55 reviews

Aloha

Restaurant management and EPOS solution for businesses

4.3 /5 (55 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
3.6
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
3.6
87% recommended this app
55 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha Review

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Aloha is a very good software to use and recommend it to restaurants to use for their employers.

Pros

I use Aloha at the restaurant I work at; it is the computer system we use to send our orders to the kitchen. What I like most about this software is that it is very easy to use. The layout and color scheme is nice and not too outdated or overpowering.

Cons

There is one specific issue that comes to my mind from using Aloha that I liked least. When I was typing in an order one day and then sent it through to the kitchen, the kitchen was not able to receive the entire order of what I typed. It got cut off and I think that was due to typing in too much information. It may have also been because of the specific button I used. Regardless, this isn't a big issue and it's not like people are going to be typing in "novels" to send into the kitchen.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kelly M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

The easiest Point of Sale System of them all to learn and use.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

What is there not to like about software created for staff of all levels of experience. In previous places of employment, I had worked with the point of sale systems that were so intricate that it took me weeks to fully master all of the features to its operation, so I was a bit worried that Aloha would turn out to be another one of those. Little did I know that this would be the software that made me into the confident server I am today.

Pros

The Aloha POS System was by far the easiest software I have encountered throughout my work experience in the Food & Beverage Industry. The interface of the actual system itself that I used to enter customer orders into had everything right in front of your eyes on the main page of the screen, which allowed me to enter my orders quickly and accurately. This layout also helped me manage several customers tabs at once without having to jump through several hurdles to do so. Anytime an order needed a modification last minute, I was able to get the system to help in time.

Cons

There were honestly no features in this software that I came across and questioned its purpose or use. Everything has a place and where that place happens to be just makes sense for the establishment that it is attached to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Alexandra C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Hello Aloha!!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If you are in the resturant industry you need to use Aloha for your POS. It is easy to use, gives you the lay out of the resturant and is easy to add items or change information in the system. It does a great job keeping track of orders and tables.

Cons

It has shutdown before and caused panic, but if it's not as easy fix, someone is always out to fix the system super quick!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patience V.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha for everyone

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I would say it takes effort and time to learn. It’s great for a location that has a lot of items to place in the system. Not my favorite but manageable.

Pros

I like that this is a software that you can scale with. It’s durable and can be implemented if you have many locations.

Cons

If you have issues there is an aloha software man that will come out- you can’t troubleshoot yourself. Sometimes leaving you down a few computers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Ben A.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I had a good experience with aloha. Very user friendly and easy to use.

Pros

Very user friendly, very easy to train new staff. Support is easy and generally quick to fix any problems that arise.

Cons

I really didn’t have any major issues with the software. Nothing to complain about. All problems were fixed quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chad H.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use aloha daily. The formatting of the program is very easy to use without much of any instruction.

Cons

Should have a way to view even after the system starts a refresh. That would be my biggest complaint.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cary W.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Worth the money

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great, very few hiccups and great customer service when needed

Pros

Very easy to use and understand. Made everything so quick and the learning process was very short. Loved it.

Cons

What I liked least was having a PC as a main terminal. Would have been easier if we can change more on the fly using a terminal. Also interning tips separated by currency wasn’t the most efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kevin L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

NCR Ruined Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Since NCR has taken control of Aloha, the customer service has taken a severe nosedive. They are constantly "escalating" the issues to teams that never seem to get back to you. Management and "local" support has zero support or care for your problems.

Pros

Ease with front-of-the-house interaction and training.

Cons

Old, antiquated technology and non-responsive customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Kelcie S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Unfortunately, I don't feel as though I have any nice things to say about Aloha at this time.

Cons

There is a non-existant customer support, nearly impossible to extract data or reports, not customer friendly and inconsistent. Service goes down a lot.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Leigh L.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A-NO-ha

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

You can not solve any problems with Aloha, you can only create them.

Pros

Aloha is dated so it makes it easier for senior citizens to use.

Cons

Everything. Aloha has next to no functions that a current POS system in the food service industry should have. It really is a waste of time trying to use it and I would tell anyone considering using it in their restaurant that they are making a MASSIVE mistake.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

STAY AWAY!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 6/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

There is nothing amazing about this software.

Cons

It requires a lot of configuration and doesn't give the owner/admin much flexibility - everything must go through the reseller and the charge A LOT of money to do the smallest change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Alessa L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

highly recommended!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

i personally have worked with aloha for years in the restaurant industry & it hasn't failed me yet. can easily switch through many settings very fast. multitasking made efficiently! splits checks and turns on and off whatever inventory can be used or not through custom settings. many more features once you get working with it !

Pros

straight forward interface, fast settings, fast action buttons and shortcuts. Making team member cards and adjusting features on a custom level is an amazing pro definitely.

Cons

glitches, unexpected reset, some screen freezing .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ronnie B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Overall Great Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall easy to maneuver software. Easily controls employee clock in/out times. Holds easy access to sales through the POS. Overall great product.

