40 reviews

Perch Security

Threat detection and response management software

Write a Review!
Overall rating
0
/
5
Value for Money
0
Features
0
Ease of Use
0
Customer Support
0
95% recommended this app
40 reviews
James B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great SIEM Solution and Company

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

We have three monthly calls with them, so stay up to date as much as possible. They definitely work hard to make a good product, are very open in terms of roadmap, new features, issues, etc. I honestly wish all of our vendors were like Perch

Pros

It works well, has great integration support, easy to deploy and manage, and the company is great to work with and provides awesome support.

Cons

Nothing really comes to mind. If I had to say one thing, the web interface can occasionally get slow, but that is generally only on larger queries and has improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A breath of fresh air

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customizability and freedom in generating reports. It will also accept log data from almost any data source and the support team is awesome in assisting with the ingests and walking through every request, no matter how crazy it might be.

Cons

The sensors can be a little tricky to set up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tarah D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perch is great!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

This is an affordable cybersecurity solution for small businesses.

Pros

The support is quick, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Cons

The only con is that it's too bad we need a service such as this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perch Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The integration with a lot of the core services we use made this a clear winner when reviewing. The ongoing communication from the team allows us to be confident in how the product is working.

Cons

As with any product, there was a steep learning curve and I would say the documentation is not as good as it could be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nick G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

My Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been great so far, gives us more insight into what's going on and provides that extra layer that we all need

Pros

Amount of data presented and collected, provides great insight into what's going on in your network

Cons

Alerts can be loud at first before fine tuning, ELKstack might be a little intimidating to newcomers at first

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jonathan W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Perch - Very Useful Tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use software, integrates with all of our systems which makes it the single pane of glass we were looking for. Has assisted us with our clients and located previously unseen security issues which has lead to greater trust with our client base.

Cons

Sometimes links don't take you to the correct alert, which can cause confusion. Physical sensors can go offline which is troublesome given the remote nature of all employees.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Thomas N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A SOC that will have your back

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Remote SOC, fairly easy to learn, nice interface, integrations with many platforms

Cons

Needs to integrate with more firewall logging. I believe it does not work with Watchguard or Fortinet presently. I'd also like it if it could do vulnerability scanning or have the ability to automate some processes like disabling Microsoft 365 access if an account has suspicious activity, disabling an end-point that is compromised.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Adam A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to configure

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Once it is setup and feeding data to the CW Perch SOC they are proactive with alerting so we catch issues early.

Pros

Setup is straight forward. Once you've done it once it is easy to replicate. Make sure you have credentials to your switches to turn on port mirroring for ingress and egress traffic.

Cons

Include in the instructions that you need the step about configuring your switch to monitor all traffic. This step should almost be first before you install otherwise it isn't seeing all traffic.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Frankie M.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 11-50 Employees

IDS/SIEM for MSP's

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Top notch. Everyone on the team is helpful and want you to be successful.

Pros

Having an IDS/SIEM that is geared towards the MSP market. The product is designed with how MSP's operate. Also, pricing is also aligned to the MSP market.

Cons

If I had to pick on item would be processes not 100% polished. However, support is good and will make sure your issue is resolved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrew B.
Industry: Writing & Editing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ITlogix, reveiw

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

tiring to solve the puzzle of pulling in may alert sources into a good dashboard with alerting

Pros

The feature set seems to be complete from the marketing perspective. It checks all the boxes for what we are looking for and seems to integrate with our toolset.

Cons

the feater set does not work. For example, it does connect to our 3rd party services and pulls out logs in however the alerts are about useless and several of the integrations are only half done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Joe C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product to help MSPs scale their security business

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

From the moment we have started working with Perch, they have been at the top of our list of vendors.

Pros

Ease of sales with account managers
Ease of set up and configuration
Continual development of API

Cons

No - nothing that can come to mind, they have been very easy to work with

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

An enterprise vs MSP view.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

I have used and sold Splunk before and Splunk is very intuitive to use from the end user perspective. Perch requires more knowledge of query languages to dig some of the information out that I want to see. On the administrative side of things Perch is far easier to implement than Splunk and does not require a dedicated engineering staff to maintain.

Pros

Easy of implementation and the setup of the appliances at each location is great. The web portal reduces our overhead and maintenance cost.

Cons

Query of information via Perchbana needs to be segmented by client sites.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Tim F.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A true partner for improving cybersecurity

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Perch has built a product that enables us to provide detection across our client base. Their SOC makes our lives easier by going through the majority of the information collected, and alerts us when there is something we need to be aware of. They are rapidly adding new features and integrations, allowing us to stay on top of new threats.

Pros

Perch integrates with most of our technology stack, allowing us to collect log and event information, and create actionable alerts when anything suspicious happens.

Cons

The user interface needs some re-organization since so many new integrations have been added since it was designed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew W.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

MSP friendly threat detection

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

MSP friendly threat detection. This space is filled with solutions designed for large enterprises, which is out of reach for a lot of typical MSP customer sizes and budgets.

Perch is able to take a lot of the same technologies used in those enterprise solutions, make them affordable and easy for MSPs to use.

