Patriot Accounting

4.7 (256)
Online accounting software made for American businesses

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(256)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.8/5

95%
recommended this app

256 reviews

Brittany M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GREAT SOFTWARE

Reviewed on 22/12/2020

I AM HAPPY WITH THIS SOFTWARE AND MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN WONDERFUL

Pros

PATRIOT SOFTWARE MAKES IT EASY TO PAY EMPLOYEES, KEEP UP WITH INVOICES, AND PAY OUR VENDORS IN A TIMELY MANNER.

Cons

SOMETIMES IF A CHECK IS ISSUED IN ERROR, IT WILL NOT ALLOW YOU TO DELETE THAT PAYMENT, ONLY VOID IT.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

WE DECIDED TO GO WITH PATRIOT BECAUSE IT WAS MORE USER FRIENDLY AND HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED.

Response from Patriot Software

Thanks Brittany! We love when our customers realize the benefit of having both accounting and payroll software under one login! We appreciate you sharing your experience!

Dietmar B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beutifully executed software

Reviewed on 10/01/2021

I really could not be happier. What a contrast to Quickbooks.

Pros

Ease of use, logic rules. It matches my small business needs.

Cons

Create a file where I can pull pre written messages for quotes and alike from

Larry Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great to Use

Reviewed on 30/01/2021

We were in the process of talking about going back to Quick Books and decided to stay with Patriot because of costs and ease of getting live help

Pros

Ease of getting into program

Ease of. getting help

Great to work with when calling in

Cons

When trying to get to certain options on the side to use, hard to maneuver to where you want to go

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Choosing Patriot Accounting

Cost

Switched From

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

Cost
Kent P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Still using Patriot Software after 5+ years

Reviewed on 11/01/2021

With built-in time card management, I can print payroll in minutes plus free hassle-free direct deposit it just makes it easier to run the company.

Pros

Easy to use, functionality that fits my needs.

Cons

Still don't have a mobile app, no big deal.

Alternatives Considered

Gusto and Xero

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

It just fits my needs.
Judith G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New to the product

Reviewed on 20/01/2021

I am extremely pleased with the program/software, and generally I am able to figure out how to resolve input on my own (but not always)

Pros

The software is very user friendly, however, I still need instruction as to ALL of the functions that I ought to be utilizing, and currently do not.

Cons

I have NO cons about the software because I don't know what I don't know right now. I wish there was someone to guide me through the programs - specifically tailored to my particular application (for contracting).

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PATRIOT ACCOUNTING HAS MADE MY LIFE EASIER!

Reviewed on 7/02/2018

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PROGRAM FOR SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS!

Pros

BEFORE I WAS PAYING AN ACCOUNTANT ALOT PER MONTH NOW I'M PAYING UNDER
SOME AMOUNT PER MONTH. VERY AFFORDABLE!
CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE BEST I'VE SEEN OF ANY OTHER PROGRAMS I USE FOR MY BUSINESS.
EASE OF USE, IT TOOK ME VERY LITTLE TIME TO LEARN THIS PROGRAM. IF IT DID HAS A QUESTION I RECEIVED VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE HELP VIA PHONE, WITH VERY LITTLE WAITING TIME.
LOVE THIS PROGRAM AND RECOMMEND TO TO ANY SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS!

Cons

HAD TROUBLE WITH ACCEPTING MY CARD FOR DIRECT PAYMENTS. OTHER THAN THAT I HAVE NO CONS WITH THIS PROGRAM.

Clarice M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Patriot Software Review

Reviewed on 14/01/2021

From my point of view the Patriot Software Company is one of the best.

Pros

The software is cost effective and efficient, easy to use and it definitely streamlines the entire process. I am relieved to have a hassle free provider. As long as they don’t change I won’t change.

Cons

I’m not sure if the Patriot Software portal still allows the employee to access everything about the company’s pricing. If so, I’ll never like that aspect.

Robert P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Patriot Payroll

Reviewed on 8/01/2021

Pros

The opportunity to run payroll with checks and direct deposit.

Cons

The volatility to click the "Payroll" tab and starting payroll when trying to view past payrolls.

Alternatives Considered

RUN Powered by ADP

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

The option to run payroll myself and allow for custom features.
Marchello P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

DISAPPOINTED

Reviewed on 15/09/2020

Pros

SET UP WAS EASY, DOWNHILL AFTER THAT.
PERHAPS IT IS ACTUALLY EASIER THAN I AM EXPECTING, AND NOT GIVING IT A CHANCE.

Cons

PERHAPS I DID NOT SETUP CORRECTLY, BUT IT SEEMS LIKE ANY TRANSACTION I DO IS LIKE PERFORMING JOURNAL ENTRIES ONLY, I AM USED TO QUICKBOOKS, VERY EASY AND INTUITIVE, PATRIOT NOT SO MUCH,
EXAMPLE IS ADDING ACCOUNTS ON THE FLY IN THE MIDDLE OF TRANSACTIONS, INSTEAD OF CANCELLING TRANSACTION, AND CREATING THE ACCOUNT, THEN START OVER WITH THE TRANSACTION

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online Advanced

Reasons for Choosing Patriot Accounting

WANTED SOMETHING EASY, PORTABLE, CLOUD BASED, SIMPLE.

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

SIMPLICITY
Jeff W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Basic software

Reviewed on 7/01/2021

Great software overall. Very helpful support staff.

Pros

Pricing is great for basic accounting. Meets 90% of a clients needs. Perfect for small schedule C businesses.

Cons

Doesn't offer (yet) features needed for multiple divisions of larger businesses. Or specific features needed to operate mid size service orientated companies.

Gail L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Payroll

Reviewed on 20/01/2021

Pros

Reasonably priced, friendly customer service, easy to use or given good instructions if needed.

