98 reviews
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Support
3.8
82% recommended this app
98 reviews
James B.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

By far the best RMM in the network of RMM

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, we have been happy with connectwise automate. After coming from Teamviewer, Connectwise is a very robust system that can do way more than we even have the knowledge or time to make happen. Very happy with the software itself.

Pros

The best part about Connectwise Automate is the amount of power that it has. We are able to deploy auto run scrips on our very critical infrastructure. The systems are always monitored for down time and automate sends out an alert any time there is an issue. The control console is easy to use and even non-technical users are able to remote into our customer's systems to see what they need. Scripting is robust to say the least.

Cons

Ticketing is a challenge in this platform. It is included, but isn't a very customer friendly interface to work in. Tech support is a challenge to contact and they don't consider much an emergency for support purposes. Being cloud managed, we find that it is slow for time to time and requires a bit more patients than we would prefer. The management console is not Mac OS supported, so using this in an Apple environment can be challenging. You are limited to the web version and it's functions are limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daren A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Connectwise Automate

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We are using Connectwise Automate for taking care of customers on a managed service contract.

Pros

There are many, many features in Connectwise Automate that will help you help your customers with their computer needs.

Cons

Although the software is very feature rich, it seems very cumbersome and not easy to use from day one. In almost every step, we have had to take classes to figure out how to do things.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Steven D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

CW only tool you need

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/08/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We use this tool in our everyday work day and it helps us get organized for the day and throughout the day.

Pros

The format of the software and also how it keeps you updated to current events going on. The layout of the product is great and easy to understand.

Cons

Some of the reporting is off but mostly it pretty accurate. Also noticed when a user is inside a ticket and they change it the notes disappear.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Benjamin B.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Should be call "Connectwise Autodraft"

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 1/04/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The business is a con. They tell you they have a "guarantee" which they make impossible to obtain. will continue to bill you regardless fo whether the product works or not.

Pros

The software has its pros (connectwise screenconnect is the only good thing). The automation will automatically restart services or auto-approve and apply windows update on a schedule. When it isn't crashing or causing servers to crash that is.

Cons

It CONSTANTLY crashes. It will cause servers to crash. Only some automation features work. No support is ever avaaible to resolve issues. The ones that do respond don't know their own product.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Sam H.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: Self Employed

Connectwise Automate

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/03/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Connectwise Automate is a critical part of my business that I use. I could not work without it and I really enjoy working with this tool!

Pros

I really like the features that Connectwise Automate offers. The ability to remotely patch servers and endpoint devices is excellent.

Cons

The only issue we have with this software is the customer support and occasional instability of the software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Manage multiple environments with ease

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Companies I have been working for have been leveraging this application for machine management for years.

Pros

This software provides multiple connectivity options.
It can show a lot of information (see least favorite list below)
Great organization!
Easy integration with Connectwise Control and Manage
Lots of option for Scripting and API connectivity to outside applications

Cons

The interface was changed to a much less intuitive environment about a year ago. I use it and have started to get used to it somewhat, but it still is not what I would call good.
There's problems if you don't run the Control Center as an Admin, but it doesn't want to run as admin by default
The uninstaller for the client can sometimes not uninstall.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Luke K.

Automate ( formerly Labtech) is a great RMM tool for MSP customers.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of setup and installation for customers is substantial when considering this tool for MSP. New customers can be setup with ease, configured and once agents are installed Automate can significantly reduce information gathering for system resources, and discovery of behind the scenes issues. Scripting and Automating are easy to do with the built in examples and wizards, which makes customizing alerts and monitors a breeze.

Cons

The monitoring will come with lots of defaults right out of the box, so there will be a lot of "noise" to sort through and remove/adjust after initial installation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Boston B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Must have for MSP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Have been using it for years, love it.. Price is a bit steep for someone just starting out, but otherwise it offers alot of function, and ease of use once everything is setup and you know how to use it.

Pros

For a small to midsized MSP, connectwise makes a few must-have's.
Connectwise Automate makes it easy to monitor, and perform tasks on remote systems, as well as offers a decent out of the box ticketing system, with end user ease.

Cons

Many Many options, Which is good, but a pain to setup and have working how you want it.
Should have more out of box preset configs to get up and running quicker.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Arthur H.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I used this product all the time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It makes managing thousands of machines easy.

Pros

It is a very powerful tool to manage our clients machines. It can run custom scripts and do a lot of proactive maintenance.

It is very fast when remote controlling other computers

The scripting engine is very powerful

It pulls a huge amount of data

It is very customizable

Cons

It can be a little complex for new users

The integration with Connectwise: Manage can cause some issues with ticket entries

Customizing it for your needs can be time consuming

I

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris M.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Improved ROI on Manged services by 35% in first 3 years.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have changed our business model based on this software and increased ROI on all services by 35 % in less then 3 years.