Cons

Alerting when things stop working. When things flatline, there's nothing configured out of the box that will notify you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brandon M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Happy Customer

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Perch to help address our need to have an efficient SEIM backed by a capable SOC.

Pros

The Perch team is easy to work with and available at all times. The SEIM and SOC services deliver what you expect and was extremely easy to implement.

Cons

As we use more and more Azure services, the current ability to access Azure logs is limited. We expect this to be improved over time, but currently this area is not as feature rich as we would like.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael C.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 11-50 Employees

An excellent choice

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 14/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The integration features are very well done, we're really happy with Perch allowing us to have full access to our data as well as our clients data while still providing a SOC service.

Cons

I wish there was a way to reach someone immediately by phone in the event of an emergency, but we have not needed this so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Myriam M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Have your onboarding process ironed out and fully vetted before starting!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Great benefits with insight into information we would not have had otherwise. Great team and the desire to provide excellent customer service. Not thrilled with the onboarding process and the lack of linear progression through each task to ensure each tenant is fully operational before moving on to the next team. Not for lack of intent on the Perch team, mind you, they are a really terrific group of folks.

Pros

Single pane of glass, all the integrations with most commonly used industry applications. The knowledge and experience of the team driving the solution.

Cons

The complexity of use, huge learning curve to manage, learn and understand the application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Luke G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Perch for MSSPs

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

I have spent 100's of hours navigating, administrating, and configuring both the NDR and SIEM functions of this solution and overall I would say that it is exceptional in the NDR aspects but a little lacking in the SIEM aspects.

Pros

The community aspect. All SIEM resources, threat intel, suppression notes, alert comments, can be shared globally or restricted to your desired level. Additionally, this solution seamlessly combines NDR and SIEM into one slick easy to use and navigate solution portal. This makes life as a security professional monitoring and administrating this solution much easier than alternatively having to navigate and correlate information from two separate solutions.

Cons

The lack of developer support. This solution has what feels like infinite potential. However, that infinite potential feels squandered due to the lack of developer support and action. Feature requests often go unnoticed. Core functionality bugs are landmines for new users that do not know how to navigate them effectively.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kyle F.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perch SEIM/SOC is invaluable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

The team at Perch is very helpful and SUPER easy to work with! Support is a pleasure to work with and will always find a solution quickly.

Pros

Setting up the product is quite simple and straight forward. The information provided and the human element of the Perch SOC team make this a one-stop-shop when it comes to SEIM /SOC solutions!
The Connectwise and many other integrations make ticketing simple and clean.

Cons

If you are not fluent with Linux, there will be a bit of a learning curve. Filtering data in the Perch console requires an understanding of KQL (Kibana Query Language).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Blake P.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Simplified logging and monitoring

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Set up is very easy. Perch also continuously releases support for 3rd party API integration so you can centralize logs from several sources. Their network sensors take in data from various feeds (like FS-ISAC) to look out for trending indicators of compromise in your business sector. Web interface is very intuitive and clean.

Cons

Couple times I've had to power cycle network sensors because they go offline. They come right back up after that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dave G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Product for MSPs to keep their partners protected

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Love the product.
Love the team.
everyone at perch has been super helpful and great to deal with.

Pros

Easy to setup
easy to maintain
provided the added eyes needed on the network at all times.

Cons

reports are lacking a bit, but getting better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Perch Review from Managed Service Provider

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Support team is with us every step of the way. Very happy with the overall product and the value it delivers.

Pros

We like that we have the ability to view security events and escalation across all clients. The deployment is straight forward and this easily integrates with our existing tools.

Cons

New features are usually buggy. They get worked out over time. We are struggling with a version that will run in the Microsoft Cloud.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chris L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perch Security - SOC-backed Threat Hunting and SIEM that is not complicated

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

The people at Perch from the top to the bottom are great. If you run into issues, have questions, or just need some advice, they are there for you. Also, their SOC is based in Houston on USA soil which is important to many when you have someone watching your back from a cyber perspective.

Pros

The Perch solution has a very community-esque feel. Users of Perch love it and are not afraid to support one another, share tips, tricks, customizations, etc. This collaboration and feedback is also present within Perch and the improvements that are made to the product it reflect the users' requests and needs.

Cons

This is a product where the more one puts into it, the one gets out of it. It is no magic system out of the box per se. This is not really Perch's fault, but to the layperson, one could thing that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best SIEM for us busy administrators

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

They have been overall amazing. The staff are all super helpful, the software works as intended, and the analysts are responsive. Lots of KB articles already written up make my life easy. The monthly calls are really nice as well since they actually listen to the users.

Pros

The ease of general use - everything is just simple to do without any extra steps, crazy setup, etc...

Cons

Speed of the platform overall - some days, it drags hard.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tyler S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perch Security

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

100% positive. No issues with price, no issues with their service, and the clients we deploy it on appreciate the additional insight to their security.

Pros

Honestly the entire SOC team in Houston is the best part of about working with Perch. Any questions are quickly answered, any events found are quickly visible / communicated, and the integrations with our systems were seemless.

Cons

I dont know if its a really a con, but the small learning curve would be it. However Perch was helpful through all the onboarding and calls to ensure it was the best it could be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10