Panorama Necto

Panorama Necto

Smart data discovery & visualization

4.3/5 (39 reviews)
Sidharth D.
Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

One of the best self service BI tools. Real fun to use and explore

Reviewed on 3/08/2015
Review Source: GetApp

I highly recommend this tool for any business that wishes for quicker and qualitative analysis of their data. This tool is hosted over web and can connect to any industry standard backend packages that we know. It is really intelligent enough to manage the metadata and hence giving a wider and more intuitive options to use the data for creating charts and graphs.
You can do everything that you wish through simply drag and drop and few clicks. This makes a user to understand the data really quick and in a more efficient manner. Everything is quick, easy and intuitive to develop, be it a simple bar graph that gives category wise measures or a trend analysis of historical data or a gauge to understand the thresholds, anything.
The best part is that it a very simple mechanism to share the analysis and invite others to contribute to it. A collaborative BI platform in real sense.
Its ability to treat and visualize the data is simply amazing and there might be countable such options available currently apart from Necto. Slicing and dicing of data is really quick. It also provides customizable text area to place the interesting insights. I have worked on several tools before but Necto is a real game changer. It would be amazing to see what new features it evolves with. Again a highly recommended tool for holistic and self-service BI.

Pros

Connects to any data (most backend packages as per industry standards)
Understands the nature of data and the metadata really well. Treats the data on the fly and creates smart visualizations.
Creates basic data arrangements easily without waiting for the users to instruct. For an example, given a date field it creates a calendar hierarchy by default.
Comes with lot of option to modify and build the smart infographic. Uses innovative pictures and charts to create the dashboards
Provides a centrally hosted collaborative platform to share your work to a wider audience but only of your choice. The role based access is really amazing
It has smart computing abilities to deliver some of the complex analytical requirements such as what-if analysis, pinpointing the actual issues and side by side comparison of business factors.
Helps you identify why you are succeeding and where you should shift your focus to.
The maps are amazing and they just don’t act as control points rather you can populate various measures on them making it really efficient to understand the business in geographical info graph
All in all a really great tool to work on and absolute value for money.

Cons

Ability to handle bigdata and advance data modelling capbilities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gaur P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services

Powerful Database friendly BI tool

Reviewed on 17/04/2015
Review Source: GetApp

The primary criteria for selecting BI tool is that it should be versatile in all aspects. When we started reviewing BI Tools, we liked following things in Panorama Necto.

Panorama Software has added
-social features
-exception tracking
-automated insights

Along with this panorama Necto
is available both as a client server and online service
offers support through email, phone and tutorials
offers Mobile Intelligence technology and supports Android and iOS devices
is one of the few companies out there offering Business Intelligence 3.0
allows users to connect to any data source and model it via in-memory technology

Pros

Social Features

Necto's supports ability to subscribe to users via social features. Users can initiate context-based discussions, and search for users and relevant content within the system. it maintains and provides its own security mechanism but integrates with Active Directory (AD), third-party authentication tools, and in-house custom security mechanisms.

Subscribing to users.
Necto gives Twitter like feeling. We can subscribe to users in Necto. Subscribing to one of our colleagues lets us follow all the changes made to his or her workboard. Because you can view users' shared workboards, you can concentrate on those that are active. Subscribing is easy. You just need to click a person in the social bar, then click the Subscribe icon. A second click will unsubscribe you.

Users can start context-based discussions. include context and annotations, which are saved as part of the workboard to add more depth and foster knowledge sharing.

Cons

Shortcomings

As Panorama Necto works heavily with Microsoft, its platform is not compatible with Macs. Also, its functionality is not supported for Blackberry devices. Also, it does not support multiple languages, as well as profit and predictive analysis features.

Note that Panorama does not offer in-person training or online chat support.

Shazin S.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

An innovation!!

Reviewed on 14/04/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I have been evaluating tools within our organization to be suggested to different clients which are less technical and more business user oriented for fast first hand analytics. I came across one such tool with the name Necto.

I was thrilled with the capabilities of astonishingly ready to build and simplified, modern and in-cell infographics that can be used by just right clicking on the attributes. Another feature that I think stood out in this tool is of it being suggestive which leads to automated analysis and recommendations. I also observed that it uses crowdsourcing to recommend workboards. This tool also gives a feature of it being collaborative in decision making experience wherein one can directly connect with the associates within the enterprise from within the tool.

Cons

Performance in case of huge datasets needs to be further analyzed.

