a good result at work, plus the integration with other Microsoft office products is definitely an addition that differentiates it from its competition.

Cons

I have little to criticize this software, as I don't consider myself an expert in this category of software either. In my experience it has helped me quite well in project planning, and I have had no problems using it. But perhaps, if I could ask for an online platform of the software, instead of a desktop software, I think if they add that feature they would make many of their users happy.

Marianela
Marianela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MS Project as a tool to achieve seamless resource management.

Reviewed on 26/09/2022

Extremely effective for managing projects and visualizing them with classic waterfall Gantt charts,...

Extremely effective for managing projects and visualizing them with classic waterfall Gantt charts, it is also extremely useful for monitoring the entire execution life cycle, including other tasks such as training, change management, support, evolutionary maintenance, etc.

Pros

With MS Project we have a very stable tool, available in the cloud or stand alone depending on the version and implementation, in which we have a large number of features to manage time and resources, among others. It is quite flexible to keep project portfolios in time. The members of the team can contribute and in general it is possible to prioritize the allocation of resources in the investments of the project portfolio.

Cons

It is a great tool for project managers in addition to being widely used by millions of people, but perhaps there is a great opportunity to rethink the incorporation of modules that are native and allow coupling implementations or deployments based on hybrid or agile methodologies.

Frimny
Frimny
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It is simple and easy to use help for portfolio management of projects and everyday tasks.

Reviewed on 23/06/2018

Pros

The most I like about the software is that it is a programming tool that offers a flexible local or online solution for the management of project portfolios and day-to-day tasks, it is easy and simple to use and facilitates the management of the projects. You can work with columns and rows, graphics and other integrated tools, necessary and useful to give you better view, organization and presentation to our project portfolio. You can work together or as a team with another server. It also allows us to capture and evaluate project ideas, make decisions and easily model different scenarios inside or outside of an organization. In general, it is designed for any user either with little experience in programming or with great knowledge, since it costs a good technical support and easy to understand aids. It can be used from any mobile device.

Cons

Somewhat difficult to handle for non-expert or non-trained users in the area, previous knowledge is needed to be used as other software. No productivity can be measured and the cost of the license is expensive.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Another useful tool from Microsoft with the ability to create tasks and add resources to it.

Reviewed on 6/04/2018

Overall I would recommend that app, I have been able to put together a rough draft of a project...

Overall I would recommend that app, I have been able to put together a rough draft of a project quicker, saving time stress and can edit it to the likeness of my team quicker. Also, while using the software I have been able to view the project and show the process when asked. This tool helps us to administrate, develop and design projects of our company. Good analytical tool

Pros

This is another useful tool from Microsoft with the ability to create tasks and add resources to it. I love the filtering abilities, I am constantly using them for zooming in on what is critical whether in a meeting or working individually to update the schedule. This app provides you with templates and shortens the time you spend on putting things in place. What is also good is that you can focus on the depth of the information you are sending out rather than throwing something together and it does not appear professional and the information is missed. You can also invite your team into the project as well.

Cons

What I would like is an easier way to set up reports. I like that there are a lot of great features, but they are not as user friendly as some of the other Microsoft Project features. You will need to invest more time in getting trained, because they do look very helpful once you know how to set them up.

Bruno
Bruno
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great software to carry out and manage business projects.

Reviewed on 1/08/2022

We are now doing a marketing project for our company which makes this software very important as we...

We are now doing a marketing project for our company which makes this software very important as we use it to be accurate with data. The benefits that this software offers us are planning, organization, time, saving money avoiding unnecessary expenses, better presentation of our projects.

Pros

This software is really good when it comes to developing projects, since each phase can be planned and reports can be made in real time, one of its important characteristics is that it allows you to have control of the resources and make an exact calculation. This software contains many tutorial videos where it helps you understand how it works and that it is not complicated when using it. In the company it has been and is very useful and necessary and its integration has been excellent and easy since we have prior training to be able to run the software and apply it in our business processes through the planning and execution of projects.

Cons

This software is complete and personally has many functions that I find it hard to say that they need to be improved, but in reality everything is perfect and very easy to use. Integration into our business processes has been easy and much needed as we run projects from this software.