Oracle Database Reviews

Oracle Database

4.6 (459)
Write a Review!
Discover the Right Database for You

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(459)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

459 Reviews

Jose
Jose
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use Oracle Database

Reviewed on 9/08/2018

My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the...

My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the projects and has allowed me, thanks to the tools it provides, to achieve projects that with other database managers could not have been successfully completed, that is, the multiple tools provided by oracle are very helpful although the examples and the documentation seem scarce

Pros

It is a very powerful database from the point of view of storage and development, I have used oracle in many aspects, as a database engine and for a large amount of data it is perfect because it handles high volume data efficiently, as well It provides the advantage of being able to develop with SQL ansi standard procedures and tasks that automate the management of data, the advantage of being able to run on any platform and with any development tool allows development projects to be carried out in the expected time, compatibility It is your biggest advantage

Cons

As a disadvantage I think that the way to handle the downloads of the connection drivers for the different platforms is a bit tedious since other databases do not require so much protocol to download the drivers. it may be necessary in some cases to document about the new functionalities because the examples provided by the provider are not so clear and / or non-existent

Sukesh
Sukesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trending database technique with high level data protection,availability,scalability and cloud

Reviewed on 7/11/2018

I had great experience working on different versions of oracle databases and the technologies like...

I had great experience working on different versions of oracle databases and the technologies like Goldengate,RAC,ASM,OEM,RMAN,DATAPUMP. I highly recommend my friends to learn oracle db administration as it is very useful if chosen as a career.

Pros

Being a oracle database administrator I like to manage and work on unique technologies that are available, like Real application cluster,Golden gate,RMAN, Datapump and its is really challenging at times when we receive performance related issues. It provides high level security on data where we can recover lost data or corrupt data using various technologies like RMAN,DATAPUMP,DATAGUARD,RAC.
ASM makes the database maintenance even more simple while adding new disks into storage or adding datafiles. Goldengate can be used to configure data replication between different vender databases and OEM 12C and above can be used to monitor other vendor databases and OS alerts too.The Cloud enviornment makes it look cooler.

Cons

I don't find any cons as such as but the ORACLE-SUPPORT response is slow sometimes even on high priority issues and we need to raise a call to the manager

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

A database to use if you have always used it and cannot fathom doing things differently

Reviewed on 24/05/2018

I got a working database for my application from this software, but there could be so much more for...

I got a working database for my application from this software, but there could be so much more for that price using modern concepts.

Pros

Oracle Database aligns with the topics you learned in your Intro to Databases class. It has tables, columns, keys, indexes, triggers, and all the things you want to avoid in your modern applications.

Cons

It is big, resource-intensive, expensive, hard to maintain, hard to patch, unreliable, impossible to distribute without an equally cumbersome and expensive add-on, and it keeps your applications mired in the past.

Muhammad Adil
Muhammad Adil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Oracle Database

Reviewed on 10/07/2021

If you want to build data warehouse than it is top notch solution for your company. Very stable and...

If you want to build data warehouse than it is top notch solution for your company. Very stable and too efficient to manage large data. Nice support of documentation available.

Pros

Due to its excellent disaster recovery and data security feature it is the best solution for big companies and organizations. It has one of the best framework for performance tuning of data and architect. Very good support of SQL and PLSQL. Regular bug fix available form the ORACLE.

Cons

It is memory hungry software so on native machine it is nearly impossible to test anything. To run it on the Cloud, the cost is very high.

Serhat
Serhat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredibly Fast

Reviewed on 5/07/2023

The features I use most in Oracle database; Writing stored procedure, view, cursor and trigger and...

The features I use most in Oracle database; Writing stored procedure, view, cursor and trigger and calling it from within the software, as well as writing instant queries and generating reports.

Pros

I'm in the banking industry and we have millions of transactions daily. We keep these transactions in the oracle database. Among all this data, we can find, for example, a transaction or customer we want to find, without waiting. An invaluable database tool for complete enterprise companies. The main features that I like the most are that it can process large amounts of data quickly, many users can access the same table or even the same data, and it is very easy to use.

Cons

I've been using it for years and I've never encountered a feature that I don't like at all.

