516 reviews

Magento Commerce

Site content and customer journey management for eCommerce

4.3 /5 (516 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.9
85% recommended this app
516 reviews
Devesh S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best CMS Platform for E-Commerce Websites

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The security is best compared to other CMS platform such as WordPress, Joomla, etc.

Cons

Little complicated to use the CMS as it's little complex.
The cost of themes and plugins is expensive. So if user wants to have base minimum application to develop he / she has to shell too much compare to other CMS platforms.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Luca S.
Industry: Internet
Company size: Self Employed

Platform lacking in basic functions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Once all the configuration aspects have been resolved, the platform is working well, it suits for big projects with many SKUs.

Cons

Configuring the platform is frustrating, it needs high skills and is very poor in basic features. You need to install many extra modules and this could make you lose speed and stability.
Magento is only for PRO users with high economic resources.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Robust Out of Box Features Paired with Customization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

In terms of e-commerce platforms, Magento has proven to be a great value because of it extensive out of box features and relatively moderate price. Overall, it is one of the more commonly used platforms, so it is easier to find developers who know and are willing to work with the platform, which can reduce your maintenance costs.

Pros

The Magento E-Commerce platform offers a wide array of out of box features that are ideal for managing an online store. The platform also provides an extensive amount of flexibility for add-ons and customizations to cater to your specific business model and fulfillment needs. Extensions/Modules for the platform are readily available through a variety of vendors and developers at varying costs depending on the complexity of the feature involved. In a marketplace filled with expensive annual license fees and strict feature offerings, Magento is a great value for the investment.

Cons

Magento has changed it target audience significantly since its acquisition by Adobe, now catering more to mid- to large-size businesses. This is reflective in its pricing model and its termination of support for the older version of the version of the Community platform (Magento 1). It's flexibility for modules and extensions, while very beneficial, can create complexity and additional development cost when attempting to update the platform, as news releases of the corresponding extensions also needs to be available in order to ensure compatibility. The platform must be properly updated and maintained on a regular basis in order to reduce security vulnerability, which is a responsibility that falls on the consumer as opposed to Magento. Corporate support for the platform is available, but if you do not have an annual subscription the service is not as prompt.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Umair B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Professional and Awesome E-Commerce Platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I am using Magento in my E-commerce websites and also I have used this platform for my clients. My overall experience with Magento is really awesome because this is the platform that allows me to add products on client's websites with lots of details. My all clients are really happy with the work that I have done for them using Magento. Because this platform gives really unique and professional look to the websites. It's really incredible and it has solved all the eCommerce problems which I was facing in the past. Now I have created a number of online stores using Magento.

Pros

According to my experience, there are lots of things that I like in Magento. This platform gives you the power to create and build professional e-Commerce stores. We can add products in different categories and we can add complete details of the product. Purchasing options for the product are really fabulous and incredible because we can add different payment options. The dashboard is really easy to understand and use. This is the best open-source e-commerce platform that allows you to add beautiful and stunning themes for your website, So you can build a beautiful e-commerce website.

Cons

If you are going to install Magento on Local Server, then the method is a bit difficult. But if you are going to install on your own hosting then the process is really easy. So according to my experience, the process of Magento localhost installation should be easy for beginners. All other things about Magento are really awesome and fabulous.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Oshan M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Magento : Perfect eCommerce platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

More than just an ordinary eCommerce platform which is efficient and effective .

Pros

Magento is suitable for any business group whether it is a small or large business and its admin dashboard will provide a perfect overview of the business.We can use free and paid plugins as our requirements.It is a Responsive eCommerce platform which can runs on any mobile or computer devices and also Highly customizable and developer friendly CMS platform.Enriched with important features and functionalities to provide everything in a one platform. Magento is capable for integrations such as payment gateways and able to set up currency and languages depend on the location.

