10 reviews

Apex LIS

Laboratory information system for the healthcare industry

4.1 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.1
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4
80% recommended this app
10 reviews
David D.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great Support Behind The Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

When I was brought on as the IT Director, this app was the biggest open issue. After doing some testing I found that our ISP latency response time was extremely high thus being the underlying issue with the app communicating with our cloud server. Called and had a discussion with Oscar, we had a test console deployed into our Citrix environment that evening and began testing the next day. Console ran like a champ and my staff couldn't be more thankful!

Pros

For the price it's really hard to beat. Anytime we have any issue we are able to get a tech on the phone and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

Sometimes devices stop communicating and the system needs to be rebooted. We've put in a process to simply reboot the workstation every evening and this seems to have minimized this issue.

Response from Apex Healthware

Thank you for your kind review its a pleasure to be of service to Legacy ER

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lisa C.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Apex for your POL LIS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

An LIS in the POL results in more timely results without transcription errors. However, most LIS are designed for large hospitals and are so expensive that the average POL cannot even consider the cost of installing one. Apex has changed that. I am the Lab Manager in a POL with 8 providers performing over 100,000 labs on an annual basis, and I must say that this was our best purchase ever! As a plus, the customer support has been very timely and personable.

Pros

The Apex LIS is perfect for the Physician Office Lab. Not only does it provide all the features needed, but, unlike most of its competitors, its is very affordable!

Cons

I honestly do not have anything negative to say about the Apex system.

Response from Apex Healthware

Thank you for you for allowing us to be your LIMS. Its a pleasure!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Shane H.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Apex sucks! Unprofessional answer...... yes. Truthful?.......Absolutely

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/08/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Apex had good customer service initially, in fact I referred several other clinics to them in the first year after opening in 2009. At first they seemed very responsive to our clinic needs, however, over the years they have gone significantly downhill. As in I don't think customer service could get any worse.

Pros

Most of the time Apex works just fine. But how many software programs do you know that work perfectly all of the time? Its when it is NOT working is when you see their true colors. When see a companies response when things aren't working is when you measure the value of the company and the software program.

Cons

For 13 months now we have been trying to get Apex to interface with LabCorp. This is a process that should only take 2 weeks or less. Our clinic is NOT the only one having problems with Apex. Here we are 13 months later and still no interface. The problem is that clinics are held hostage by software companies because it is frequently cost prohibitive to drop your LIS company and switch to another (same thing with EMR's). At MedNorth we are at the point where we are going to just bite the bullet and switch to a new LIS company....that's how bad it is.

Response from Apex Healthware

Dr Hill we are sorry to hear of your frustration. Please note that this interface (1 of over 100) was completed by us in 10 weeks but we waited on your EMR for 9 months to complete delivery of insurance & guarantor data. what can we do to make this right for you?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Khalid K.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

SignatureCare Emergency centers Love using Apex LIS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We love using the software as it provides us the central platform to manage our in-house lab. We are able to serve our patients faster and efficiently.

Pros

It is user-friendly and easy to learn after it is initially set up by the expert staff at Apex support. We have worked with them to centralize the use across multiple facilities and successfully integrated with our EMR software. Results transfer to our EMR seamlessly.

Cons

Sometimes communications to the devices break but Apex support has set up a robust recovery process.

Response from Apex Healthware

You are most kind. It is a pleasure to be of service to SignaureCare!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kyjuan B.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Robust LIS with excellent support at affordable price!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

As [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of one of Bermuda’s largest medical clinics we carefully evaluated which LIS would be best for us 5 years ago. We selected Apex Healthware and have been very pleased with both the performance of the software as well as the professional and pleasant manner of the support services.

Pros

The best things about the software are ease of use, reliability and adaptability to our needs.

Cons

Can think of nothing that we are not happy with.

Response from Apex Healthware

Thank you Dr Brown for your kind words. It has been our great pleasure to be of service to you and your excellent staff!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Gregory G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/07/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We have been working with APEX for over 5 years and we have never had a major issue. They have created multiple interfaces for our laboratory and it has always been done relatively quickly. When there is a delay in my experience it is the other party that is slowing the projects down.

Pros

I like the team behind Apex a lot. They are responsive to requests, and try to accommodate us without nickel and diming.

Cons

The biggest shortcoming of the software for us is that there is no easy way to enter manual tests results from worksheets.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jiang J.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Lab manager Auspicious Laboratroy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Our previous LIS system can not interface our Mass Spec to the system, we had to manually enter the data. Apex has experts to solve this problem, we have been happily using this LIS for 3 years.

Pros

The software provides easy access for physician web portal. The interface to all the lab equipment is stable most of time.

Cons

It is not web based, can not work at home.

Response from Apex Healthware

Thank you for your kind review. FYI we are beta testing cloud version at large New Jersey Hospital.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amanda F.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great value!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, the Apex LIS is definitely worth the price.

Pros

The system was affordable and the customer service is great. I'm able to get on a first name basis with employees so it feels familiar and personal.

Cons

Like most LIS systems, it can be confusing at first. But Apex is great about answering any questions and remotely logging into the system to help in any way possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ralph P.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great LIS excellent support!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Have enjoyed working with Apex.

Pros

It does everything we need reliably and at an affordable price.

Cons

Not applicable. The LIS is easy to use, does everything we need and support when needed is competent and friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shannon E.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 11-50 Employees

This software is garbage

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

No one ever teaches you really to use it. It works, but you will hate it because there is a lack of necessary functions. Looks like a kindergartner made it. HATE IT. HATE IT. HATE IT.

Pros

It stores your data. Crashes all the time. Not many things I like about the software.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and the software team wants nothing to do with you. Customer service is terrible. They totally ignore you. If a data transfer error occurs features don't help you remedy the problem. Once we had to manually delete 1000s of accidental files. I remember asking to try the software before we bought it and they basically told me that wasn't possible....

Response from Apex Healthware

Hi Mr Ealy just read your review and am mortified. With 100s of clients occasionally one falls thru the cracks. My apologies as founder of Apex i will make sure this is corrected quickly. What can i do to make this right for you?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10