Sami
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My experience using Oracle database

Reviewed on 26/12/2023

I worked on a project was about an e-commerce website.
The Customer told me that he wants his...

I worked on a project was about an e-commerce website.
The Customer told me that he wants his database on Oracle program.
the program was a bit difficult to use and needs practice to become easy.

Pros

Scalability, High Availability, Data Integrity and security.
It provides top-notch security and that is why the banking sector mostly uses Oracle as there is a back end database.

Cons

I had trouble installing the program on my laptop, as it is very complicated to install.
I had a lot of errors when I deleted it and reinstalled it, after much effort, contacting support, and watching videos on YouTube of how to completely remove it in order to install it again, and this took me a lot of time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Oracle for Non-Profits

Reviewed on 8/11/2023

Pros

Lightweight, pretty easy to use. TNS files make it easy to make sure everyone has the same connections. No real issues.

Cons

Having to use a third party software like TOAD or SQL Developer to access it can be a pain and annoying at times. As well with having a Linux-based backend it can be difficult to find the right DBA.

Tounekti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why I choose Oracle

Reviewed on 13/09/2023

Pros

I have been using Oracle for almost years now, I really enjoyed the simplicity of use.

Cons

I noticed that Oracle while using specially data warehouse it needs a respected performance.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A data base that we use more than 10 years

Reviewed on 6/12/2023

Overall with Oracle Database i can manage my data with more safety and easy to recall

Overall with Oracle Database i can manage my data with more safety and easy to recall

Pros

What i like most about Oracle Data base is the data base is more secure and easy to recall

Cons

What i did least like from Oracle Database is the prize, because i use this Oracle Database when i buy The Prinergy Software

Marco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top

Reviewed on 1/11/2023

Pros

The data is stored on a solid product and is easily accessible via queries in the excellent graphical interface that the SQL Developer product from the same manufacturer offers.

Cons

It is a very complex product for professionals only and the installation and configuration are not user friledly and simple

Osuavareghe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best instructional RDBMS

Reviewed on 20/10/2020

As a Faculty who has made use of and taught Oracle, Ms SQL, MySQL and Ms Access and Excel, I can...

As a Faculty who has made use of and taught Oracle, Ms SQL, MySQL and Ms Access and Excel, I can boldly tell you that Oracle Database Management Software remains the best and to shock you that's why the biggest organizations in the world makes use of it. One other thing you need to know is that it is most secure DBMS you can ever think of when it comes to data management.

Pros

Oracle DBMS is the best when you talk about large data manipulation SQL/PL-SQL runtime is way beyond its counterparts such as MySQL and MS SQL. Another feature is the availability of support (API) for different programming languages. Programmers can easily develop applications using whether it be mobile apps, web based or other server based applications, Oracle is a sure bet. Oracle's availability, recoverability, performance feature is also an added advantage. The new feature that removes human error of patching and upgrading by automating the process is another key benefit.

Cons

Oracle DBMS may not be the right choice for a small organization just starting if they do not have enough money to purchase its license. Oracle license is really expensive. One other thing is that you will need a highly skilled oracle professional to harness all the benefits Oracle truly provides.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Relational Database Platform in market

Reviewed on 29/01/2019

I used Oracle database for programming application logics for a technician management applications...

I used Oracle database for programming application logics for a technician management applications for a client. I also used Oracle database to support database layer for several of my clients in my career so far.

Pros

I have been using Oracle Database since the version 10g. I have had a chance to work on several other database platforms like Sybase, MS SQL and MySQL. Oracle database comes with tons of features which many of the other databases don't have. I am not sure if i can say that other way round for other databases i have used.
It's quite complicated to learn and definitely complicated to master, but it provides you with enough tools to do complicated tasks quite easily.
You can also code your application programming languages using it's native PL/SQL language. Oracle Database also let's you make calls to Java programs and embed some Java inside the PL/SQL.

Cons

It's costly! It's quite costly if you are using it for small businesses. Some of the very sophisticated features are only available for enterprise version of Oracle Database which is quite costly. Oracle is very price oriented, so be careful about the budget when you chose Oracle Database.

Ghulam
Ghulam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Oracle Database - A giant database engine

Reviewed on 26/06/2021

I experienced a powerful, reliable and stable database engines supporting PL/SQL for writing...