Cons

I'm using magento 2.2 . The main con according to me is, when i need to edit the content of a page it will give us only a small size text area(text box) which is difficult to work with using mouse scroll and also If we are having large number of products website may slow with its performance. Developer skills are required if we want to customize the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stella N.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Magento a Good Starting Place for an Online Store

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/02/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Initially Magento was implemented by a website design company to create a website to sell a bespoke service and products for us. Set up as a website that we can maintain and develop in house, which we have done for the past 4 years. We do not use the shop and buy basket element of Magento. But I can see it would be a beneficial website use for companies selling off the shelf products. It is fairly easy to use but basic HTML5 knowledge is beneficial. Multiple users is helpful, that has required training in house. Magento role out security patches that need to be applied; we have these applied by an external company. As a B2C company, we do not actually use payments online so I unable to comment on that element of Magento. For the version of Magento that we use, we do not have access to their customer support however on the occasion I contacted them and they informed me this; they were helpful and at least put me in the right direction. The entire set up is good for a ecommerce; it is especially good for maintaining SEO well and updating it regularly.

Pros

Multiple users and ease to update website data and information.

Cons

Some elements can not be updated in house and require a developer/programmer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Pedro G.
Industry: Consumer Goods

Great ecommerce tool, providing 2 different models (one free and another one paid).

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Not having to develop my own ecommerce platform

Pros

One of the most important things is really well prepared for handling the most common ecommerce businesses requirements out of the box even in the free version (paid version provides thinks like RMA support also), especially important supports international business setups. The things that are not handled out of the box can be completed through modules, some free/ some paid.

Cons

That hey don't have a SaaS option (they used in the past, Magento Go) as that will be easier for startups and SMB. Also the installation of the modules should be made more plug and play without needing tech support and more stable, as some time when adding new modules they crash with each other, and that means everything requires a lot of testing, that could be time consuming. In comparison to tools like shopify, Magento is much more complex.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Katie G.
Industry: Retail

Customization = Best in class

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

To customize the user experience and create clear brand awareness. With premium content and an intuitive UX/UI comes increase to website conversions.

Pros

Customize your heart out! Magento's base functionality has thousands of custom configurations that can be combined to create an intuitive user experience no matter how you want your site/store to function. If you're setting up an eCommerce store, this is by far the most amazing option as far as CMS is goes. Their user guides and training handouts make it easy to learn. Magento U training courses are invaluable to understanding the verbiage and concepts used across the software. (Scopes and creating any type of rule)

Cons

Extensions requires to further customize can be a bit clunky.

I wish further analytics were provided based on marketing features and rules created.

Also, for a CMS that provides such a seamless user experience, the admin tool is quite clicky. The return key should work to apply filters and such- instead it requires clicks to move forward and such.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stella T.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

E-commerce with Magento

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have not had a difficult time with Magento other than maybe the learning process of how the whole thing works.

Pros

Magento offers a one-stop place for hosting your website. It has a variety of good features that make it attractive for web hosting. Magento offers us an option of installing more than 5000 extensions to suit our e-commerce platform. When using Magento, you can simply customize your website to suit your platform. The fact that you can also get it for free was one of the factors that made us choose it to host our platform. Magento offered our website scalability in terms of the number of products that the website could hold

Cons

With Magento, we had to engage the services of a developer which was an added cost. The theme that the Magento mother company offered were not attractive and therefore we had to engage a third party to get an attractive theme.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lindsey S.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Magento makes our website look great! There are a LOT of layers to the software.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 6/04/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to manage our website in house without having to hire too many outside contractors. We can personalize and update as things come up. It's nice to be able to have this control at our finger tips.

Pros

There are SO many options for personalizing the look of our website. Also, creating associated SKUs from a configurable SKU speed the process along, especially considering we are multiple clothing lines that we produce and release each year.

Cons

A lot of things that seem "normal" on website we visit cost extra to add to our platform. There is no simple way to bulk price change or discontinue products. We use simple SKUs and configurable SKUs and would think that the information would trickle down from the configurable to the simple SKUs that are associated to it, but they don't. So for price changing, we have to go into every single simple SKU (all sizes within all colors) to make any updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kevin H.