A good application for basic analysts but more advanced features needs to be released by the vendor for power users in coming versions.

Cost of implementing multiple analytical tools for different sect of users should be considered.

Technical documentaion needs to be evolved with time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Debajit B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

“Nice and easy to use BI tool”

Reviewed on 29/07/2015
Review Source: GetApp

We are using this tool for self service data discovery for quite some time.
It also supports loads of info graphics which enrich dashboard’s visual appeal.
The tool is also very easy to use, we got on premise training from Panorama, within days we were novice enough to play with the tool.
The customer service is very responsive, they answers our queries.
I saw lot of people complaining about lack of community forum, but they do have a forum which is quite active.

Pros

The tool is very easy to use, with click you can import data and create the visualizations.
The things like I most it supports variety of charts, I was quite bored with my previous BI tool which mostly support bar, line an pie chart. I can now create more meaningful charts radar, donought, pareoto, scatter, range, point, boxplot etc.
Good geo analytics support, readily integrate with maps and plots the charts.
Good in memory performance, return results with clicks.
Relatively good performance

Cons

More community support
Publishing and scheduling is bit complicated
The dashboard also looks bit complicated and loaded with loads with lots of gadgets at first look
No support for Linux or commodity hardware.
Limited support for big data analytics

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gaurav P.
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Nice tool for context-based discussions. Thums up.

Reviewed on 17/04/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Panorama Software has added social features, exception tracking, and automated insights to its self-service BI solution.

Social Features

Necto's supports ability to subscribe to users via social features. Users can initiate context-based discussions, and search for users and relevant content within the system. it maintains and provides its own security mechanism but integrates with Active Directory (AD), third-party authentication tools, and in-house custom security mechanisms.

Subscribing to users.
Necto gives Twitter like feeling. We can subscribe to users in Necto. Subscribing to one of our colleagues lets us follow all the changes made to his or her workboard. Because you can view users' shared workboards, you can concentrate on those that are active. Subscribing is easy. You just need to click a person in the social bar, then click the Subscribe icon. A second click will unsubscribe you.

Users can start context-based discussions. include context and annotations, which are saved as part of the workboard to add more depth and foster knowledge sharing.

Pros

allows users to connect to any data source and model it via in-memory technology
available both as a client server and online service
offers support through email, phone and tutorials

Cons

Following are the shortcomings.

As Panorama Necto works heavily with Microsoft, its platform is not compatible with Macs. Also, its functionality is not supported for Blackberry devices. Also, it does not support multiple languages, as well as profit and predictive analysis features.

Note that Panorama does not offer in-person training or online chat support.

Nidhish K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Incredible BI tool for data Exploration and Visualization

Reviewed on 9/08/2015
Review Source: GetApp

The tool is extremely easy to use, with click you can import data, explore it and create the visualizations; yes it is that easy unlike other traditional Business Intelligence tools, where you have to write tons of code!

Moreover, it is excellent in memory performance, return results with clicks, matchless click to collaborate features, just initiate discussion on data points and context, connect relevant users and dashboards and explore suggestive auto insight.

Don’t worry if you have multiple databases, my client’s had diverse databases and were present in multiple geographies to our utter surprise it was really easy to get hold of all the datasets and adding to Necto, within a couple of days my client had a development environment available to start the analysis on their data.

Pros

Eye catching info graphics, image bank, numerous chart options and functionality for slicing and dicing, amazing recommendation engine which can give more insights to users.

Gives IT more power to govern and manage the platform with ease, on the other hand it is equally powerful for business users.

Panorama can help medium AND small business us to replace costly BI tools and bring down the licensing cost and made tool available to more users.

Cons

Sometimes, the dashboard looks a bit complicated loads with lots of gadgets at first look, for the naïve users it may be difficult to analyze, though it can be changed per the requirement.

The thing which I was expecting and is not available as of now was a personal edition for installation on Windows home edition that can come handy when practicing and training other users; I hope they plan to provide that to us soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ranabrata R.

Social Collaborating Self Service BI Tool

Reviewed on 17/07/2015
Review Source: Capterra

Interactive and eye catchy graphs and widgets.
Real time conditional notifications on related KPI's to the users.
95% Covering the requirement of Self Service BI & Ad hoc Reporting
Better Visualization Components
Exception handling capabilities and capability to connect to multiple data source systems.
In all a nice conglomeration for flexibility to the developer and end user friendly tool
A fully web based BI tool
Easy UI
Easy Data Acquisition
Easy sending notifications in case of data issues
Built-in social BI capabilities: context sensitive discussions and annotations linked to relevant data
Contextual & suggestive data and search results
Data mash-up in one view: Access Corporate BI & Ad-hoc data sources and model together on the fly using in-memory technology
Many applications works together in a self-service mode.
You can add more user in a group for a discussions like a social media.
The interactive infographics dynamically reflect business changes.
Users can create their own infographics to visualize trends in the data.
Starting discussions, subscribing to users, searching all features are easy.
Its performance and social capabilities is very good.