Pros

Once setup it does what it does well.
Very few issue after setup and config.
Gives a wealth of information on devices managed.

Cons

Can be a burden to setup and config
Takes a good amount of training to really use it well
Being good a scripting is a must

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jared M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

RMM to the stars

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We used this tool when it was LabTech - and even in those days there was no comparing this to any other RMM platform. For years it had the edge in so many ways. To those willing to learn it this tool was capable of being the entirety of your platform for doing business!

Pros

The feature set has been astounding from day one.
With the big rebrand and integration with ConnectWise Manage the duo are now all that much better, complementing each others previous, non-focused features.

Cons

Truly forward progress was the main issue. During the time we actively used LabTech/Automate was during the transition years of the name and aesthetic. Things are definitely driving into the right, unified direction for all of their tools and that is exciting to see!
Learning the tool, like most ConnectWise products, can be daunting but there are lots of resources to pull from and well worth the investment.

Again, I suspect due to the years of bringing the tools together, Automate seemed to somewhat stall/lag on added features for awhile. They certainly had the most initially so it wasn't a drastic fall-behind, but new tools were taking the slow moving to catch up and the market is certainly competitive again.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mike H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Automate - IT automation software for IT Service Providers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I work for an MSP, and we have the luxury of having a full time guy that is our Automate administrator. He's amazing, and has made this software do some really incredible stuff for us. It had good functionality out of the box, but we've been adding scripts and automation to it for 5 years at this point. The sky is the limit on what you can do, but you will need to invest the time and energy into doing it.

Pros

We love Automate. We use it to manage patches and updates across thousands of computers. We also use it for customized monitoring and alerting on workstations and servers. Monitoring is really robust and granular. It does a great job of gathering a TON of data about the network, and that data is searchable. There are a bunch of different reports built in. Integrates with Manage, Control, and other applications. It does a ton of stuff out of the box, and has endless customization options.

Cons

It may not do quite as much as you want right out of the box, and it will take some work to set it up. You'll need someone on your team willing to invest the time and energy into making this software do everything you want.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris T.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Software with a great learning curve

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using it for 2 years now. Overall I'm impressed with the software. "Screenconnect" software is brilliant, fast and reliable connections to your managed agents.

Pricing is competitive for what it delivers however it is expensive. Make sure you NEED all of it's features before investing otherwise your potentially just burning money you don't need too.

However the learning curve required to get the best from this software is vast, documentation is sparse. The documentation that does exist is out of date. For example the knowledge base article regarding configuring the agent to utilise a proxy server doesn't seem to match up with the latest version. You're left either fending for your self on the forums or waiting in line for a chat with their tech support, which to be fair once you get there is very good.

Looking elsewhere simply because of two price rises in 2016 with more likely in 2017.

Pros

Screenconnect - A real asset to the platform.
Scripting
Tunnel options - Can tunnel into your customer network using the agent.
Powerful Automation and patch management

Cons

Complex
Growing expense
Out of date knowledge base / manuals.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Jamenn V.

Connectwise Automate, formerly Labtech, works well for the most part.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Before Automate/Labtech 12 the best thing about this software was being able to see, at a glance, all the information you needed about a particular managed computer. They are moving back in this direction it appears. The scripting and monitoring systems are robust and allow you to do pretty much anything you can think of.

Cons

The GUI update that came with version 12 is not good. It uses a bunch of giant squares to present information and you have to drill into each one to find the specific info you are looking for rather than the at-a-glance experience I had before. Support leaves something to be desired. Just starting to chat with someone there can take 45+ minutes, then the person you are chatting with does not have the knowledge to fix the problem so you have to open a ticket anyway. Lots of time wasted there. Furthermore sometimes the inexperienced technician will offer suggestions to resolve the problem that have nothing to do with the problem which underlines the fact that they do not understand the problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ConnectWise Automate, a great software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage.

Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros

It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons

CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ahmed A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The BEST tool for an IT Army of One

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros

You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons

Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeffrey B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Fantastic system for remote management, scripting and much more

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Used Kaseya before switching and love the overall layout, features and in-depth information you can retrieve very easily. Wish I could set a few things with some customization, which might be possible by working with connectwise engineers but that would be above my paygrade.

Pros

Set up monitoring alerts, script automated processes, control end user and servers remotely with a couple clicks. Ad-hoc sessions allow admin access remotely, even if the user does not have rights. Fantastic experience overall and only have minor pieces I wish I could see

Cons

Wish there was some more customization is some of the views. Would like to see some more basic information on the main screens, as opposed to having to dive into the properties to find. Seems that it can get a bit slow and unresponsive with certain actions. Not sure if this is our server or the software though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

The best tool I've used in desktop support.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

With this software we are able to not only sort users by client, but also location. The network scans and ability to distribute software is killer. When working I am able to easily assist multiple people because of the features of this product.

