117 reviews

RetailEdge

Point of sale & inventory management solution for retailers

4.7 /5 (117 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Value for Money
4.9
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.8
98% recommended this app
117 reviews
Melissa D.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Mostly good, with a few major frustrations.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of checking out customers and keeping track of inventory.

Pros

Pretty simple and explanatory interface. Not difficult to teach new hires how to use. Tech support is usually pretty speedy and efficient.

Cons

Every time there's an update with the software or with Windows 10, we have to call tech support because something becomes incompatible or switched off. Also unhappy that we started out being able to use our POS as a touch screen, and when Windows 10 became the operating system, it was no longer able to operate as touch screen, tacking on time to our checkout speed.

Some of the report functions are a bit tedious to use.

Many customers unhappy that we can't tell them how far along in the loyalty program they are without us doing some major research; wish it was just automatically tracked in their account.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Eric P.
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Have Used RetailEdge for Decades!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using RetailEdge since 1996ish and we've found it to be simply the best for our modest retail operation. It does everything we need it to do and the guys in tech support have been super helpful (when needed) to keep us up and running.

Pros

Able to keep track of inventory, sales, customers with ease. RetailEdge easily links to our Shopify account so inventory stays consistent on all sales channels and is actually affordable for smaller brick and mortar operations like ours. Also able to view the days sales remotely which comes in handy when away from the store and the employees are running things. Customer lists can be exported in different formats and uploaded to mass marketing service providers with just a few clicks.

Cons

Some things are kind of cumbersome, and while most things have a 'work around' just the fact we need to use a 'work around' is somewhat of a pain. Having said this RetailEdge is still the best bang for the buck even with those occasional work around's. What's a Pain?
- Can't add colors / sizes to a Matrix on the fly without exiting matrix or it causes an error.
- Multiple vendors can't be used for 1 item.
- Closed Layaways or Open Order's don't say this on receipt. (even though we've gone over it with tech support it still doesn't work).
- Would be nice to open a service work ticket which will track customer's items. (we use an open order as a workaround, but it doesn't track the items in for service, or give a due date.) Maybe offer this as a separate module like RECAP?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vicki Z.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Grocery Store POS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Disastrous initial training session - I had done my due diligence in selecting this software and got the "out of the box" training not at all customized to my existing knowledge, specific questions, or rapid turnover of perishable products.

I was advised to not select Gold Level customer support when calling for tech support, even though I pay for it monthly.

The software is solid and predictable, have had no issues with it working as designed. Tech support is friendly and helpful.

Pros

Simple to set up; intuitive design for Inventory Management.
Ability to track 100% of items.
Plenty of Customer Manager features.

Cons

Full, robust reports are difficult to access. Downloaded standard reports are pdfs or garbage csv that require cleaning up to utilize.
Functionality for labels is limited, especially for character counts and font size, a huge disappointment.
Adjustments to Sales Screen QuickList are cumbersome - a definite disadvantage to grocery seasonal stock rotations. It takes 8 clicks just to get to the search window to update/add/delete a QuickList item.

Response from High Meadow Business Solutions

Hi Vicki, thanks so much for the feedback! We are very sorry to hear your initial training session was anything less than ideal. There might be some confusion with regards to our phone-based technical support, so someone will be contacting you shortly to clear that up and to address your other issues as well. We'd love to hear your suggestions on how to better the program. Thanks again! -Kayla

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Vanessa M.

Best Value and Excellent Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple yet powerful. Great support. Online forum is excellent for getting questions answered or to learn a new skill. Fantastic reports and even more functions I have yet to try out. I love how there isn't a huge monthly monetary commitment and that the software does exactly what I need it to do. You really can't go wrong. It was the best decision I made. The gentleman who runs Rings n Things recommended it and I am so glad I went with his recommendation. It is scary to put all your inventory onto one system. I started with a small store and now we are filled to the brim. I am very confident with the software and am looking forward to doing more with it when I can find the time to play with it. I am happy to talk to anyone who has any questions.

