244 reviews

Patriot Accounting

Online accounting software made for American businesses

4.7 /5 (244 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.7
/
5
Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Support
4.8
95% recommended this app
244 reviews
Craig P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Basic Accounting Software, but it gets the job done

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Very good. The customer service is superb. They answer the phone and are very helpful. If they don't know an answer, they find it out and get back to you. Email support is good too. The software is pretty basic compared to Quickbooks but if you don't need all those fancy features as I don't, it gets the job done. And the price is much better than Quickbooks. They have a bank reconciliation module, but I don't use it. Highly recommend for small businesses.

Pros

Started out on the package almost 5 years ago. It was pretty basic then, Patriot has added a steady stream of features to it each year. We don't use a lot of them however. I like the dashboard. If you are using the Payroll module, it's totally seamless integration. No frills accounting but that's ok because that's all I need.

Cons

Can't put a check number on a Quick Pay when you are running it. I use manual checks and there's not way to do that, except by putting the check number in the notes. If you are using printed check stock, that would not be an issue. Reporting is a little thin, but it gets the job done. The Financial statement is a little weird how it calculates owner's equity but my accountant reviewed the numbers and said it is correct. If you have accrued liabilities, They use "modified cash basis" which it also odd vs. Cash Basis. No Statement available to send out to customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jonathan R.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Patriot Accounting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Patriot has been straight forward and easy to use. Their customer service has been quick and easy to get ahold of.

Pros

The best part about this software was the ease of setup. It's very easy to enter customers, receive payments, and keep track of expenses.

Cons

As someone who is new to accounting software, I did have to call customer service for some setup questions with adding in categories to track expenses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Brian M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use and offers a lot

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has been a huge upgrade coming from using spreadsheets on my own. The interface is easy to learn and there is always a good help page to show how to get started.

Pros

The thing I liked the most about Patriot Software was that it was easy to implement and learn how to use. I looked at other software for payroll and accounting but it seemed to have a lot of features I didn't need and it made the learning process confusing for those programs.

Cons

At first it was hard to link my credit union for the accounting portion but eventually I was able to do it. One other issue I was having was when I created an estimate there was no way to go back and edit it once it was created; you had to delete it and start a new estimate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Eric L.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best Price in the market

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Overall has made me spend less time on the computer which is perfect.

Pros

All of the services are easy to use. They software is very on top of all the newer features that most business owners like and want. Plus the price is perfect.

Cons

The only thing I really wish they could do it integrate with more software then what they do.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sheriese H.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The Best Accounting Software on the market

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this for 3 years now and all is perfect!

Pros

It is so easy to use and when you need to email fore help you get a reply same day very fast

Cons

absolutely nothing. It is the easiest to manage and use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Betsy W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great for starter

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Being an inexperienced bookkeeper, this is the most user friendly software for me.

Cons

The ease of correcting items not entered or fixing past errors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael R.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: Self Employed

Smooth Operator

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Awesome!

Pros

A smooth Operator is what you will be when you use Patriot Accounting!
*So easy to use
*customer service is amazing!!!!
*easily connects to banks and credit cards
*gives great reports like P & L's
*Great for the novice accountant and seasoned accountant.

Cons

I honestly can't think of anything that would make it better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Terry H.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Value

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

No complaints, very easy to use.

Pros

The ease of my payroll and year end reporting

Cons

I wish it had features for a statutory employee used in an LLC

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Julia D.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent for Small Businesses!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 13/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

It's a time-saver, allowing us to focus on our business rather than on administration.

Pros

Patriot integrated seamlessly with our earlier systems. Having been in business for over 20 years, we had a lot of history and couldn't just start fresh. Easy to link our bank accounts and get started quickly.

Cons

I'd like a full-service app for when we're on the road.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff G.
Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Safety Consultant

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Its been a good one

Pros

ease of use for a non accountant and the ease of invoicing my customers

Cons

need to be more flexible in invoicing to be able to produce duplicate invoices

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carl M.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Does everything I need

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software will automatically correct you if you make an entry that doesn't balance. Very user friendly. The layout is great and the reports are insightful.