If you are looking to upgrade your e-commerce experience, Magento is the software to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

With the vast list of Magento developers out there, creating extensions and customizations, there really isn't anything you cannot do with Magento. When our website out-grew the smaller platform we were running, we migrated to Magento and didn't look back. It's a powerful system that can work for any size business, but really shows the power on larger websites.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve and a cost associated with customizations. You get what you pay for in Magento developers, so it's important to find the right one. It will cost you more for doing custom work than other platforms, but once you find the right one, the possibilities are endless and it will last.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rushi B.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Magento is best for the Ecommerce websites ( Note : Magento is Not best if you are not technical )

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Magento is Best in case you have a huge structural website like having Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency but at other end you must have good fund to maintain that.

Alternative is Shopify which is easy to use but when you need functionality in shopify its all Compromise.

Pros

- Open Source and Free
- Best Community Support
- Latest Version updates
- Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency and many more feature which can only Achieve by custom costly development
- Best Payment Gateways inbuilt like Paypal, Brain tree, Kalrna etc

Best Available Ecommerece Solution in the Market

Cons

- Speed of magento is horrible
- Theme is Expensive
- Extension are expensive
- Developers are Expensive
- Complicated Structure

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: Self Employed

It is NOT as simple as it seems to be

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

If you decided to go with Magento, get ready to work with installing PHP packages, checking your PHP versions, working with XML for any theme customization. Despite all downsides and dependencies/sensitivities of Magento... somehow I still believe that it is a very solid and reliable solution... :-)

Pros

All you need "out of the box" for your e-commerce project.
Clean and modern design.
Good performance of the store front (front end).
Able to handle BIG stores.
API friendly.
Good official documentation.

Cons

Very sensitive to PHP versions and packages.
You do need to be a developer in order to get going with it.
Lots of most important stuff is actually done through CLI... so get ready to work with black screen of SSH interface.
Slow admin's interface (back end).
Requires more server resources (it is almost impossible to run a Magento store on a shared hosting; Magento 2 official docs recommend a minimum of 2Gb dedicated RAM...)
I do not like this one, but... real Magento developers are EXPENSIVE... this is not WordPress for you.
Very small official marketplace for themes and plugins (extensions), as well as most of them either do not work at all (the free ones) or way too overpriced (those that do work).

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dele O.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The Great Magento Commerce

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 8/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

My team were able to run a relatively large 10,000 page E-commerce store without many technical issues, more importantly the website was able to get indexed and rank well within Google. Changing products and listing items was relatively simple to do.

Pros

Magento has a wide range of functions and features with the ability to add modules. It is SEO friendly which is critical being able to amend the meta page title, meta descriptions and add in schema markup. A function Google uses to pull in review stars, price, and stock levels within the search results snippets has been invaluable.

Cons

You will need a developer to set up and configure the E-commerce platform properly due to some of its complexities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ariel I.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Solid eCommerce platform with a quirks

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 23/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I'm a Magento 2 Enterprise Cloud user, and I find the bundled services (CDN, Caching, Reporting, etc) to be of great value. They are also PCI compliant and support a wide range of payment methods, shipping, and integrations. The platform is just booming right now and seems to have a great future.

Cons

Magento 2 Cloud Edition comes with a few restrictions for the sake of security. Those restrictions are a problem with extensions that aren't optimized for the cloud version. Cloud is a new product so developers are catching up with the specs. The installation of new features via extensions could also be a problem for non-developers. You will find WooCommerce, Shopify, and Prestashop click based approach more efficient in this aspect.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Felix N.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

eCommerce Simplified

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Having worked with numerous eCommerce solutions, both free and paid, I would say Magento comes on top as the best ever. It is the best solution for small to large businesses.

Pros

Magento is an easy to use ecommerce solution. It does not require a lot of technical knowledge to manage. It has all the necessary feature required for an eCommerce platform; from Search Engine Optimization to Catalog management. It has a large community thus easy to get support.

Cons

It may require purchasing a few more extensions so as to achieve specific objectives e.g. In case you need a multi-vendor platform, you will have to add another third party extension as Magento itself does not offer that. It may need an experienced developer to customize.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Used daily by our ecom team to manage our site

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/03/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very powerful tool for managing our product catalog. Easy to edit and manage product information and very flexible for our needs.