Cons

I am a seasonal business and on the 941-tax return on part 2 number 18 there’s a check mark for seasonal employers to check if they are seasonal so they do not have to file a return for every quarter until they are open for business. Patriot payroll’s system does not allow their program to check this. I would think this should be an easy thing to fix but for some reason they say they cannot change this.

Joseph G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Patriot has been a life saver.

Reviewed on 11/01/2021

Pros

It's ease of use has been amazing. It does everything that a small business owner like myself would need.

Cons

The only thing that would be nice is if it had a more competitive built in merchant services.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

I didn't like Intuit as a company.
Jacqueline S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Patriot Made Payroll Easy

Reviewed on 20/01/2021

Pros

As someone who did payroll by hand for a couple years, Patriout software made this less of a chore. I especially appreciate that it generate my quarterly federal payroll returns very easy.

Cons

I didn't have any problems using the software and i recommend it to my small business clients.

Pam A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 22/07/2019

Makes my bookkeeping so much simpler

Pros

The ease of daily tasks especially payroll invoicing and reports. Sales tax is done in a jiffy as well as monthly expense reports.

Cons

I really have nothing negative to say about this software

John C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love the system

Reviewed on 20/01/2021

Very useful and great alternative to Quickbooks

Pros

The ease of use and collaborative approach with clients.

Cons

Too soon to say. I will know better when I have more time to play in it.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

Seemed easier to use
Kaitlin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is amazing software

Reviewed on 13/01/2021

i am happy and excited to continue to move forward once i am able.

Pros

I love the detailed reports and the layout of this software, i have tried all of the accounting this one is my favorite, and the price is right now if only my cash flow would l let me continue my use.

Cons

no t able to access reports when i need to.

Alternatives Considered

LessAccounting and FreshBooks

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

hav not fully decided
Yessenia C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and Affordable

Reviewed on 6/08/2020

this software is so affordable and easy to use. I have payroll with patriot and now the accounting .
i would record my transactions but i read the blogs and i was intrigue and i am glad to select this software and signed up with it . i even called my brother and share how this software helps you keep track of the business

Pros

The journal entry how it syncs my bank statement and i am able categorize the account .
Creating Invoice .
Keeping track of my business revenue .

Cons

Patriot needs an update to fuction on the phone.

Nelda A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 10/01/2021

Patriot Software has helped make the whole payroll process a lot easier and has helped ease the burden of filing payroll tax reports.

Pros

Patriot Software is easy to use and takes care of a lot of administrative tasks.

Cons

The cost may appear to be a bit prohibitive but it is definitely worth the price.

Alison S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best small business accounting software

Reviewed on 15/09/2020

This software is remarkable.

Pros

This is easy to use.
The price is great
This helps me keep total track of my business and I am so thankful for it at tax time.

Cons

I love this software the fact that it rip grow with my company is the best

Karen S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affordable and User Friendly

Reviewed on 15/01/2021

Overall this software is the beat on the market and I continue to offer it to my clients.

Pros

The set-up of patriot is guided properly for first time users.

Cons

When they stopped reporting payroll to The IRS and Patriot never formerly made us aware and we received notice from IRS to let us know we did not report or pay our 941 quarter tax.

Kymberly S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Super simple/user-friendly! Customer Service is impeccable.

Reviewed on 26/08/2015

We switched over to this software in the middle of the year. While, I chose to set everything up myself, customer service was there right to help with every single step. Any time I've had a question they've been able to answer either right away or find out for me as soon as possible.
Our only "cons" would be that our paychecks need to be laid out a little differently than they allow and also, a plus would be to have an automatic vacation time addition. Each payroll I have to manually enter in hours for my employees. It would be nice to just have that added in for me, like I can in Quickbooks.
Overall, it's insanely easy and for all of the services, it is way cheaper than Quickbooks. We are so glad we made the switch!

Response from Patriot Software

Thanks for the great review Kymberly. We wanted you to know automatic vacation accruals are currently in development. We want to hear your suggestions about the paycheck layout, so a Support Rep will be contacting you. We value your input!
Your friends at Patriot

Cynthia Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Customer Service

Reviewed on 21/09/2020

Customer Service has been A-1, everyone is always so willing to guide me thru the process.

Pros

I enjoy that the software is so easy to use.

Cons

I think that I just need to learn a bit more to not be confused at times.

Stacy O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pleased by far

Reviewed on 15/09/2020

Pros

The fact the state and local taxes are collected and paid thru this program.

Cons

I wish you could select the location for each employee as I make payroll, rather than changing the employee location each payroll.

Braden W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Okay software, but has a lot of room to grow.

Reviewed on 5/07/2021

It is okay. If it weren't for their customer service, I'd have gone elsewhere but I think they are listening to feedback and making improvements.

Pros

I like the companies ethos and their support is great.

Cons

It is not easy to work with all the time. It took a long time to categorize all my expenses for the last few years and the way that the P&Ls are displayed are not easy to read. I also think they need to make the invoicing side a lot better. Incorporated more credit card vendors and make the invoices more customizable.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Patriot Accounting

Pricing and features.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Solution for Small Business

Reviewed on 24/01/2021

Very good product and great customer service the few times I have called. Only complaint was they once "disconnected" my account because I hadnt categorized the imported transactions in 90 days, but they gave me no warning so I ended up having to re-set everything back up and manually add all those missed transactions.

Pros

Easy to learn quickly and manage with little time or effort!

Cons

A few issues setting up but customer service helped me understand how to fix.

Response from Patriot Software

Thanks for your kind review. We're sorry for the inconvenience of having to manually import transactions. We want you to know we take your feedback seriously and now if your bank account ever gets disconnected because it hasn't imported in 90 days, you can reconnect and go back up to 2 years!