Pros

Easy to learn software, most things are easily coded to navigate at ease. In the POS things are categorized which makes it easy on new employees.

Cons

Nothing stands out enough to dislike the software, sometimes the POS freezes and it needs to be manually restarted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roscoe S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good but probably outdated

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Loved East Bay Cash Register who sold me two systems, but now that NCR manages them, it’s over. Bye

Pros

Easy for waiters to use. Reports are easy to read. The hardware is fairly robust, purpose built.

Cons

Service once was wonderful, but since NCR bought them a couple of years ago it’s a cluster fuck. Initial support is routed to India where you’re on hold for 10 - 20 minutes, to talk to someone whose only solution is to reboot, which of course we’ve already done. Then they can only “escalate” which means it gets routed to another idiot in India who calls you back in a couple of days to tell you to reboot the system. Then it gets escalated again and in a week you get a call from the local office who fixes it in 5 min. And they only in the last few months have developed chip readers, which without it, requires you take a 300 question PCI compliance exam every 6 months, only to fail because you don’t have a chip reader, then you have to apply for an exemption which you always get, but still, hours of work because no chip reader. Loved my local office who sold me the machine, can’t do it again though.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Eric W.
Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Aloha is the best POS system we have used to operate our restaurant

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have used 3 different POS systems and overall found Aloha to be the most compatible for our restaurant.

Pros

This is the most user-friendly POS we have used in the restaurant
The back office is very easy to use for reports, inventory control and POS terminal maintenance
Aloha also has a direct affect on our customers. Our staff finds it easy to use and they spend less time learning and more time providing the best customer service experience.

Cons

This was the most expensive POS we have purchased at our restaurant.
If our POS terminals go down it tends to take some time for replacement

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A little outdated, but gets the job done

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Aloha for the past 10 years. Although the software serves it purpose well, I do feel like newer technology is coming out that has already surpassed Aloha.

Pros

The software is easy to learn and the interface is simple and straightforward.

Cons

The system seemed to need rebooting quite often in the middle of a shift which would be frustrating for our restaurants team members who needed to ring up items on the Aloha terminal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Niklaus K.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Leader for a reason

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The reporting and back-end functions are easy to learn compared to other programs. Servers love how simple it is to use and learn. It's the fastest for ordering food I've come across.

Pros

Visually appealing and powerful. Aloha makes ordering items easy and it's also the easiest POS, I've worked with, to modify items.

Cons

The ability to transfer checks between staff could be easier. Most places don't do that often, but others do.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kristen H.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

You can’t go wrong with Aloha

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Easy from step 1. Training was simple and implementation was also easy.

Pros

Aloha is easygoing use. Aloha has above average customer service. The design is intuitive making it simple to figure out on your own.

Cons

The stock background colors were not great, however, they were easy to change and customize. Pricing is high

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shelly K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

One of the best in the business.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

After being in the food and beverage industry for over a decade Aloha is known as being one of the best ones on the market. As a user it simplifies everything. With innovative features on splitting checks and opening tabs it really helps production time in any restaurant.

Cons

The only problem is with so many other options out there on the market Aloha has failed to lower their prices to be more competitive. Maybe that’s due to them knowing they’re the best. If you can afford it then I would highly recommend the investment.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Courtney F.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Orders in, Reports Out

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I liked but didnt love the more than acceptable software for orders in resteraunts I have worked at.

Pros

The system can be easily learned and training is a breeze. The software does everything you need a resteraunt software to do and pretty quickly.

Cons

The menu inputting system might be improved upon and easily adapted to how the servers want to use it the quickest.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Brad G.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Probably the best Restaurant POS out there

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use and teach, simple FOH functions and back office reporting. Rarely any software issues.

Cons

Somewhat expensive, but you get what you pay for with Aloha.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Price for a Restaurant starting out

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I'd recommend it for a restaurant or bar.

Pros

This is an easy to use and update POS for any restaurant. I have used it in the past and it is easy to separate checks, open tabs, and run reports. Everything is simple and straightforward.

Cons

Some items are a bit out of date and I hope they fix that in newer updates to the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kaila L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to function & navigate!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Aloha allowed me to work quickly and efficiently as a waitress in a fast paced restaurant. Aloha never froze up or had to be restarted.

Cons

What I liked least about Aloha was that some of the buttons seemed out of place, I think overall the buttons could be organized in a more neat and organized fashion.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sally T.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

aloha

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

this is my number one recommended software for restaurants and bars. it is very easy to use whether you are the admin doing the adjustments or the user putting in order.

Cons

sometimes we have issues with new updates and getting new options put in to the system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Doug C.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Old customer

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

In the beginning could not be happier now with upgrades would not get again

Pros

Old version very easy to operate best in the industry

Cons

New versions more complicated back of house very difficult became that way when NCR took over

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10