70 reviews

Koomi POS

iPad POS for quick-serve, takeaway & on-the-go customers

4.4 /5 (70 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4
89% recommended this app
70 reviews
Jeremy L.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Koomi, the point of sale app that we chose!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We save money, we serve more customers and there's no downtime. The customer service is INCREDIBLE. I don't usually make reviews but Koomi's team is so good that I had to. They are very close to their clientele so I feel safe. Accepting payments is one our core operations and we need perfect execution.

Pros

Koomi is very easy to use. It was very easy to integrate it with Leaves House's team and with our the other softwares and hardwares that we were using. It also works with the SRM (Quebec). Its simplicity helps us to serve the clientèle better and spend less energy on staff training .

Cons

I think there could be some improvements on the analytics side. Having said that, Koomi is very close to their users, their team listens and they are working on that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Yorick C.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Ease of use, day after day

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It’s simple to use, not too expensive and the customer service is acceptable.

Pros

It’s super easy to use and anyone can learn how to use it in less than 5 minutes

Cons

The fact that it’s not directly linked to the Interac payment solution. Also, in a dream world, Koomi would be connected / linked with QuickBooks

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Annie N.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great app for us (ice cream shop)

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's super easy and simple to use. All my employees find it user friendly.

Cons

Two things would be easier:
1) It would help a lot to have different colors for the different groups (in the options). This way, it would be easier to scan and find the option that we want to select within all the groups.
2) It would be easier if we could correct one or many things after having clicked «check out». If the customer changes his mind after we have clicked «check out», we have to delete the complete order and then enter it all over again with the one correction.

Response from Koomi

Hi Annie,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

2) You mentioned that you were not able to delete any items after clicking "Checkout". You can actually swipe left on an item to delete it even after having clicked "Checkout".

When in doubt on using Koomi POS, please give our support team a call - we are always happy to help!

Thanks again,
The Koomi Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sarah S.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Koomi review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Its accessible from my phone. Has gotten easier to train staff on screen layout.

Cons

When it crashes it feels like there are too many hoops to go through to figure out why.
Updates are only available early in the morning, which is not convenient if you open early and there are changes that need manual adjustments. They can mess with our morning service.
Night time after hours would be better i believe...it would be nice if ypu can see what we sold during the hour instead of just amount we made during the hour.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Claudia R.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great program, very usefriendly

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 7/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Great service

Pros

Quite easy to navigate and user friendly

Cons

Colour coded section would be great for more visual references
Back office, easier tally of multiple location

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marc-antoine P.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Been using for 3 years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Koomi's really suited for samll service business like our coffee shop. It really helps efficiency and it take no counter space. Overall, it increases our customer experience.

Pros

Efficiency and user friendly interface that are using Ipads and Apps. Really convenient for samll spaces.

Cons

A few adjustment here and there but nothing that compromise the use of the software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emilie L.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Coffee shop perfect

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You get a software with all the abilities you need for a cash register in a small shop at a perfect price.

Cons

Would like to be able to add more colors so that it's easier to find items on the menu.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sophie B.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Strongly recommand!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent customer service! Great technical support when needed.
The software is very userfriendly and easy to learn for new employes...
We have been using Koomi for a year and a half now and we are so far very happy!

Pros

Very easy to use. Not expansive. Great customer service!

Cons

It would be interesting to be able to put (and it might be eventually?) quantities to the items. For invertory management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marie-christine L.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best software for a restaurant

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to install, really reasonable price for what is does. I recommand to anyone who wants to run a small business or a cafe.

Pros

It is easy to use, updates are quick and always very useful.

Cons

Nothing, really. Its everything i need for work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vincent F.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: Self Employed

not ready for the public

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It's ok. I know it can't be for every individual demands of customers, but if the cms and app were more open to customization features on the client side, it would really help. The fact that it's a pretty closed system is a big thumbs down. The simplicity is acceptable and nonetheless a good app. Just hoping for more for the pricing. i feel just hiring a backend dev for a one off system would be just as expensive but with more features.
Also, customer service is horrible. No answer to emails.

Pros

cms is easy to use. its locally made. i feel like it's a small startup in a competetive market

Cons

lack of features : no custum sale reports for easy filing. Actually horrible sales reporting with only day to day reports that you have to manually file. Would actually be easier if we just had access to thendata files instead of lowering productivity by manually checking every day. also seperate exports for just taxes or just sales pre tax.
connectivity issues. Doesnt work offline or on location.
Lackluster managing of invoices on the app : doesnt help in fast intervention when in front of client if they quickly change their mind on something.
overall doesnt help me in productivity but adds a workload that could be avoided if new features were created.
updates shouldnt make the previous app version unusable. If there is an update during service it makes for yet another interruption in productivity and quality of the restaurant's service

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Qishen Z.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 28/08/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

In general, Koomi is very easy to operate and get used to.

