102 reviews

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

4.7 /5 (102 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
102 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User friendly and great support

Reviewed on 28/09/2018

I learned on Arena in school but have been using Simio for 4-5 years now in a professional setting and it has been great.

Pros

Simio has been easy to learn and allows great flexibility and power for modeling different scenarios. Additionally, the company has been great to work with and the staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and accessible. You can tell they have a great company culture.

Cons

On bigger models it can run a little slow, but this is probably mainly a hardware issue or a lack of modeling efficiency on my end.

Maciek N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Taught simulation in an analytics class using Simio

Reviewed on 23/06/2018

Pros

The support tools available for Simio are incredible. There are tutorial videos for every level of user and it's very easy to pick up quickly. The software itself is fairly intuitive and you can have simulations created from scratch in a matter of minutes.

Cons

I don't really have any cons that I can think of, maybe navigating from one area of Simio to another can be confusing every now and then.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very Powerful Simulation Software

Reviewed on 30/07/2018

Pros

This software has been the full package for me, providing the functions, details, and support required to build advanced simulations.

Cons

If anything I woudl say that the biggest issue is that the program is so robust that I required an extensive in-service to learn my way through it, difficult to self-start.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Pros

Can be applied to many different scenarios and is easy to toggle between 3D and 2D modelling.

Cons

Available libraries is limited so support is required or training

Jeff J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SIMIO is Amazing

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

SIMIO is an amazing simulation software program. The ability to model moving resources, tasks precedence and data modeling set it apart from many other languages.

Pros

The ability to use data modeling to add intelligence to the entities is amazing.
The task precedence ability is another feature where SIMIO stands apart. Finally the ability to model dynamic moving resources is another great feature.

Cons

The feature creep of these objects has grown to out of control. The bloating of the objects has made it difficult to teach and modify them. So many properties and features. Their conveyor modeling is a little primitive. The ability to not set the controls in an experiment from a excel table with the all the optimization parameters for each control is a pain.

Mauricio sven G.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best simulation software

Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Pros

The user interface is one of the best in the market. It´s always improving and they have an amazing team for support. They have helped me several times with questions that I had. Most of the time they answer the same day.
What I like the most is their policy towards education, particularly higher education. They provide all kind of help: documentation, demos, videos, books, blog, etc.
The "3D Warehouse" that connects automatically is free and very complete for improving your existing model.
The Simbits are the best tool for learning the software and for fast reference about doing something particular. I recommend any user to check anytime those Simbits.

Cons

I recently started to use Dashboards. However, there is not much info about how to use it and develop it. Anyway, this is a minor detail.

Pedro H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best simulation software i ever tried

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I was using Arena for 5 years until we got to know SImio. It was a breakthrough. We started using it and never stopped after that, in the university and in our consulting firm.

Pros

Ease of use

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value and support

Reviewed on 23/06/2018

Simulation of workflow processes.

Pros

Users have been very satisfied with the ease of use and setup process. After a downturn we needed to get users back on and the sales team made it very simple to onboard our users.

Cons

At the moment we are ramping back up from a downturn. Since this is a niche product, finding other applications for current licenses has been a challenge.

Roger W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SimBit is good

Reviewed on 9/03/2017

We purchased 2 licenses. The SimBit is really good, an excellent tool for quick start. The introduction is really good. The concept of token need to be more emphasized in the guid

Pros

No coding characteristic

Cons

Price

Ahmad hilmy A.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

a fantastic simulation software

Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Pros

The software provides a lot of functionality that can be applied by the user.
The huge coverage of subject areas allows people from different background to use simulation in their work

Cons

While there is a library of simbits to use, it does take a bit of thinking to link the simbits to a specific problem. This is especially difficult for newbies.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Distribution Centres in Clothing Retail Industry

Reviewed on 5/10/2018

We've been able to compare projects and their impacts on our distribution centres.

Pros

It's very visual and this makes it much easier to convince stakeholders of solutions shown with Simio. The software also helps us with decision making.

Cons

It's not always obvious how the software works, so training and good online resources are definitely necessary. Luckily Simio does provide these, you just need to take the time to sit and play around with the software.

Karine L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Intuitive and Challenging learning

Reviewed on 22/06/2018

Pros

I have a good amount of experience with Arena and I can see how faster it can be with Simio to accomplish the same thing, especially the animation. I also appreciate the agent-based modeling with the token concept.

Cons

I find there is a lack of documentation in general. I have not found good documentation on functions and applications. Simbit is limited and examples are sometimes too complex. I have not found a description of functions and different utilization example. I would have liked to see a description of all functionalities of a server for example.

There are so many users that come from Arena, I would have expected to see documentation to address the differences and suggest best practices to approach modeling.

Luis R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great tool for Decisión Making

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I have used SIMIO ofr the last 8 years. It has improved a lot and, at this time, I think is the best simulation software.
As a profesor and a researcher, my students and I take advantage of its flexibility, easy of use, and performance.
Great job guys.

Pros

easy of use

Cons

a bigger library and the possibility of integrating all simulaiton paradigms

Ben V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simio review

Reviewed on 5/10/2018

There is a learning curve and it took me about a month to get familiar with the program.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to build simulations. The tutorial videos are really helpful and easy to follow.