I experienced a powerful, reliable and stable database engines supporting PL/SQL for writing complex queries easily. However, it is a costly solution but the data security it offers is unmatchable.

Pros

The PL/SQL support makes writing complex queries easier. It is most stable data storage engine. It support huge databases very well. It is very reliable for data safety. It is also very well in database security management.

Cons

The high licensing cost makes it inaccessible to the most of its lovers. Modern programming languages are not well supported. It is difficult to learn for novice users.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server
Talha
Talha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Oracle Database

Reviewed on 9/10/2020

its goods for textile sector.different madules data can be arranged at one data base which minimize...

its goods for textile sector.different madules data can be arranged at one data base which minimize the data arrange time.

Pros

Oracle database is best manager of the data, PL/SQL used to arrange data which makes possible to arrange data 100% accurate.Huge data can be manage through a simple click.its spread sheets have millions of rows and columns.we can extract spread sheet of oracle database toMS Excle through refreahable files.

Cons

PL/SQL is very senstive language and its resources persons are highly paid.secondly its license is much expensive.
We have to refresh exi file while entring any new data.

Maizy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Great Name in Databases

Reviewed on 17/07/2022

Overall, we've had really good success with Oracle Database. The database has been well crafted...

Overall, we've had really good success with Oracle Database. The database has been well crafted and maintained over the years, and is a robust and enterprise tool of great importance to us.

Pros

Oracle Database is a well-known professional-level database. It does it's job well, storing data, and having countless ways to query and access it's data. Updating, inserting, deleting are accompanied by every clause you could want to control your data. It's a robust database, and works seamlessly with most IDEs.

Cons

There are more than a few different "big player" databases in the market, other than Oracle, and they each often have their own spin of SQL commands. It's hard to keep the nuances straight, and thus there's a learning curb to getting the syntax correct. This is more an annoyance overall, and not specific to Oracle - just note, that it's different then MySQL.

Marko
Marko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Probably most powerful database

Reviewed on 31/07/2019

The whole customer engineer dispatch system that my team use is linked with Oracle database and...

The whole customer engineer dispatch system that my team use is linked with Oracle database and every work order goes through it. From the dispatch to opening new tasks, ordering parts, escalating to other teams and closing the work orders, everything is being stored in Oracle DB.
I also use it to pull data when I need to create reports for the customers or when I simply want to check the status of a specific work order.

Pros

As a Java programmer, for me personally, Oracle database is one of the most important platforms that I use. The overwhelming features of the platform, its history, scalabillity and the overall usability is almost breathtaking. Java and Oracle, connected with Hibernate are a really powerful triumvirate of technology.
As a user, I use oracle database every single day for dispatching customer engineers, managing the work orders, pulling data and creating reports.

Cons

So far I can only say good things about Oracle DB.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Oracle DataBase

Reviewed on 9/11/2018

Very good software, I have been using oracle for 5 years as a database administrator, it gives me...

Very good software, I have been using oracle for 5 years as a database administrator, it gives me security and integrity in the data, the manipulation of the data is safe and easy.
It is stable with the systems in which oracle has been implemented

Pros

Integrity and data security
Standardized the use of sql
It can be run on any operating system and on any machine from PC to high-tech servers
Allows database replication in a secure and consistent manner
Allows multiple databases (Instances) in the same server
The export and backup of the database is done according to the different needs of the user if it is a table excluding certain parameters, etc.
It can be monitored by application such as cloud control.
It allows to generate reports, statistics, multiple queries.

Cons

Incompatibility with previous versions at the time of restoration
High costs

Yoshiomi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Large amounts of data can be managed efficiently.

Reviewed on 16/08/2022

Pros

It performed well and managed large amounts of data efficiently.

Cons

The update process is very complicated. It was necessary to review the procedure well in advance. Just running the installer is not enough to update.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

Because there were many Oracle engineers
Jeannette Haydeé
Jeannette Haydeé
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I had work with a variety of versions Oracle Database, from 9 to 12c

Reviewed on 5/06/2018

The options to have only one server installed with one Oracle Database with N containers

The options to have only one server installed with one Oracle Database with N containers

Pros

Oracle Database is always a good options. Its very consistent, stable and scalability: It´s 12c version have a new funcionality wich is the container database. We can create one or more container in one same database. In the same instalation we can manage more than one container of database, this is very helpfull for applications databases division.