Cons

Reporting system sometimes can be confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Laurel S.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Cumbersome

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good customer service upfront, little support since. Confusing for older users

Pros

Integrates with MEV device in Quebec, dashboard is straightforward

Cons

Too many buttons to press to cash out, doesn't integrate with my payment processor, expensive, only works on ipads

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Nick G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Complicated for Butcher shop

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 20/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ideal for single items and checking out.

Cons

When plugging in multiple items especially at the butcher shop, weights, very long and customers find the checking out very long. Would be easier if Koomi came with a scanner and be able to read our scales bar codes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

A great app for its price

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, we already had another software before and this is way more intuitive. The staff learns quickly how to use it.

Cons

Less options then some other software, like printing your daily report isnt possible from the app. You have to go to the backoffice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Madhuri K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Loving Koomi

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 22/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great functionality, easy to use, no issues as of yet!

Cons

I could not add my previous sales history for comparison year on year upon switching to Koomi

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shannon W.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Palm Lane Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Koomi has been a really, really great tool for Palm Lane. We love how straightforward it is to train staff on. I can't wait to see how we both can grow to better streamline processes in the future.

Pros

It's super simple to teach, easy to use and straightforward. Having the iPad setup is a simple tool for our business to use. I also love the app integration and hope that as our business grows, the Koomi Palm Lane app will become the most used app for guest's to use.

Cons

I do have a few wishlist items: the ability to "out of stock" items via the app directly, breaking down menu screens so that if we click on a salad it then leads to Protein Options, Salad Dressing Options, etc. (currently it's one giant list that you scroll through), for the Dine-In option via the App, the ability for the guest to choose a table number, some more analytics at the end of the day (better breakdown of "for here" or "to go" processed orders rather than scrolling through the master report).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ty J.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Decision

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 19/08/2020
Review Source: Capterra

This was great with all the reports available that my accountant had access to. It took a lot of time and effort out of the equation and made it easier when tax season was around. Overall it helped to determine what was selling best and how better to manage my business

Pros

The ease of implementation was really important since I started the business by myself and needed something that was going to be very user friendly. Also the layout was very functional and helped to make check out and taking orders very easy.

Cons

There were some issues with keeping orders open and adding items - however this bug was fixed through an update

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gabriel S.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use, perfect for coffe shops

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very good experience in general.

Pros

Koomi is so easy to use. I usually change my settings and prices at home with my phone. The fact it's an app on a tablet is also super nice.

Cons

Unfortunately, the app has problem connecting with my wifi (sometimes it might be connections problem) but it seems I'm not the only one having those issues.

Response from Koomi

Hi Gabriel,

Thank you for your feedback !

Since the latest update of Koomi app, how would you rate your connection with the MEV?

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
The Koomi Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Maori M.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Experience

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 26/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

This POS allowed us to centralize all the information in put it all in a cloud that is accessible from many devices. This has allowed our company to work more effectively and improve the customer experience by reducing the processing time of the orders. Would highly recommend!

Pros

Very user friendly, easy to install and set up. Our employees understand how to use it very easily and emphasize that it reduced the line up time we had with our previous system. It looks very sleek because it is just an iPad and paying terminals, which allows to have more counter-top space. The customer service is very personalized, always willing to develop to help our needs. In addition, the reports are all online and we can manage all of our restaurant locations under one dashboard.

Cons

no cons so far. Every challenge we had was right away addressed by their customer service and we managed to find solutions that were tailored to our needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Priscilla M.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Intuitive, and good customer support.

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

- Easy to use so we can learn others to use it rapidly
- The whole menu appears on the screen so we can have a fast service
- Faster service than we could do before

Pros

- Whenever I have a question, the customer support replies fast
- User friendly, we can get occasional users to use the software within minutes
- Menus are easy to change
- We had no problems with the software unlike with our previous provider.

Cons

- As our bar services need to be fast, opening and closing a ticket sometimes seem long for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nicholas R.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Cash Register Replacement

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Super Simple, No Frills, Easy to view dashboard and get reports.

Cons

I would like to colour code the buttons to make things easier. Having 24-7 customer support would be great too.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marie-pier H.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very good app

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Review Source: Capterra

very good overall experience for the kind of need we have

Pros

it's easy to use and modify and I like the stats and overview

Cons

if you have a lot of items, it gets confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Samuel P.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best pos software for a coffee shop!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Information is all in the cloud. You can access everything from any browser.

Cons

Interface could be more compact. Other than that, everything is super!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marie G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Koomi POS review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

It’s been great soo far. Some glitches on daily use that still have to be worked out and need to contact customer support.

Pros

Ease of set up. Great communication with customer care.

Cons

Not in person training (telephone training)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Susan P.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 201-500 Employees

School Cafe Use

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how easy it has been to learn and teach my students

Cons

Having to buy a new printer to replace the one we already had.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10