Cons

Sometimes certain properties are hard to find when clicked on multiple selections.

Kim H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

First time Simio User, long term simulation user

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I've been using Simio for about 2 months now and am very happy with the software to date. The product takes a little longer to learn than some of the other packages I have used in the past, however this seems to be related to the fact that there is a lot of content and options, specifically the combination of process and object environment. This combination, when used correctly has the opportunity to help develop large models quickly. Model execution speed and automated results collection and scenario managers also excellent.

Maria S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

For industry

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

i just try once but i like a lot my experience with Simio

Pros

Very easy to use
perfect for simulations
we can use a free version
instructions and tools that provide an easier use
Good Customer care

Cons

paid version is too expensive
no version for MAC
more slow for complex simulations
i don't find any other disadvantage

David S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexiblility to deal with hard to schedule domains.

Reviewed on 25/08/2015

Uses a simulation model to accurately represent the complexities important to your domain.
Includes comprehensive and interactive reporting.
Features risk analysis to tell you how likely you are to meet a schedule and provide an objective way to compare alternatives.
Includes 2D and 3D animation to help understand and communicate the solution.
Uses the power of the cloud (Azure) to run and distribute the schedules.

Omar A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great simulation software

Reviewed on 9/03/2017

I use this software in my simulation class. Students love it. It is easy to use and customer support is always available to help.

Pros

It is relatively easy to use. Provides a wonderful animation. It is up-to-date. Practical scheduling and planning feature.

Cons

Sometimes it is difficult to build a logic, especially with processes.

Jessica W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Strainghtforward, practical, useful

Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Simulate our current manufacturing system and test variables independently to find solutions, optimize our system

Pros

Easy 3D simulation
Build 3D simulation directly from 2D simulation model
Insert 3D files through google warehouse

Cons

Hidden functions (hard to find functions intuitively)
lack of shared materials online (compared to Arena)

Uriel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A software that makes simulation a "real thing"

Reviewed on 8/03/2017

I teach in strategic planning and direction of technology for post grads and a basic issue is the decision making for which SIMIO has helped us (students and I) to get a very clear comprehension of what would happen if the input and the process change in a system. I would like to add that most of my students work in industries and SIMIO has been used to simulate a lot of real issues.

Pros

The visual simulation

Cons

non

Carlos R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Academic review

Reviewed on 8/03/2017

Simio has been a powerful tool to support many research projects and to develop competences in simulation, in both undergraduate and graduate courses.

Samridh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes Simulation fun and easy

Reviewed on 5/04/2019

Simio is an extremely powerful tool and it really makes one's life so much easier for simulations. Simio also does have a workbook that has lot of exercises that one can go through and learn a lot about the software. Once one has their head grasped around the concept, this software can save time, money, effort and provide accuracy.

Pros

I absolutely love using Simio. It is such a powerful tool and it makes sense why the premium paid version is so expensive. However the biggest pro I see is that there is a free version that can be used which can help one understand the world of simulation. Simio has everything one needs to perform the complicated simulation process that otherwise would require us to write 100s of lines of code and make debugging difficult and daunting. I have been using Simio to do various distribution simulations such as uniform, exponential, triangular and so on and I don;t have to think how to do random number generation. Simio has so much more tool such as I love the reliability function where i can define what are likelihood of a machine failing and how much it would affect my throughput and productivity due to the varying repair times. The best part of Simio is that you can see the live simulation of your system in real time. Create a simulation for a M/M/1 queuing system to replicate a ice-cream store and watch how your customers arrival and service times affects your business. Fun part of simio is one can actually assing model entities with actual people and replace boxes with actual images which makes the presentation part of your system more engaging with the team. if you are a simulation guy/girl/business this software has everything one needs to validate, verify the architecture and answer questions that is not possible to be solved analytically.

Cons

It is lot of work to learn this software and there are not much resources online readily available. Most resources are integrated to Simio and so looking at videos provided by Simio and reading the help section is the way to go. The free software however cannot simulate really huge simulation system and at that point one needs to purchase the paid version. getting around the software is daunting and there are lot of aspects one needs to know to figure out how to create their system.

Danial M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio is not exactly what we expected but gives more than anticipated

Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Simio certainly delivey more realistic results than the simple spread-sheet based calculations we used previously, however you really need to invest a vast amount of effort in the model to be able to get an accurate and believable result.

Pros

The program gives an incredible amount of information and is far more accurate than the spread-sheet based caclulations we used in the past.

Cons

Setup of a true working model is very complicated and terribly time consuming. This is not a simple "drop in a box or two to make a production line and there it works" type of program, you need to invest the time using accurate input information in order to be able develop a true working model. Thereafter you need to keep updating your models in order to keep them relevant.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Versatile and easy to learn simulation tool in market

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Able to simulate and assess "what-if" scenarios for complex airline operations for understanding investment benefits, operational bottlenecks, and potential benefits of process improvements.

Pros

Enterprise team version allows us to have multiple users with limited amount of license; Easy to integrate with Excel for data input and output

Cons

Marginally on the higher side of memory intensive application; does not have/limited option/APIs to use the simulation engine outside of the SIMIO application.

Mohammed O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industrial Engineering Professor

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

SIMIO is amazing simulation Software Tool. It helps student performing their projects easily and proficiently