Cons

My online store and inventory are not directly connected. The printers can be a pain but that is more of a printer issue not a software issue. Also things are wonky with only one USB on most new computers. Again, the printers don't want to play nice all the time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Elio S.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Former QBs user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Very pleasant

Pros

Multi location. Recon. Brendon barcode reader

Cons

I think it could have more options for credit cards processing

Response from High Meadow Business Solutions

Hi Elio, we are so glad you like RetailEdge! And we completely agree about having more choices for integrated credit card processing. That's why we recently added a new partner processor, CardConnect. They have a flat rate of 2.5% and $0.05 per transaction. email us if you'd like more info! -Kayla

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nicole J.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

We have been using RE for a long time. It is perfect for a small retail business.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is easy to use and is awesome for managing inventory. The reporting functionality is very helpful for ordering and deciding what inventory should be discontinued or reordered. Great program for multiple locations as it is easy to see what inventory each store has so you can satisfy a customer right away with knowing we can transfer the item right away.

Cons

Two things: I would like to see the loyalty dollar part of the program a little more user friendly. Most loyalty programs accumulate in real time vs. having to batch. The other thing is having to select a payment method for gift cards before scanning the card. It would be easier if you scanned the card before the payment screen.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ginny G.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

From day 1 (almost 15 years ago)been so helpful! Rarely need help when I do they are great!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Inventory management, sales reports

Pros

Easy to learn, provides data I need to make good decisions for my business. Turn key set up and support.

Cons

Having to modify the price to reprint a price label with the original price on it. We do markdowns in red pen from original prices. Never need the sale price printed on a label. Would be nice to be able to reprint labels always at original price. Now look up item, change price back to original, print label, change price to sale price.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kathryn L.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

RE at VC

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The best benefit we have realized is the tracking of inventory.

Pros

I had used Retail Edge in a previous position and knew that it would suit the needs in the small store that we have. I like it best for the purchase orders, tracking of merchandise and the customer data base.

Cons

What I like the least is that I am sure there are features we could use but don't, which is why I am attending the conference next week.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eva L.

Great people to work with.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy and inexpensive. Over 135 reports. Easy to search current inventory. Easy to teach employees.

Cons

Should have reports other than a sales report that generate manufacturer or vendor part numbers. Hard to integrate with some of our manufacturers reports. Have to manipulate excel sheets which is too cumbersome. Would like the sizes listed horizontal instead of vertically. Kind of like a size sheet where you make scores.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Nicole J.

Being a customer for 14 years I think says it all. Great product and even better support!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Perfect for my small retail business. Having two stores it tracks our inventory and simplifies the ordering process for the two stores. It is a user friendly piece of software and if you don't understand anything, the RE Tech staff is there for you!

Cons

I wish it was available for a Mac platform as I am not a fan of windows. When windows updates is the time we have trouble and need tech support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Audrey R.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

we use retail edge for four location and online sales. great for inventory control and cust. info

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

the ease of viewing from any computer, not just the point of sale computer. customer info is easy to access and set up. the reports are very easy to customize.

Pros

all of the reports are easy to use and customize.
customer contact has all you could use to keep track of customers.

Cons

inventory search. that being said it may be the way we have ours set up and could be used a different way to make it more efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John S.

Very good standalone software suite for managing sales and inventory for a retail store.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 28/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It is invaluable for our business.

Pros

The software is easy to use and very intuitive. Loading inventory is pretty straight forward. Because it is windows based we can run it on any computer that fits our needs. Currently we are using a surface tablet with a generic Bluetooth barcode scanner, receipt printer, label printer, and cash drawer.

Initial setup for accepting credit cards was quite easy with the assistance of customer service. The software has a very robust reporting system that help in day to day management and simplifies the accountant's efforts.

Cons

Becuase the software package is so comprehensive, it can take some time to complete the initial setup.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Katherine M.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Continues to improve

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The customer service is great, the features keep improving and the sales process is great. Gift cards, set up, customer records- all awesome.

Cons

The reporting, while improving, can be cumbersome. This could be because of the type of products we sell being complicated, but exporting to excel requires a lot of gymnastics to get the data how we need it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Erica V.

We use Retail Edge on a daily basis as our primary POS software. We use the software extensively.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It ties together all aspects of our retail shop from inventory to customer service in utilizing the customer data base by keeping track of sales. We have never had any issues with the software failing us and whenever we have had any issues, customer service at Retail Edge has been prompt and helpful and always gets ua through any issues,

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ashley S.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Have been using this software since our store opened and haven't had any major issues

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

With this software glitches are rare. We only need to call customer service about once per year and they are always super friendly and are able to access the computer remotely to help fix things.

Cons

Layaways that have been finalized have too many transactions listed in the sales manager. Once completed it should be one receipt showing all payments.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David A.