Cons

If I didn't have a business degree and taken a few accounting classes it would probably have been tough to get started. Making journal entries more than two lines and knowing which categories to use would be difficult with no prior experience. I struggled for a couple months trying to remember what I had learned from accounting 101 back in College.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Julie S.
Industry: Veterinary
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Glad I found Patriot Software

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 8/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Very good

Pros

Paying a staff member is so easy and fast!

Cons

Adjusting to a new style of format is my problem not patriots. I’ll get the hang of it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bryan J.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I love Patriot Software

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

It was easy to get going, changes over time have been pretty easy and times when I have needed help, that was given in a very willing way.

Pros

Easy to use software, does most of things I need for payroll.

Cons

Not a whole lot, I wish there were a few more things, not many, but for what I pay, it gives me what I need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Aysia R.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 2-10 Employees

New To Accounting

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Still getting use to it

Pros

I can set up payroll and I don't have to calculate the fees.

Cons

Creating invoices doesn't look as professional as I would like and it needs to stand out more with colors also I would need for my customers to be able to pay me through an ACH portal and Patriot doesn't offer that.

Response from Patriot Software

Thanks for the great review Aysia. Our Accounting Premium gives users the ability to choose from several different templates and customize colors. Accounting premium also has many more features for just a little bit more a month. Give it a try for 30 days free and you'll be able to try out invoices that reflect your brand.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Doug H.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

base plan

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 29/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good basic software and great support.

Pros

easy to install and begin using, more affordable options

Cons

check printing requires too many steps, customizing invoices not available, an easier to view check ledger would be nice

Response from Patriot Software

Thanks for your review Doug. Our Accounting Premium offers customizable invoices. If you want to try it out, you can for free in your software account for 30 days! Also, we recently added a new check register report. Please check it out and let us know if it meets your needs. Our product team is always listening!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

James J.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

James H Johnson CPA

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 15/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

payroll

Pros

Easy to use and automatic tax payments and pricing

Cons

Some of the reports are not user friendly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark W.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Patriot Software Payroll

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Once it was set up, the system is a breeze to use.

Pros

The interface is intuitive and very simple to use.

Cons

Report section is not as robust as I would like -- for example variations of reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patiane F.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to use

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has been great! I wish they had a price package base on employee numbers.

Pros

It is pretty easy to use, price is good. Costumer service is very accessible

Cons

Sometimes is hard to find the feature you need but once you call costumer service they walk you through it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mary P.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: Self Employed

Perfect for my business

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Payroll with ability to pay employees or 1099 contractors. The accounting software helps me keep track of expenses for tax time and for paying back out of pocket gas, parking, and tolls. When I call with a question, they always solve my problem or direct me on what I need to do. They're very helpful.

Cons

There is a learning curve to get things set up, and the phone system for getting in touch is very awkward as you need a code to begin a call. I assume this is the security method they use for the accounts, I'm grateful for that but it could be improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jay H.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Patriot software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has been seamless using the software program for payroll. Its easy to make changes.

Cons

I didnt see anything I dont like at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sheri F.
Industry: Public Safety
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Perfect for our small business!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's easy to use! I use if or payroll and taxes.

Cons

I don't have any complaints. Been using it for a few years.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sam W.
Industry: Retail
Company size: Self Employed

Accounting Made Simplier

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 17/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reconciliation is fairly easy and quick.

Cons

No easy way to have multiple pages open, concurrently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Felicia L.
Industry: Printing
Company size: Self Employed

Excellent service

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to use. Very good for organizing payroll and taxes.

Cons

It was All good. I had No problems. Nothing to complain about

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steve E.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 11-50 Employees

CONTROLLER

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/01/2021
Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

Pros

GOOD SUPPORT, EASE OF USE, SOLID COMPANY

Cons

NOTHING, GOOD SOFTWARE, COST IS REASONABLE

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kenisha W.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to Navigate

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/11/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Great product. Easy to navigate through. It has access to online help and step by step instructions on how to accomplish what you are needing to accomplish.

Pros

Everything is so easy to navigate through.

Cons

It is an awesome product.

Response from Patriot Software

Thank you, Kenisha! We're so pleased hear that our software is easy for you to use and navigate. Let us know if you ever need any more help.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10