Cons

The container always is create in a closed state, after the creation of container, is necesary alter the status to change it to open state and even when you create a container with a administrator user (no sys user), is necesary give permissions DBA to that user because it doesn´t inherit that permissions

Keyver
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most stable, the strongest, the safest and most powerful database

Reviewed on 24/05/2018

One of the clients that has the company I work in is a very large bank which manages millions and...

One of the clients that has the company I work in is a very large bank which manages millions and millions of transactions per day and had already tried other handlers and none of them worked or failed concurrency or memory but since we used oracle both the customer as the developers are happy

Pros

the best database manager that in my opinion exists, is super robust, super stable, since I never use an application I dropped it, handles millions of records in a matter of seconds which other handlers do if they collapse instead oracle any amount of millions of records the menja and processed as without greater difficulty

Cons

get a point against the truth is that I do not see it because for me the handler is the best of the best ... for something I give 5 stars

Lasha
Lasha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best of the best

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

An absolute beast of a DBMS. It has everything that you may need. And if for some reason it doesn't...

An absolute beast of a DBMS. It has everything that you may need. And if for some reason it doesn't - it allows you to make it yourself. Oracle is a no-brainer if money is not an issue.

Pros

Oracle is an absolute powerhouse. Currently it is the best database management system on the market and the only paid one. That is for a reason, nd that reason is that it features the best scripting language called PLSQL. It's turing-complete (meaning you can theoretically do literally anything) and makes room for unimaginambly complex calculations and transformations. Oracle DB allows for storing huge amounts of data and have access to it at a moments notice.

Cons

Despite offering more than enough value for money, I do still consider it overpriced. Huge price tags often deter smaller enterprises from using a platform and nobody should miss out on Oracle DB.

Miguel Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Highly commendable, powerful, fully featured database manager

Reviewed on 18/06/2019

The only problems we ever got where contract problems, never experienced data corruption nor data...

The only problems we ever got where contract problems, never experienced data corruption nor data loss, it's indeed the excellence in database managers.

Pros

This is the structured database manager that set the industry standard
Very powerful, fully adjustable.
Very fast and capable of handling the most variable loads maintaining data consistency across the database landscape (it can be clustered, distributed, etc).
It includes plsql by default, a very powerful tool for specialized reports, or data treatment.

Cons

It's expensive, but if you can pay it, it'll be worth it .
Once you're into Oracle SQL, you must remain in it, the contract is quite hard to leave.

Alonso
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great RDMS for handling high transactionality and high amount of data

Reviewed on 20/09/2019

Pros

Performs very well working with high amount of data and high transactionality.
PLSQL it's very powerfull as SQL extension
Use of packages to group functionality.
XE envirnoment makes development easier.
Altough a diferent product, ORDS makes it really easy to develop REST based services from querys, functions or profcedures.

Cons

Documentation is not as clear as one may expect. You get easyly lost between docs for different versions the database.
It is quite expensive. If you company either doesn't have high transactionality or handles a big amount of data, Its reasonably to use another cheapper DBMS.

Ramya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Oracle DB review

Reviewed on 20/10/2019

We have used Oracle database as storage for many of our applications. It is a great software. Once...

We have used Oracle database as storage for many of our applications. It is a great software. Once the license requirements are completed, it will provide the needed storage and support for the procured database. I really like Oracle DB.

Pros

It is a great software for storing all the needed data for your application in the database. Once we have obtained the desired licenses, it is a great tool available in the market for DB storage.

Cons

It does crash sometimes. So make sure to commit all of your work at regular intervals if a disaster strikes. If you are used to another DB product, there are few changes in the commands that you are expected to know.

sapnaka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A powerful relational database

Reviewed on 16/05/2023

Pros

I have used oracle database mainly because of its scalability and high performance and because of that, it can handle high transactional data. It supports ACID properties and SQL PL/SQL languages to perform operations. It supports data backup, security and data replication.

Cons

The cost and resource consumption is high.