153 reviews

Adobe Captivate

Smart authoring tool with VR and 360° eLearning design

4.6 /5 (153 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.6
/
5
Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4
92% recommended this app
153 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Feature-Rich Design and Development

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I've preferred Captivate to Storyline throughout my career. Most orgs seem to lean toward Storyline because the UI is so similar to working in PowerPoint. I definitely prefer the more robust feature set that gets quality, regular updates/enhancements that comes with Captivate.

Pros

The ongoing updates and upgrades continue to make this software easier to use for those new to it, and also expedites building many of the interactions. Really enjoy the Assets feature as well when looking to switch things up a little - really helps with inspiration and new ideas. The online community is also really great with supporting each other and lending new ideas. The different preview options that are built in are fantastic and load so much faster than Storyline.

Cons

There are still a lot of work-arounds needed for some interaction types to meet digital accessibility needs, but that's to be expected with almost any software. When capturing video, you cannot capture device audio.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Felix manuel M.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Adobe Captivate saves time and money for you and your company

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Since 2012 I'm using Captivate for make all the documentation and instruction manual for many software or website I've developed or I collaborated with, saving me and the companies a lot of time and troubles. This is very recommended for freelance developers and companies as well (companies of any kind that have employees using any software).

Pros

This software save you a lot of time on making your software documentation and/or how to teach the final user to use the software or website they need to do their work. Remember, “A picture is worth a thousand words”, and I think a video is worth a thousand pictures.

This is special useful on companies that have many employees, or with employees distributed for all the country/world. Companies that needs to take working the new employees as soon as possible, with a minimum loss of time on teaching him/her the new employee on how to use the software needed for their job.

Cons

In my special case, I need to complement this software with one video-editing software, for take more advantage and do more things that final user of my software/web very appreciate. However, Captivate works just fine by itself.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rachel N.
Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Adobe product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, Adobe is consistent in their buttons and features - so if you know how to use an adobe product, you'll at least be able to navigate this.

Cons

Adobe can also have a learning curve, which can make it difficult for newbies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Grant H.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good for making E-Learning material, but a little dated

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I use Adobe Captivate to make training material on our 360 publishing system. I've used it for many years, so have some good experience using it. The online export facilities have got better over time, and have helped me move away from having to distribute large video files.

Pros

I like that I can use Adobe Captivate to quite easily make E-Learning materials, that I can export to be viewed online.

Cons

I would like to see more progress on development of Adobe Captivate, as it is a little dated and could do with some more features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Cyndi T.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

E-Learning Developers dream!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

When I want to create a more interactive E-Learning course, I turn to Captivate over other similar software like Lectora.

Pros

Captivate's features go above and beyond other software out there for E-Learning development. In today's world, most people we come across seem to adapt better to hands on learning. Captivate allows you to create interactive and intuitive learning.

Cons

I have not found anything that I really don't like about the software. Creating some of the interactive experiences can be tedious at times, but that's to be expected with similar software of its kind.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eric O.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to use!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 26/04/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I liked the fact it was easy to use. If i had any problems i could find a video to show me how to do it.

Cons

There are some features that did not work the way you would like.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Pdf reader

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This has been of a great help to me in reading and editing out pdf documents.

Cons

It doesnt really have any drawbacks. I an satisfied using this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jeffrey C.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Beautiful design software

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 22/08/2019
Review Source: GetApp

For English/Art History projects in an academic setting.

Pros

I used captivate to create my projects for English class. Eventually, I was able to create a booklet with great detail inspired from some of their beautiful template designs. I think this is a great software to use for advanced graphic designers or folks who really want to include breadth instead of simplicity for their artwork.

Cons

Sometimes dragging out template sizes can be a bit annoying. Also found it hard to juggle between different layers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kerron M.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 201-500 Employees

I love the possibilities, it's the learning that takes time.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It has been quite user-friendly, but there is a learning curve. I am not yet trained in Captivate, but once I am it will be key to getting our training program more fully developed.

Pros

What is possible with this product? Pretty much anything! This is what I'm learning with using Captivate. The more I learn the more I can create. This is a great program for my needs in building a training program. It's essential to where we are taking the company.

Cons

It's a little tricky to learn and remember where everything is. I am signed up for the Captivate Specialist program and want to get started. However, I cannot access the learning videos until 4 weeks prior to the learning summit. This for me is almost 4 months away and we want to start building our training program now!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Well suited for creating simulation, walkthrough courses.

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 5/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

A fantastic tool for walkthrough, demos, simulations based elearning design. A must have for companies looking to create interactive elearning courses.

Pros

Adobe captivate has excellent screen capture options especially for simulations, walkthroughs etc.. Keyboard activities, movements of mouse, actions performed on the screen, audio on the system, clicks and interactions etc.. can be captured in the recording frame and made responsive for multi devices.

Cons

It is better to use a good screen capture software so frames in between are not lost. These can be imported into Captivate.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Harold C.
Industry: Design
Company size: Self Employed

The other pro Camtasia

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

with adobe captivate integrate print screen about other remote device

Pros

the option more complete for the user in the education is Captivate, the integration of code is good and have more option for explained the class

Cons

the integration with HTML5 is deficient, the posibilites for import and connect with other documents o file type of adobe is null

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

To be honest, I expected better from Adobe

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 20/03/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Captivate seems like the "black sheep" in Adobe's lineup. If it had more integrations with Adobe CC, it would be a great option, but unfortunately it doesn't get the attention it deserves.

Pros

One endearing quality of Adobe Captivate is their "Live Device Preview" Which allows you to preview your creation on an actual device.

Cons

Coming from Articulate Storyline, it's very difficult to get the same type of interactions and logic in Captivate without some considerable tinkering.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Arthur A.

Rating only

Reviewed on 19/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Steven P.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 9/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Mckenzie B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 6/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Joseph M.

Rating only

Reviewed on 13/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Arden E.

Rating only

Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Valerie D.
Industry: E-Learning

Rating only

Reviewed on 31/05/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Olivia L.

Rating only

Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Sandra B.

Rating only

Reviewed on 19/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Ameena F.

Rating only

Reviewed on 24/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
William H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 7/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Yvonne G.

Rating only

Reviewed on 18/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Amar S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 11/03/2019
Review Source: GetApp
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Captivate

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/11/2020
Review Source: GetApp

Adobe captive is one tool that once you master how to use it offers amazing output, and especially in this time of corona it is mostly required and used.

Pros

this is great software for creating eLearning content. It has a lot of features that ensure that there is interaction and feedback.

Cons

The software is not easy to use, the user will have to learn from tutorials or attend classes to be able to use and harness all its features for the end service to be achieved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10