51 reviews
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.1
90% recommended this app
51 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great online diagram creation tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Gliffy has been a great addition to our organization as it is being used by several department and practice groups to diagram processes, as well as organization charts, and technical documentation. It is easy to administer, and simple to learn with

Pros

Gliffy's strongest feature is its drag and drop functionality. Coupled with an easy to use interface, the average user can master process mapping in no time.

A key feature for our organization has been Gliffy's integration into Confluence which allows us to easily build and link pages and spaces with visualization. Further, Gliffy

Cons

Gliffy meets all of our business needs, however, it isn't robust as some other alternatives (i.e. Visio, Lucidchart), however for cost, ease of use, and integration into our other tools it more then makes up for some losses in more specified requirements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chris L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

We use Gliffy to do online systems documentation.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the Gliffy is easy to use and integrates well with the rest of the Atlassian stack. This allows us to keep track of the documents created and search for them later. The functionality is comparable to the traditional market leader and has a robust set of inbuilt graphic elements.

Cons

I would like the see a data-driven model allowing me to have live diagrams that pull from outside databases.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

My go-to for all flow diagrams

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/08/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Favourite Confluence plugin.
I use this extensively at work. It has just about everything for creating diagrams - flowcharts, floorplans, electrical diagrams, rack diagrams e.t.c. I think it rivals (maybe even supersede) Visio.

Cons

Bug!!! Something does not like Google Chrome. Usually this is fixed on the next release of either Chrome, Gliffy plugin or Confluence. Does not cause problems, just an annoying pop up to report the issue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Thiago S.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

A tool that gives a simple and efficient way to improve the proccess management of the company

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

A simple and easy-to-use software with a wide variety of tools, which enables us to create diagrams and process diagrams of departmental processes in a simple and collaborative way

Pros

The variety of customization tools to design processes.

Cons

The limitation on the color customization of the diagrams.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Abigail A.

Gliffy is a good choice to sketch simple diagrams

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I can do the entity diagrams of a database that doesn't generate the diagram, I can set a simple network diagrams

Pros

It's easier set simple diagrams like flowchart, network, entity-relation or uml. It's easier to set the diagrams and you can save with your account, if you pay the monthly suscription you can link to your google account and share your diagramas with your team

Cons

I think that the diagrams for user interface are a bit limited I think need more personalization and more componentes like a table, it could great that include and html diagrams

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Daniel M.

I like the way to create minimalistic diagrams with entire icons, so this software allow my creavity

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

save time making diagrams with touch minimalistic.

Pros

It have a lot icons, from cloud, servers, persons to shapes and allow to drag and drop fast without install additional software.

Cons

i cant create or add custom icons, so i need to mix more of 2 icons to create new meanings like server with cloud of server with firewall.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Very simple but stylish wireframe software

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 28/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Gliffy is straightforward to use and integrates fantastically with the Google Suite of products. Also has a Chrome extension to integrate with your browser.

Cons

Whilst not expensive, a monthly fee is required to get Google Drive integration. Almost too many wireframes to choose from and if you accidentally close a wireframe library it is a chore to bring it back

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

James S.

Strong web based Diagramming tool- slick interface and strong features

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 11/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Great interface to work with and did speed up the process of generating complex diagrams

Pros

The interface in Gliffy is really slick and intuitive to use- this allows for even complex diagrams to be mapped out very quickly and the user experience is generally very good.

Cons

Google drive integration isnt available on the base subscription- price point is a little higher compared to similarly options and I believe it is an annual plan rather than monthly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Larz D.

Giffy is wonderful

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 31/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great tool for creating quality looking drawings and diagrams. Its ease of use will allow you to create diagrams in a timely manner. What I like with Gliffy is that one only needs to know how to drag and insert forms and then add any text you want.

Cons

Nice to use but I think it can be quite limited as to the amount of stuff you can do with the objects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet

Good flow charting tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Gliffy makes it easy to make basic flow charts. The visuals are ok, and the functionality is ok too; it does what it says it will do, just don't expect to be wowed.

Cons

It's tough to manage teams and share work... Wish that was easier. Also wish that we could pay by team instead of paying by user.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

John d P.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2/04/2018
Review Source: GetApp
Chad P.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Love it

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 19/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's online so access is anywhere, easy and quick to use

Cons

The print function could be worked on a bit

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Joshua B.

Rating only

Reviewed on 17/02/2016
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Gliffy is a great platform for quickly creating simple graphics

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Gliffy allows you to create great quality graphics and share these easily. the price of the monthly subscription is ok for the amount of content you get.

Cons

the free version is not really worthwhile better off paying the monthly fee to get the full feature set.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Robert W.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Excellent Diagram Tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I document process flows for software, data flow, and network diagrams. Gliffy works great for me because I can create it in Confluence on a Wiki page and edit it real-time in a quick efficient manner.

