98 reviews
Datadog

Datadog

Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Metrics, Traces, & Logs

4.6 /5 (98 reviews)
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.4
96% recommended this app
98 reviews
Mauricio S.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great platform for logs analysis and cloud monitoring

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Choosing to use Datadog made my work so much easier to accomplish. The logs analysis is one of the best thing that I can have in order to monitor my projects performance and health. This tool performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well. Definitely a must have.

Pros

I think that the best features that Datadog has is that you can track and follow logs in real time, something really important to have if your project is live. I like the idea of creating custom views of sets of logs (with custom filters, data parsing and a lot more) and that you can share them with your team.

Cons

It is a bit complicated to set for the first time. Is not quite easy to use or know at first about all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky and can be a blocker sometimes. Following that, if your fields are not mapped in the right way, filters are not that useful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Analytics tool which helps customers and users always get the product you want them to get

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, having Datadog monitor our apps' performance and customers/users' pain points is invaluable. It's an amazing tool which lets us identify bottlenecks and better serve our users. Although the initial learning curve of utilizing Datadog's plethora of data analytics tools is steep, it's well worth the effort and price as there is much value to the metrics Datadog provides.

Pros

Datadog is probably one of the most notable analytics tool out there for large companies. It's easy to track users' flow in terms of what routes they're hitting, when they hit a snag and 404, or other metrics like how performant certain requests are which allows us to identify bottlenecks and get rid of them immediately.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve I will say with this software and needs an expert to help lead tutorials or sessions to get the ball rolling with new tool users. Although there are many built in functionalities and easily customizable features, it can be overwhelming and hard to pinpoint exactly what type of analytics you're looking for. It's one of those softwares where you have to play around with it to get the stars to align and find a model or metric that works best for your customers and use cases.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Satbyul K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dmitry K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

It looks very sleek but default integrations won't show you much, so a lot of customization needed.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Review Source: Capterra

It allowed us to jumpstart our monitoring.
But in the end we had to switch to a different SaaS provider, even though it costs little bit more, and it's not so well known and widely marketized.

Pros

I liked it very much. So nice to have that event stream and subscriptions. And it's very easy to share your findings with colleagues.

Cons

Default setup is just empty.
These plugins they list as available will give you only so very basic info, that it's totally worthless.
We had to write our own plugins for each and every service and part of our system.
And the support team ignored my questions regarding future improvements in Kubernetes plugin.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

M. serhat D.
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Monitoring with great detail

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Datadog for 1 year now and I am quite happy with the product. I both used and implemented this product for low-traffic open-source projects and high-traffic enterprise projects. For both scenarios, my experience was quite positive.

Pros

Rich features, well-documented functionality, easy to use UI, being able to create custom dashboards that can integrate with hundreds of tools.

Cons

Custom dashboard creation is a little bit tricky. There is a learning curve for building your dashboard in the beginning, but after spending a day or two - you can create dashboards as you always imagined.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ankush K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Datadog Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it's great monitoring/visualizing tool for any organization and I'd recommend, it would have been great if it had great learning resources to explore it more.

Pros

- The filter functionality is great which lets you filter out errors for quick analysis, can easily create custom dashboards.
- Great Visualizations, easy to set up dashboards/monitors with options do maths like ratios, rates, average, interval.
- It can be easily integrated with other apps like Slack to set alerts for failed jobs.
-

Cons

- A slow learning curve, lack of resources on how to get useful functionality from UI or APIs.
- UI sometimes be bit slower although not bad if you've integrated with multiple external apps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Great for working with AWS

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 3/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rayla V.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I was hoping this would be a Splunk alternative

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 1/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Datadog is useful for visualizing and monitoring your cloud applications. If you have agents on you devices, it can analyze a ton of information coming in and show it to you, but that's where it ends, at least, as far as I could figure out in my free trial.

Cons

I was very hopeful of this software, but I didn't want to throw agents from a product I've never used before on my servers and instances, so I tried to upload a data pull ( about 500,000 log entries) to Datadog, to see what it could do, but there's no way to upload a csv/txt file to the software. It has to be via agents on your services. I know that metadata would be missing from a csv, but it seems like a major oversight to not be able to accept a csv of logs for a new user to experiment at low risk.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Ciprian P.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great web monitoring tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/01/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out.

Cons

It requires a bit of server tinkering, which I wasn't familiar with. Not really a minus.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Samantha R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Incredible program

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is awesome! Would absolutely recommend this to other professionals.

Pros

I use DataDog a ton throughout my day to monitor customer service queues and it’s amazing. Would not be able to do my job the same without the real time info and insights it offers.