PROS:
Infographics
Multiple database connections,
Security
Reporting without need of technical expertise

CONS:
Needsimprovement for big data analysis
Needs more support for predictive and forecast analysis.
Reporting customization features are limited to some extent, which might be a problem for advanced users.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Milos M.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

An original and innovative BI tool with excellent self service and collaboration capabilities

Reviewed on 7/04/2015
Review Source: GetApp

The management of our company has set a few goals for the Analytics and Reporting team and one of them is to find the best front-end tool for our business users. We are trying to get the load off the developers and provide the business users with the tool for self service BI. We have been evaluating a couple of the solutions present on the market and found Necto very innovative with some unique and useful features.

Pros

Ability to collaborate with other users by sharing content, starting discussions, subscribing to users, searching for the relevant content.

Automatic identification of exceptions in the data and automated insights including root cause analysis.

Mobile application provides the users the same experience on any device. This is great for the executives who travel a lot and are often in the meetings.

Great visualization capabilities, especially infographics which represent a unique way to easily present the trends in data.

Cons

Needs more support for ETL and data transformation support

Needs more support for predictive and forecast analysis.

Does not support multiple languages.

Resolution of some potential issues is not available in forums or some other knowledge bases, you need to reach out to the customer support.

Andrew B.
Industry: Civic & Social Organisation
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

using multiple datasets in single dashboards is very powerful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/11/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ability for non IT specialists to build powerful and sophisticated dashboard. Linking up drillthrough report easy to do.

Cons

In workboard navigation options a bit clunky...eg drop downs menus and table/graphical selections that interface with slicer would be great

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abhishek P.

Next Gen BI Tool Best in Class Data Discovery and Virtualization

Reviewed on 3/09/2015
Review Source: Capterra

The very first thing that comes in mind about Necto - Panorama Software is its scalability and it is ready made for enterprise deployment, with very minimal efforts.

Excellent in memory performance, return results with clicks, matchless click to collaborate features, just initiate discussion on data points and context, connect relevant users and dashboards and explore suggestive auto insight. Panorama Necto provides governed and guided data discovery platform. The auto-generated dashboards feature is a very good starting point for data discovery. Simple and vibrant infographic can be customized to a cell level. It has handy collaborating feature to initiate discussions with relevant users. Good performance.

Pros: 1. Auto-generated dashboards feature 2. Easy to used and highly customized info-graphics options. 3. Tools is user friendly. 4. Error notification feature is useful. 5. Handy collaborating feature to initiate discussions with relevant users.
Though It's new BI tool in the market, we are getting good community support for users and tutorials for beginners. We highly recommend this product. Additionally it supports an infographic display for information review which is unlike most of its competitors. Business users can use Panorama Necto 14's self-service data discovery and visualization capability to uncover hidden insight, present vital data, and track performance using interactive

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nakul M.

An end user centric, highly presentable report\dashboard developer tool

Reviewed on 17/04/2015
Review Source: GetApp

With a strong warehouse in background we are looking for a tool which is highly presentable with eye catchy infographics and easy for a Non Bi person

Pros

As the end users of our reports are mainly non BI people we were looking for a platform where they can log in and create ad hoc tailored reports with minimum confusion and array of questions with highly interactive and presentable graphics and reports for management people who drive the business based on the numbers provided.

The first and foremost request of infographics is met by Necto. Secondly considering the development goes in the report creation a strong exception handling module with suggestive and interactive and collabaration capabilities.

A nice collage of strong developer and easy on the end user features.

Cons

Performance in case of huge datasets needs to be further analysed.
Security model put forth needs to be taken in to account as banking frims will take a hard look at it.
Third party collaboration and single sign on can be a bit of a task.

Nidhish K.

Incredible BI tool for data Exploration and Visualization

Reviewed on 9/08/2015
Review Source: Capterra

The tool is extremely easy to use, with click you can import data, explore it and create the visualizations; yes it is that easy unlike other traditional Business Intelligence tools, where you have to write tons of code!