Pros

The ease of use and quick learning curve make Gliffy a top choice. If you do not need all the functionality of Visio but need to diagram or show flows, it provides the ability to document processes and diagrams in a simple quick and easy manner. Gliffy is intuitive to use, pulling shapes onto the canvas, color palette and test information right there. It also integrates with Confluence making a Wiki page diagram an easy activity.

Cons

There are a few areas where Gliffy is not intuitive and it lacks an easy explanation/help/ However since it's very intuitive to use, this is not a large problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Really great tool for creating workflows and map out processes

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Tons of ways to do charts and workflows for a variety of purposes. It's easy drag and drop and pull options. Lots of basic functions already preloaded.

Cons

It gets a bit tricky when you have multiple elements working together. It makes it hard to move specific actions or parts of the workflow and can get a bit stuck sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

James M.

Very strong diagram tool right in Confluence!

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Really handy plugin to have for our Confluence users. Very easy to use and creates awesome diagrams without having to install software on each users workstation.

Cons

Recent cost increase is hard to swallow, I think it's doubled! Still not as good as Visio or SmartDraw as a complete alternative, however for in browser it can't be beat.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Thais S.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

A complete solution for diagramming management processes.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 7/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

A complete solution for diagramming management processes, giving us an optimized view of our current scenario with possible editing and simulation of possible improvements.

Pros

It is very easy to edit and share diagrams made in Gliffy.

Cons

There are bugs in the view via web browsers like Google Chrome

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Vera R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

UML made simple

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Gliffy works great if you need to create a diagram quickly. You can share it with other Users and update quickly. The best part is that you can integrate it with Confluence and then insert dynamic charts right in the documentation

Cons

I wish the chart looked more stylish and modern. Besides, it would be great if you could group the objects and manage them together as one group.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Dave K.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Gliffy - good honest package

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 30/07/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall very good, still use.

Pros

The ease of use was particularly good. The drag and drop facility meant that diagrams could be completed in seconds. There are a number of templates that were of value.

Cons

Because it is free there is a limit to what it can do compared to paid for systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Fabrizio C.

Does what you need for basic flow charts

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have used the Chrome extension and it is easy to install and use. It has all the basic features for what I needed for flow charting. I even used it to draw a quick network diagram.

Cons

Can sometimes lag and not cooperate when trying to move multiple items at once. Also, it only allows to attach a line to an item at specific points. I would prefer to be able to attach it anywhere on the line.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

GliffyRevNotes

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

can be great for first draft for getting ideas in flow chart or diagram to better view process, for development of operations.

Pros

I like the fact that it could be used without any install on the cient, just in the Atlassian stack of appliacions.

Cons

limited support of all objects types can be easy to learn with drag and drop, but not as full featured as expected built in.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Frank W.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent application for creating process flowcharts

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Gliffy is easy to use and has all basic features needed to create flowcharts.
I also like how simple and friendly the user interface looks. The drag and drop feature is so easy to use that anyone can actually use this application without difficulty.

Cons

Though there's a free version, I don't think that's adequate for my needs. That means paying a monthly fee to use the paid version. And it's not really cheap, especially for individual users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Simple and quick, Confluence integration, lots of other integrations, but limited

Reviewed on 17/04/2014
Review Source: GetApp

Gliffy is easier to learn than Visio, fairly intuitive and the common functions you need are close to hand (on right click or contextual menu button close to selected item).

Was quicker to draw a medium complexity diagram with boxes and connectors than Visio (or Powerpoint), and the resulting diagram looked good. Good range of available symbols and easy to add your own stencils from a SVG-based artwork (and JPG importing was easy too).
Small native file format, and it is text based (JSON) so it is searchable (and hackable if needed).
But there are limitations, which means it for the most complex or structured diagrams it can't replace Visio, OmniGraffle, or a Architecture tool (and would not replace Autocad or similar either)

I can see this may work better on tablets/touch screens than Visio

No bulleted text/numbered lists
Connectors won't "hoop" over lines, and you can't add additional bends in connectors (there are workarounds--import "hoop" shape or use a UML shape to fake a hoop with multiple lines)
Can't have text less than 9px in size.
Limited import and export options.

But the product is continuously developing.

Pros

Quick
Free versions available
Lots of integrations: Chrome, Google Drive, Google Docs Addin, MS word Addin, Confluence.
Allows sharing of diagrams to multiple collaborators.
Not very expensive

Cons

Free version will make your diagrams public after 15 days.
You have to pay desperately for each integration: e.g. a paid for confluence license won't equate
Visio import has to be paid for.
non-standard file format (JSON instead of GraphML)

Tony M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy and intuitive for wireframing

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/10/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using gliffy as my standard tool for wireframing interfaces, ER diagrams and flow diagrams for several years now. The software is easy to use and intuitive. There's a good range of form elements for wireframing and the export options work well.

They had a bad outage a while ago, but they were up-front about what happened and did a great job of keeping users informed of how service restoration was progressing.

I'm looking forward to making more use of the google docs integration.

Pros

Easy to use, fast to use. Works great in Ubuntu.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10