120+ hours testing/research = most robust and best valued software application in the POS market

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Inventory tracking , metrics on so many different areas and potential for scaling up business.

Pros

.It's a one time software cost verses monthly cost system and low optional monthly update service. You have the option of onsite hosting order cloud hosting. Both still allowing ability to scale to multi store. So many ways for configuring and your not paying for "add on's" that aren't really add-ons.

RetailEdge has been around since 1998 - they're invested in this business and not a 5 yr old start up. They understand Retailers real issues, not just the fluffy stuff and are always making changes.

Cons

The GUI and presentation is not pretty (but it's functional). More specifically the touch screen POS doesn't allow for too much customization when it comes to: button size, adding more tabs, perhaps adding pictures on the buttons.
Inability to customize printable reports - eg. removing the cost price on PO's - as it still prints cost price; even if the user does not have cost price privileges.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

William B.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Retail Edge has been our reliable partner for 4+ years!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Retail Edge has been a great system for our stores.

Pros

We like the simplicity and cost effectiveness of Retail Edge. It is also very robust. We have never lost a transaction over the past years.

Cons

The report interface is not the best. We end up exporting our raw data and using other reporting software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Hazel A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Software is easy setup and use.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Sales entry made easy. Customer loyalty gift certificate and gift cards.

Pros

The ability to easily install the software and configuration and setup. The easy of creating customers, vendors, and items. Sales entry is supper easy.

Cons

Not being able to print descriptions with barcodes and not being able to print cash reconciliation report.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Phyllis F.

I have was very pleased with Retail Edge.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Extensive data capture including lots of historical information. Ability to export and import data from CSV/Excel.

Cons

Inability to create your own reports easily. Limitations in search function (does not have multi-level search feature e.g., Description = gri* and SKU = CH*).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kenny F.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best software for the money.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use. Takes no time to train someone to use retail edge. Make record keeping a breeze. Best software for the price

Cons

retail edge crashes sometimes. other than that never had an issue with the program. It does everything i need it to do

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter S.

Great company, been working with them for over 10 years.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very reliable, updated frequently, multi location capable, locally owned and way above average support.

Cons

Cant run it on a Apple computer, would be great because their hardware is above average and they are easy to maintain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Scott L.

All in all: good product, exceptional price point, and great staff.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 9/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been quite please with RetailEdge. The software is quite functional and pretty straight forward to run. The customer and technical support has been top notch. A special shout out to Anthony in tech support. He was extremely helpful when working through the bugs getting the store open. Also helpful in customizing a special request on labels and receipts.

Cons

I would happily give RetailEdge a 5-star rating except for two concerns.

1. The MPop mobile register/receipt printer sold by RetailEdge was extremely buggy. They were great about the return, but in hindsight, I've not heard anything good about this product. Mine may have been a lemon, but it may be a product they should remove from their list of recommendations.

2. I wish they would develop the product for Apple OS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Robert D.
Industry: Sporting Goods
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Retail Edge Happy User

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Rep in sales has been great and so they are quick to resolve any issues.

Pros

Easy to use, and the Cost is reasonable.

Cons

That I didn't find it 10 years ago. I would have saved thousands.

Response from High Meadow Business Solutions

Hi Bob, thanks so much for your kind words! It has been our pleasure! -Kayla

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kerry K.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

After using a POS package that cost 10's of thousands more, I'm amazed at how easy & intuitive RE is

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 24/10/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Great flexible functionality at a very reasonable price. Predictable upstream costs. Small, dedicated technical / sales force that doesn't allow me, the client, to get lost in the shuffle.

Pros

Uniformity throughout modules. Ease of understanding how it works. Superior indexing for searches. Ease in expandability. Quick sync'ing of multi-store databases. Automated updating to smooth out the version to version upgrades for small monthly fee.

Cons

I don't know enough about it yet to have a well informed opinion, but I guess lack of a multiple ship-to address feature in the customer database is the most troublesome for my business which serves, for example, many apartment complexes that are managed by one management company

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carly N.

New customer 2018. Setting up and support to get started was a little tough.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The touch screen and ability to change things easily in the POS program. Our managers have access to change the inventory and we can print labels quickly for products as they come in.

Cons

Customer support in setting up at first. Felt like our language and the IT support language was different. No real direction on steps in setting up the software program. We enjoy the program now that we understand it better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support