Moreover, it is excellent in memory performance, return results with clicks, matchless click to collaborate features, just initiate discussion on data points and context, connect relevant users and dashboards and explore suggestive auto insight.

Don't worry if you have multiple databases, my client's had diverse databases and were present in multiple geographies to our utter surprise it was really easy to get hold of all the datasets and adding to Necto, within a couple of days my client had a development environment available to start the analysis on their data.

Eye catching info graphics, image bank, numerous chart options and functionality for slicing and dicing, amazing recommendation engine which can give more insights to users.

Gives IT more power to govern and manage the platform with ease, on the other hand it is equally powerful for business users.

Panorama can help medium AND small business us to replace costly BI tools and bring down the licensing cost and made tool available to more users.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alejandro F.
Industry: Computer Software

Necto helps you to discover your own data in an easy way!

Reviewed on 2/09/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

What I like the most about Necto is a self-service Product – it employs both basic and advanced analytic features. Any user can create dashboards and visualizations within a secure and single application connecting multiple sources in just few clicks.

Cons

This product has not good portability, is not compatible with some other Systems like Mac and the fact that it doesn't support Predictive analytics features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Soumya R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services

Collaborative Info-graphic New Age Interactive Self Service BI end to end solution

Reviewed on 18/04/2015
Review Source: GetApp

I am currently working as Data Analyst and for the purpose of ETL,Reporting,and daily BAU activities I have been using Panorama Necto since last 1 year. I must say I am highly impressed with some of it's competitive features which can be answer to many critical business user questions

Pros

Highly Infographic with plenty of options to choose from chart components and maps.
Seamless collaboration helps carry out a context based discussion which helps quick decision making without the need to preparing big presentations and setting up meeting rooms for verbal discussion.
Exceptional Error handling capability and its notification capability to users makes it stand out compared to other BI tools
Ability to connect to multiple datasource

Cons

Support for connectivity to Netezza is not confirmed
Multilingual Support needs enhancement

Gaurav K.
Industry: Computer Software

Empowering BI graphics and Enabling BI social connect

Reviewed on 30/04/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I would like to say a superb approach to Business Intelligence. Necto is a pro in daily emerging market with below features:
1.) Vivid Infographics - provides user a lot of flexibility to display variations in data
2.) Heterogeneous Sources - multiple source type support makes it more adaptable
3.) Human Language - Natural language processing is the latest in market query technology and it makes Necto easy to use
4.) Social Blink - collaborative decision by a group within a BI tool, just in time

There is more in the box to offer such as exception handling, stylish dashboard for business KPI's, suggestive analysis and real time data support and on the go web accessibility etc.

Cons

Necto needs improvement for big data analysis and technical documentation to make it more aligned with developers

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Rajan P.

Mammoth Tool with Allmost Everything you need

Reviewed on 22/06/2015
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
-Panorama offers seamless out of the box integration with all major Microsoft BI technologies
- Analyze and report against business data to gain insight into your business performance - Investigate and discover the 'why' behind a business event or action to improve performance
- Proactively identify business trends and challenges Determine KPIs to compare actual performance against determined goals
- Maintain a connection to data and analysis with offline capabilities
- Extend business information to customers, suppliers, partners and other key stakeholders - Guided analysesto enable users find the information they are looking for even if they don't know where to find it
- Proactive alerts and notifications for enhanced management by exception processes - Supports a wide range of export options, including Excel, PowerPoint, PDF, and email.

Cons
-you cannot install this on Linux/Unix

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Shivakant D.
Industry: Computer Software

This is a good product with a lot of capability.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Great BI Tool that balances Ease-of-use with Functionality well.

Pros

Panorama Necto is a very powerful tool. What we like most about this product, is the ease of use of it, as users familiarize themselves with it very quickly. The ability to create and share workboards with colleagues is also a very good feature.

Cons

The least likable are

This is not compatible with Mac OS and Blackberry.
No multilanguage support.
Limited reporting customization abilities.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lewis E.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising

Smart self service BI with amazing collaboration

Reviewed on 12/04/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Necto's self-service environment is really easy for end users. It can place all your business data in just one place regardless of data source. You can create a scalable dashboard and reports with no extra effort.

Cons

Subscribing and following any users during collaboration is like twitter. It stores all discussions like a chart history that works like a problem solving tool for any executive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Malabyajit R.