Pros

For what I need, Magento makes it very easy to navigate through our product catalog and get and edit info on any products, categories, etc.

Cons

Magento can be fairly confusing to use for the first time if you do not have someone help you through it. Some sort of on boarding process could be very helpful

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bharat S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Best e commerce software package

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have devolve many web Application through this.

Pros

Magento is one which provide best platform for e-commerce based we application. It is customize and open source. It is integrate feature which needs in application

Cons

Very less cons are in magento. Custmization of themes are difficult sometime on different web application. Cost for paid version is high.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The best all in one ecommerce solution available.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Support for high number of products in catalog, completely customizable, great functionality built in. The number of available extensions at reasonable costs are a great advantage, along with the large and helpful community.

Cons

Requires high level of knowledge to develop complex customizations, developers for these types of projects can be expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Vladimir D.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The best for ecommerce

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I've been working with Magento clients for years. This platform is easy to customize, has great functionality.

Pros

Magento is a great platform for e-commerce. If you want to quickly start selling online - you need Magento.

Cons

Magento 1.x support ends in 2020. A bunch of our clients has to update their platform just because of this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paolo M.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very good for large stores that want complete customization

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We used to use magento but recently changed shopping carts, our biggest issue with Magento was the time required to do minor changes.

Pros

Very good for large stores that want complete customization but if you're smaller and don't want to hire a developer and have to wait weeks for minor updates it may not be for you.

Cons

There is not customer support just community support, you will also need a developer to handle most customizations. It is not user friendly like Shopify.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David R.

intuitive, reliable and easy to use although a little expensive.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/06/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use in the beginning: this application has a friendly way of use, even for those who are not particularly a technological expert, to the point that you can even find solutions outside the box to support yourself and the company.
Ability to scale from little to much: you can climb from 5 products to 200,000, in fact it was intended to make that scale process possible.
This application is adapted to the user, as it can serve for small companies , as a much larger

Cons

The maintenance costs on the technical side are high although this has to do with a complex system of operation and the high specialization that this entails, taking into account that it takes a considerable amount of time to learn to use it.

Hosting: Due to the complexity and scalable design, you pretty much need to host a Magento store on its own dedicated server. This means additional expense to get things started, and an extra online monthly cost to boot.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The right ecommerce platform for our company

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Incredible amount of customization options
At basic level free to use
Many developers dedicated to Magento

Cons

Requires technical knowledge
The enterprise edition can be expensive for smaller companies
You need some manpower for an implementation

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services

No reviews yet? Ok, let me be first

Reviewed on 19/09/2015
Review Source: GetApp

I am using magento for over 4 years. I am using magento as a developer and store owner. Let me first describe my developer experience. Magento is big and hard to learn CMS system for building e-commerce stores. However, it is also the most robust one, most adaptable and most extensible platform. It can take some time and money to adopt it for all your needs, but when you reach desired state, it will pay off. You can automate most of tasks and of course synchronize your catalog, orders and clients with your internal CMS system. As a store owner I would like to say, that you need some time to get used to work in magento admin. They are many settings and you need to learn what are they for. But it also offers a lot more advanced functions (payment methods, promotional rules, tax rules, group promotional rules, reviews, etc…) than similar open source software. Try it!

Pros

- adaptable
- a lot of extensions for all your needs
- a lot of built in advanced functions

Cons

- quite hard to learn
- needs properly configured server for optimal speed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jorge M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Nice eCommerce engine out of the box

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I'd had the opportunity to be part of a few e-commerce projects and my option is always the same MAGENTO. It provides a very robust yet ready e-commerce tools and website for you to start your own business.

It usually involves many ours configuring your Magento in order to make it look the way you want and behave the way you want to.

Pros

Open Source version available
Tons of plugins and third party apps
Very robust and mature project
Nice and updated developer documentation

Cons

This is no and easy option to extend yourself as a developer if you think you can take advantage of the huge tools and functionalities that Magento provides, be aware that you'll have to take some time in order to do so.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10