Cons

So far nothing! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed using the software and have not experienced any significant issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Caroline S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Powerful tool for monitoring business applications

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/05/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Datadog has been really efficient and useful since through its implementation you can monitor all business applications and thus be aware of its operation whether the same is appropriate or not and if not, you can take the appropriate measures so that the same is again the appropriate performance, that is why having this tool is a great advantage at the business level.

Pros

Datadog is a tool that I like for several reasons, because implementing it does not require technical knowledge, has a series of metrics that allow you to read whether the performance of applications or servers is appropriate or not, so if you find a failure or something out of the ordinary in these applications the user immediately receives alerts that notify him of this problem so that it can be resolved in the shortest possible time, these alerts being received at any time since Datadog works continuously 24/7 and the best thing is that it is a software that is very easy to use and implement, in addition to being extremely flexible because it allows you to choose the monitoring parameters that you want to apply.

Cons

Datadog is not a perfect tool because it has some drawbacks and is that the more applications are integrated with this software the performance or speed of information delivery tends to slow down which should not be since the integrations are to improve even more the performance of said tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great service for monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage.

It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jahiezer I.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/06/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Neyda jose M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 20/05/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Diego M.
Industry: Investment Management
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Great server monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Damian N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kevin V.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Great metrics and monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Datadog Sniffs Out Problems Fast

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Datadog is an amazing cloud monitoring solution that provides great insight and alerting for our platform.

Pros

Datadog provides a great, easy-to-use and extensible interface for displaying data out of your own systems, providing you the insight to sniff out issues as they arise.

Cons

No matter how many integrations Datadog builds in, there will always be gaps, and some of those gaps hit our needs. As such, we need to use several monitoring solutions to cover our whole platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Many integration options and plethora of dashboards and visualizations

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 8/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Dependable and reliable solution.

Pros

Configuring monitoring tools is not always trivial, half of the battle is making sure metrics are flowing. Datadog is very flexible when it comes to sending metrics to their cloud. You can use collectD, statsd, file beats, or the 84523982 other options. Our orchestration software already had an option to enable Datadog collection. Once the data is in place, you need to figure out what metrics are relevant. Datadog has a number of pre-built dashboards tweaked for popular software systems. If you are using something homegrown, they can provide recommendations and optimizations after enough data has been ingested. API and documentation are top notch and we were able to build integrations quite easily.

Cons

Datadog is purely cloud-based system so there's no on-prem option, only SaaS. Depending on your company, this may be a deal-breaker since all of your metrics data is hosted in the cloud. Since it's a SaaS based service, it won't be easy to move data to another service. Occasionally web UI will bog down but it's fairly performant for the most part.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kevin V.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great view of our server environment

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/02/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Next-Gen Cloud Monitoring solution

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/10/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Excellent cloud monitoring solution which gives good visibility across multiple cloud applications.

Pros

Feature-rich cloud monitoring solution which works across multiple cloud providers (AWS, Azure, etc)

Cons

It takes a bit of time to get familiar with the admin portal user interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ravikiran R.

Best monitoring cloud service available in the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to monitor and easy to share with notebook feature
Watch the statistics from virtually anywhere

Pros

Easy to monitor and get analytics
We can monitor inside any stack, any app, at any scale, anywhere
Supports multiple dashboards
Notebooks help you to share the data

Cons

More options some time confuses
Help documentation needs improvement
Some times dashboards are very complex to understand

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vince P.

Datadog Cloud Monitoring Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I noticed that this monitoring system is very flexible, you can track pretty much any metric, which is great.

Great integration with many services like AWS, Chef, Couchbase, JVM, HAProxy, MySQL etc.

Dashboard functionality is easy. Comes with UI, UI is simply designed but supports all the key functionalities that you would expect from a counter services, and to be able to create dashboard based on counters.

Cons

Noticed that the more data you have, the slower response Datadog service will become, when you query the service.

Query a specific counter, as well as when the counter contains high dimensional data, which is normal, we haven't yet tested what is the upper limit for how much data it can decently handle.

But we have been very satisfied using Datadog, and we feel that it should be enough for small to mid size company.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Denis V.

Datadog as Perfect monitoring tool.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 9/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Perfect monitoring tool.

You can monitor your infrastructure as on premise as in the cloud by monitoring performance counters of different applications and collecting information from logs.

You can monitor your infrastructure as in real time mode or just receiving alerts for example to email.

It allows you to use different ready solutions with predefined logic for to monitor even different software such as: SQL Server, MySQL and so on.

It can be integrated with different products such as slack, where you can receive different alerts and where slacks bot can perform setuped actions.

You can create different dashboards for your convenience.

Cons

No suitable for all cloud services, for example if you're going to monitor your infrastructure in Azure it would be better to use Azure's Log Analytics.

This solution is not for non-experienced users and required time to learn it . Features used in free price tiers very limited for example no alert capabilities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10