Awesomely intuitive info graphics and geo analytics with ease of use and training

Reviewed on 17/08/2015
Review Source: Capterra

Pros:
1) Awesome infographics and geo analytics features
2) Ease of use and train. End-user-centric
3) Exception error handling and conditional notification to stakeholder is a nice feature offered in this tool. This feature is not available in any tools.
4) Very good collaborative capability with discussion/likes/dislikes and other interactive features ensure effective data analysis
5) Matchless click to collaborate features, initiate discussion on data points and context, connect relevant users and dashboards and explore suggestive auto insight.
6) Comparatively low licensing cost as compared to traditional tools.

Pros:
1) Limited support communities and forums.
2) Limited integration to Big Data Analytics
3) The dashboard also looks bit complicated and loaded with loads with lots of gadgets at first look

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kripal G.
Industry: Computer Software

Best tool for data analysis and reporting

Reviewed on 10/08/2015
Review Source: GetApp

We are using Penorama Necto to analyse sales data for one of our client and create some ad-hoc interactive reports for them. As per our personal experience, Penorama Necto is one of the most promising BI tool in the market which comes up with full fledged BI capability at one door. Business users are quite happy using Necto due to its ease of use and supportive business intelligence feature. Due to collaborative feature of Necto, communication channel became strong across the organization. We highly recommend Penorama Necto to the end users who are evaluating software like this.

Pros

- User friendly interface, easy to use
- Excellent social and collaboration capabilities.
- Eye catching info graphics, numerous chart options and functionality for slicing and dicing.
- Allow connecting multiple databases.
- Good social and collaboration capabilities.

Cons

- Limited support for big data analytics.
- No support for Linux environment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Gour N.

An outstanding self service BI product for collaborative and suggestive business Intelligence

Reviewed on 22/06/2015
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Panorama Necto for quite some time and quite happy with its features and performance. The tool helped us promote self service and collaboration within our insight team and business users. It got excellent social and collaboration capabilities

Matchless click to collaborate features, initiate discussion on data points and context, connect relevant users and dashboards and explore suggestive auto insight.

Eye catching info graphics, image bank, numerous chart options and functionality for slicing and dicing

Online help and video tutorials and good customer service. They are proactively collecting requirement for future releases.

On con side, Need more onsite support and enhance installation on Linux commodity servers

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Juan N.
Industry: Computer Software

A good and rising option for BI's

Reviewed on 14/09/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is simple and easy to use, non experience users can do visualizations in a fast way, data discovery becomes natural with necto, it has interesting features but one that I liked the most was the social or collaborations you can do

Cons

If you don't have a backend well structured (ETL) it will be kind of difficult to begin with, you have to work on your data alignment first and then use necto only as a front end, for some users or organizations this can be a problem. Before I started to use it some colleague said android integration was a problem but did not experienced that

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dileep kumar V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Self service BI TOOL Necto

Reviewed on 23/07/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Necto is best tool to visualize the data in our own way. This does not require lot of coding knowledge. A beautiful way to present data to the business user.The best thing we like about this product is its ease of use and very good reporting capability. Provides cool features like Infographics and m any more easy graphics. Apart from its reporting capability, it has very good features like collaborative environment and supportive business intelligence.

Pros

Infographics, fast and easy deploy, visualize data by using own language to build data,fast and easy to deploy

Cons

Not supportable with different Operating Systems, Only available in English

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Felix B.

Incredible Self service BI tool with impeccable collaboration features

Reviewed on 11/11/2015
Review Source: Capterra

I used Necto to build a Marketing dashboard for post-launch analysis of services.
The tool is very easy to use , with a simple click , you can import Data from multiple sources and build Visualisations , It's very intuitive and very good for interactive analytics.
Excellent geo analytics support, readily integrate with maps and plots the charts
Another thing I like most is its self service capability , collaboration features with discussion/likes/dislikes and other interactive features to ensure effective data analysis. With Necto I really minimize the dependency on IT team.
In contrast Necto has a limited support for Big Data Analytics

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nutan P.

Excellent self-service BI tool with social collaboration

Reviewed on 13/07/2015
Review Source: Capterra

We are using Penorama Necto as reporting tool for stock market data and we are extremely happy with the product. It provides lots of amazed features like in call info graphics, collaborative & supportive business intelligence.

Pros:
- Ease of use
- Provides various charting options and good data visualization.
- Require least/no programming knowledge to use this product. Any business user can learn with little efforts
- Performance point of view, this product is amazed.
- Good community support and learning materials over internet.

Cons:
- Does not work on linux platform
- Provides least connection options for BIG Data.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support