I can remotely connect to a computer, run command line scripts, create custom scripts, and check general health. That's all in the console view. If you want to setup the alerts to prompt you for specific actions, it's all there.

Pros

The amount of features that you have at your fingertips to remotely assist users is phenomenal. I can't count how many times this software has made life so much easier.

Cons

When the app is slow to load, it's slow to load. It's the only downside I've had with this application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

I believe this is still the best RMM around, but it's a bit clunky and often slow.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

RMM, Scripting, Easy MSP setup and management of our clients systems.

Pros

If you can imagine it, you can do it. It really does have all the tools to do whatever you desire remotely. You can access almost any aspect of a managed machine without even interrupting the end user. The built-in ignite monitors are pretty amazing on their own.

Cons

It can be incredibly slow at times, you have to have a lot of patience. The script editor being object and mouse based is very clunky, I'd prefer to learn the syntax and just type it all out, but that option isn't readily available in the GUI you have to dig into the guts to do that. If you use ignite monitors you'll need to parse out the noise they create for items you don't want to be notified about. Integration with Connectwise Manage is still a bit quirky but it works.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Grant H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Really powerful tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We chose Automate over everything else for a reason; Price and functionality simply could not be beat.

Pros

- Mostly intuitive GUI
- Packed with tons of functionality; Been using the product a little over 2 years now and still learning neat tricks/tools to use
- Great asset management
- Great at pushing remote commands
- ConnectWise University offers tons of training on their products

Cons

- Because it is so powerful, there is a lot of training that needs reviewed to become proficient in working and navigating
- Been experiencing an issue where I need to re-launch the control center because otherwise the agent tree will refresh forever
-

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Alex L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best Thing Ever

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

We've been using Labtech to manage our 70+ computers across multiple clients for a couple years now and it's been very worth the price to have a remote management software to take care of windows updates and be alerted on hardware issues from the event logs. The integration to other software is pretty flawless as well, such as webroot AV and ScreenConnect. It's cut down management time by 80%!

Pros

I like that the management of a lot of computers

Cons

Not really much to not like about it, but sometimes the windows updates aren't always working correctly, and sometimes it reports disk space critically low when there's is 50+GBs left on the system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bryan F.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I utilize this software daily to perform my job duties, managing all aspects of over 6,000 endpoints

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Clients and Locations are organized in an easy-to-view tree, which allows easy access to a customer's inventory.

Several dataviews are available from a Client or Location to quickly gather information of an environment. For example, a list of 'scheduled tasks' configured on every system can be gathered from all systems to determine why a particular event occurs every Saturday at 4am.

Remote Control of a system can be envoked with standard tools such as VNC or RDP, as well as ConnectWise Control (formerly Screen Connect).

Reports of client environments are just a click away, whether a question regarding system health is of issue, or if all systems have the latest patches and Anti-Virus updated.

Cons

Software runs on a MySQL backend, but only on Windows. Keeping MySQL tuned properly for environment size can be chore, whereas DB Engines such as MSSQL are a bit more automated and forgiving. As you bring more agents into the system, it's a good idea to run performance metrics on the MySQL server to see if any adjustments are necessary to maintain best performance of the system.

Telephone Support for the MySQL backend tends to yield different answers from each representative you talk to, and in my experience it was best to use general MySQL tuning documents that are available from Oracle.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Phillipp O.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

An MSP's dream

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We run all of our managed client workstations with Automate.

Pros

Intergration with so many services, multiple service boards, permissions and project management. BILLING and managing agreements? I've yet to find a replacement for the sheer amount of features Automate brings to our business. There is even a web interface that can be dispatched to users!

Cons

It can be a little fiddly when it comes to custom applications and processes - there are often changes that completely change the way the software looks and feels.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Rachel H.
Industry: Religious Institutions
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The most powerful automation tool.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/03/2020
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I really enjoy using the tool and the vast amount of solutions it allows us to assist our clients in solving. The automation genuinely saves time for all of our team with the functionality it offers.

Pros

I really like the remote control portion of the program. The ability to remotely patch servers and client devices is excellent.

Cons

The customer support for connectwise is their largest downfall. The software is excellent but the support is not always what it should be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Geoff B.

I have been using this for about 5 years, since it was Labtech.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/01/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I run my company on it.

Pros

Very powerfull management software. They continue to add value to the product by incorporating new features.

Cons

I much prefer the old interface to the new one. It seems that the company is not listening to the users and trying to make the software pretty at the expense of functional. Support is so, so, and often tells me that my "problem" needs to be sent to their custom programming department at additional cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10