81 reviews
Overall rating
3.8
/
5
Value for Money
3.3
Features
3.6
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.3
69% recommended this app
81 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great software, but too pricey for my needs

Reviewed on 2/11/2020

Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros

MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons

There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

Paul C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper

Reviewed on 29/09/2019

We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros

As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons

We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

Sarah S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great reconciliation and payment software

Reviewed on 26/05/2019

MYOB is used for all office payments, cheques, reconciliation and staff wages. Creates a one stop shop for all things payment related!

Pros

Easy to use interface with quick access to each area of the program.

Cons

Program can be expensive and costs per computer

Chris P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

good value in terms of the price

Reviewed on 12/09/2017

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Pros

easy to use ,A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

Cons

I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.

Pam D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Small business user

Reviewed on 10/07/2018

Good program for small business and very easy to fix mistakes but no audit trail

Pros

Easy to use and can have detailed accounts set up,at 4 levels
Reports are set up so easy to use out of the box
Great program in box

Cons

From an audit perspective not great as you can renter things without an audit trail
No reporting flexibility

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legislative Office
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 14/01/2019

I would recommend it to someone say a professional bookkeeper, I found Quickbooks to be more user friendly for easy bookkeeping soultuons also finding Quickbooks a lot cheaper than MYOB.

Pros

Very detailed, Easy to add transactions.

Cons

I found the software was not very “user friendly” especially as someone who isn’t the greatest at Bookeeping, the terms (words) and navigation was very hard sometimes. I ended up switching to Quickbooks.

Marcus maciej N.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible

Reviewed on 6/04/2018

Pros

I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons

It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

Annie G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Game change for my business

Reviewed on 5/06/2018

Pros

This software has made my bookkeeping so much easier, faster and even more accurate. I like when they change a function, that they teach u how to use it with little instruction pop ups.

Cons

I find that the dashboard figures aren't always accurate with my bank accounts. Sometimes the layout can be confusing.

Travis K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fun and simple to use for small businesses

Reviewed on 15/05/2019

Pros

Reconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy

Cons

There are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.

Melanie F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use for Small Business

Reviewed on 4/10/2018

I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

Pros

Great import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import)
Simple payroll functionality
Easy account reconciliation

Cons

There is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search
Reports are hard to find and dates are

Bruce Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Need to be dragged into the new century

Reviewed on 16/06/2019

We have been stuck on it - and are currently planning our migration away from it.

Pros

Commonly used across small business which makes it easier to find bookkeepers who have experience in it

Cons

Needs to have a major overview from a features, functionality and user experience perspective.
Nearly no new features in 15 years.
An upgrade in technology, but delivering using out-dated tech stacks and restrictive implementation.
Not a wonder people are moving in droves to other products.

Glenn L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Can not export or import anything useful. Locked in.

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

I would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the stage where you need to upgrade your accounting software. Also requires a internet connection to run.

Pros

Easy to use for a small business. Its web based so you dont need to install any software, and you can use it from any location where you have internet access.

Cons

Import and export data options VERY limited. Can only import items and contacts, can only export a account and journal summary for your accountant. This means you cant use Essentials with a 3rd part system, or export your data if you later decide to stop using Essentials, effectively locking you in. Would make it difficult for a growing business to upgrade to a more advanced accounting system, you would need to manually enter all your records from scratch.

Russell E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Not exception but does the job

Reviewed on 6/12/2016

I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees.
I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.
However the taxation reporting is very user friendly and makes very monthly reporting and payment very easy to use.
Overall, the price is very good and for the purposes of just payroll it does the job reasonably well

Pros

Taxation reporting

Cons

Customer service

Tom W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 14/10/2016

Frances S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Missing the mark in a few ways

Reviewed on 2/03/2017

This is a very simplified online version of MYOB accounting service which is ideal for a small business with one or two contractors. You are able to have one employee on payroll, but if you have more, you need to pay additional money each month to allow for this. It is easy to navigate and does have some good features like the in-tray and linked bank accounts.

I found that the cost compared to Account Right was pretty close once I added my PAYG employees to the system. I needed more complex options so I switched over.

Rohan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Poor product Poor support Over priced

Reviewed on 12/11/2018

Over priced, they don't care about their customers

Pros

There is nothing I like about MYOB, a product which I have used for 15 years. I'm locked in and cant move.

Cons

Every thing. Customer service is non existent and its way over priced.

Bruce M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Pleased

Reviewed on 4/10/2017

Pros

The software is easy to use, and user friendly. It gives plenty of instructions, and it is easy to show a new user the basics

Darren W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 10/04/2016

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Not a choice if you plan to grow

Reviewed on 21/08/2018

Pros

Cheap, easy to set up, basically does the job that you need it to do.

Cons

Once on it, you cannot graduate to Account Right Live or other products if your organisation grows. You are basically stuck on a sub standard product.

App ecosystem is not robust.

Joe B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Manual System Converted into Digital

Reviewed on 29/12/2020

MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros

- Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons

- Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

Lee P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a...

Reviewed on 22/05/2017

For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros

Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons

Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

Matthew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!

Reviewed on 18/05/2020

Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros

Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons

Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

Chris F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is great accounting Software thank you

Reviewed on 9/02/2017

I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

Kate L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Accounting software to begin with

Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros

Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons

The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

Liam G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree

Reviewed on 11/03/2018

Pros

I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons

What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.