5 reviews

DaVinci Resolve

Video editing software for post-production processes

4.6 /5 (5 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
5
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
3.4
Customer Support
5
100% recommended this app
5 reviews
Mersen G.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

The BEST VIDEO EDITING SOFTWARE Money Can't Buy- IT'S FREE

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I love it! It has everything a $0 film maker needs to put their creativity into fruition. It gives small filmmakers like us a tool that professionals still use and that has never happened before. Minus the major movie stars, we're almost on the same playing field now. I've edited videos on it for 3 years and I don't think I'll be switching anytime soon- if I do it will probably be to the full paid version Davinci Resolve Studio.

Pros

Firstly, it's free. It has everything anyone would ever need to make a film. From sound editing to colour correcting, all the tools it provides are professional and easy to use. Did I mention that it's free? Another great thing about the software is that it actually uses your GPU. I also particularly like its trimming tools as I find that there aren't many free video editing softwares that give you the ability to make such precise cuts on a video. This is especially useful if you're a video creator who HAS TO cut 'that scene' at just the right moment else the whole film is terrible. Yes, I'm that video creator. Visual playback isn't too shabby either- it does lag sometimes but a feature called optimized media reduces that. Lastly, the thing I probably like the most is the endless options for editing the actual video appearance. You can zoom in on it, crop it, stretch it and keyframe each change to create an animated effect.

Cons

It's system requirements. The software needs AT LEAST 16GB of DDR4 RAM to run smoothly. I currently run it on just 8GB which is fine if you don't mind lag and random software crashes. Davinci Resolve also comes with the default settings for Autosave being off. I learnt that one the hard way. It also sometimes has problems with audio output, particularly when you use more than one output device (like headphones and external speakers). Sometimes it doesn't automatically change to the system device. Another thing I noticed is that, for some odd reason, it randomly outputs mono audio from a stereo audio file but this does eventually fix itself.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Hardian N.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 51-200 Employees

a Fully Free Featured Video Editing Software

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 11/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Satisfied using it and would recommend to anyone i know that works in Art & design

Pros

- Free, i can not imagine how can this fully featured software be free
- Mature based user, means better problem solving are readily available. if you have questioned just google with the top result are your friend
- Easy to use
- Many free transition available

Cons

- Too many feature, not for amateur user. I move from Power Director which is easy, just drag & drop render done, Davinci Resolve is for Professional use video editing user, still drag and drop but there are many variable to consider (frame rate, res, preview res)
- rendering, sometime need can stop mid way if you use a lot of transition, there's a setting for that.
- rendering doesnt fully use the available ram, i am using i7 dual channel 16GB ddr5, but when rendering only took 3gigs, even though i permit it to use all of it.
- workflow, inconsistency and slow loading preview rendering for high-res editing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cody S.
Industry: Photography
Company size: Self Employed

Davinci Resolve free is all you need for most small to medium scale video editing projects

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 6/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The free version of Resolve is by far the most functional and feature rich video editing software out there. It beats out Adobe Premiere in the overall feature set you get, especially when you start to get into building effects in Fusion.

Each update has helped Resolve take more advantage of powerful GPUs so when you're working with VFX you're rewarded by having a high end GPU during playback and rendering.

The color modification options are rich and can do incredible things with your footage. You can easily take non-log footage and apply pre-existing effects and layers to get the look you want.

Fairlight is their audio editing suite, which is how this application started out as so you can imagine that the audio editing tools are amazing, and they are. One of the most convenient tools is the ability for Resolve to use audio analysis to automatically line up multiple clips from different cameras that filmed the same scene. If you find yourself often using a clapboard to align your footage, say good bye (assuming you're capturing audio from each camera).

The community of creators on Resolve is massive and you can find tutorial son how to do almost anything online. It's how I got started learning how to use the software and I'm still scratching the surface of it's capabilities.

Cons

The software is huge and cumbersome to learn. Luckily there's tons of tutorials on youtube from many creators that can show you how to do simple to super complex tasks.

If you're moving from Adobe Premiere, you're going to miss the ability to import content from other apps directly inside of your project. Resolve doesn't support integration into Photoshop and whatnot so you can't go from editing an image in PS then open it up in Resolve like you can in Premiere. If you're someone who heavily relies on the Adobe apps, this will be the hardest thing to get past, but once you've adjusted your workflow it doesn't really add that much time to your projects. You're more so losing out on the convenience.

In previous versions it had a tendency to crash randomly. Sometimes effects you create would go corrupt or prevent the project from successfully rendering or the Resolve to crash during rendering. This would require you to pinpoint what part of the video where the failure occurred, find the offending effect, delete and recreate it from scratch. This could be caused by something as simple as a scrolling text box. It was impossible to know what would prevent a video from rendering, which was super frustrating especially when considering the error message doesn't give you any info into what caused the render to fail. They've since made fixes to prevent this from happening, but just something to keep in mind when working in large projects: save often and test your exports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Aaron L.
Industry: Civic & Social Organisation
Company size: 201-500 Employees

DaVinci is simply the best

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 30/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Once I got the coloring and fusion tab down, this platform easily became my favorite. It’s really great.

Pros

As an audio engineer, I love the layout. For me, it was easy to get my head around because it offers a few different ways of how to view your project. The coloring tools, while overwhelming at first are amazing once you get it. I also love that this will allow me to use my waves plug ins when I switch over to Fairlight (the audio editing suite in DaVinci).

Cons

This is a very comprehensive bit of software. It comes in two versions: free and pay. I would recommend the free version first so you can get your head around how everything works. If you’re a Final Cut user, this will take done time to adjust to because there is so much.
This also doesn’t have the same amount of plug ins and transitions ready made like other editing platforms, but it’s because you can make your own. You just have to learn how to do it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Julie S.
Industry: Alternative Medicine
Company size: Self Employed

Davinci Resolve is the best complete video software I have used, and its free!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

100% would recommend to anyone looking for a professional video editing software that they do not have to pay for.

Pros

For someone who was new to video editing at the beginning of this year, I have to say it took many hours watching YouTube tutorials to fully understand Davinci Resolves features. It is a professional video editing software for FREE! I was fortunate to have started with Davinci Resolve, and since then have tried many other paid programs which I have since stopped using. From the media stage, cut stage, edit, color correct, and sound stages, it is very clear where you need to start and end to make an amazing video. I found that when using a green screen, this program was much more accurate than other paid ones in doing the color corrections.

Cons

Since I have a Dell Laptop, running Davinci Resolve definitely slowed things down. As it is an intense program, it requires the machine that goes along with that to keep your work flow moving along. I found that my laptop wasn't up to spec, but my husbands desktop was. Ideally, you would want more than 8 gb to run it smoothly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10