237 reviews

WooCommerce

eCommerce platform for WordPress

4.5 /5 (237 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.5
/
5
Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
3.8
94% recommended this app
237 reviews
Adam M.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The formula of success and ease of use.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Back in the day, I was always attracted by that GURUS online promoting other platforms (Never knew that they were affiliates). I used other platforms for 1 month and it was really expansive, all the plugins are extremely expansive or they charge a commission/ Sale. Then I discover WOOCOMMERCE easier, more control over the hosting and servers unlike Shopify (They can shut you down anytime they want without giving an ounce of explanations), and more artistic designing the websites
From my point of view, WooCommerce can be described as Legit, Genuine, Beautiful, Educational never had any trouble ever since I started building websites it was always a +++ Income
IT'S 5 STARS

Pros

WooCommerce it's beyond simple, I've personally been using this software for years (I even lost count) it has unlimited features:
-Connected to WordPress
-No more struggling for creating an eCommerce website, Online Courses, B2B platform, or more.
-It's simple just a drag & drop system no need for expertise or development skills.
-Best Worldwide Ecom platform and money saver, unlike others.
-Have more control over the servers and hosting
-The WooCommerce Community is everywhere around social media platforms and never struggle to complete a task.
- It's FREE TO USE and NO COMMISSION
-Multiple Plugins FREE

Cons

With Lack Of CMS, it might be a little hard to use, but after designing a couple of websites, then everything comes to a conclusion.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

David I.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: Self Employed

Create an online store and own it

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with this software is quite enjoyable, it is a great advantage to have this plug-in to build a professional store that allows you to sell like the big companies, taking in count that you practically own the store and you can do anything you want with it and sell anything you like, forget about being suspended or penalized it is practically yours.

Pros

- This plug-in software for WordPress is something else, it is really complete and allows you to create functional store from A-Z.
- It is extremely flexible and you can edit just about anything from shipping to payment processors, give coupons perform cross sales and up sales.
- It has several paid modules but you can purchase them as you go, plus if you are starting the basic out of the box version has enough to make you money so you can start adding more paid functionalities.
- The entry base system is free and works seamlessly with WordPress and it is fully responsive to any device.
- It works great with page builders such as Beaver Builder, Elementor and others, if you do not want to code this is a good choice.
- You have the biggest companies and shipping services having interrogations for Woo-commerce.
- It has a set up wizard that allows you to get started quickly.
- There is a lot of documentation and the woo-commerce community is huge.
- You can easily find a developer that is familiar with this system.

Cons

- The learning curve you will experience can be a bit steep specially if you do not have experience with CMS.
- There is some technical data you have to know in terms of taxes and logistics info but it can be easily sorted out with an internet search or a tutorial online.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jeanne M.
Industry: Performing Arts
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Too difficult for novices; not enough in-box customizations for the savvy

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/08/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that it is widely integrated into Wordpress themes. I like that it's connected to Stripe and PayPal. It's automated emails are nice, as well. Plug-ins are nice (but they are expensive and often are required for things you would expect out of the box). It can be customized to some degree, which was helpful for us...in some other ways, it is a bit rigid and not quite what you would want if you are trying to replicate a retail experience.

Cons

I would never recommend this to anyone who wasn't very, very, very tech savvy. It is absolutely not an option for people who don't have a lot of web development experience. It tries to be a system on its own, but we have found you really have to simply take the purchase data out of Woocommerce and put it into your own CRM system. We have decided to stop using it for our purposes of registering students for classes. We may still use it for the sale of items, but probably not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Mir fida N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Best and most widely used WordPress E-Commerce Plugin

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 30/07/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I am really happy with overall experience of using Woo Commerce for online E Commerce store.
Free version fulfills most of small startup business requirements.Only hosting domain and other charges are needed to setup your own Business or online store website.Configuration is effortless but may be confusing for a total non tech newbie who use shopify only.Nonetheless after some practice it becomes a piece of cake.It is a much secure platform with helpful plugins to for add-on functionality.I would really recommend it for online E-Commerce store specially which are already running on WordPress CMS.

Pros

First of all it is plugin in word press environment which makes it m first and only choice as the best for making e-commerce functionality website.It has all the functions to run an online store easily with out much technical knowledge.Various plugin supplement and extend the Woo Commerce functionalities even further beyond.Payment processing and order management is handled efficiently and effectively.Too many functionalities like bulk upload,shipping management, contact info, payment management and etc make life easier to much extent like designing forms, creating custom checkout field , shop page custom price filter and minimum or max product quantities...etc.

Cons

Not much user friendly like shopify and other competitor.Still just little practice needed to learn it.Its related add-on plugins can be expensive.I had not faced any major technical issue using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Emeka O.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

An Easy to Use Ecommerce website builder

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I used Woocommerce to build my ecommerce website. It was easy to do unlike starting from scratch to build the website. Also I didn't have to pay website developers to build the website for me. It could have costed me a whole lot of money had I outsourced it to website developers.

Pros

Woocommerce is an ecommerce plugin built for WordPress. To be able to use Woocommerce one must install WordPress first. Just like the parent software (WordPress), Woocommerce is very commendable.

The things I like about Woocommerce include the following:

1. Free to use: Just like WordPress, Woocommerce is free to use, though one may need to purchase some premium plugins to add some features that may not be available in free plugins. Cost was a major factor for me when I was making the choice of a platform to use for my ecommerce website, and Woocommerce was the best fit for me.

2. Support network: Woocommerce have a huge user base. There are online and offline communities where one can easily get solution to problems.

3. Ease Of Us: Woocommerce is very easy to use compared to some other ecommerce website builders I've checked out. One only have to install compatible themes and plugins to get started. It is a drag and drop ecommerce website builder, and need no technical skills to get started.

4. Security: Woocommerce websites are secure. The plugin witnesses regular updates to keep it secured.

5. Dedicated Dashboard: Woocommerce have a dedicated dashboard where one can see the performance of the website, like the number of sales, and the amount of sales. This is beautiful as I get to see how my business is going without much ado.

Cons

One of the issues I had with Woocommerce was the learning curve. Though it's easy to use after one is done learning it, but the learning curve wasn't very easy for me. After the initial stage of learning though, it became very easy to use.

Also with Woocommerce, I had to be updating the server myself unlike with Shopify. Shopify maintains the server. Shopify handles the technicalities.

Another issue was the need to buy an SSL encryption. With Shopify, this wasn't an issue for me, as Shopify takes care of that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Woocommerce is OK for the price - needs a lot fo plugins and customizations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall with sourcing the right plugins it works. Part fo the WC challenge is trying to be all things to all people. As a result, there are too many settings when we don;t need them and not enough when we do need those features!

Pros

The price is manageable (i.e. less than $200 /yr) and, if you understand Wordpress, can be implemented relatively quickly. Greater customizations require more plugins (or snippets) to make it work for more unique situations. (We sell courses and use additional plugins to achieve the end platform.)

Cons

Like most Wordpress plugins, when you get into trouble with a problem, there is 'some' support available but not reliable. Ultimately it is a cost / benefit trade-off. We use WC because for the price it is a reasonable solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Steven D.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent functionality out of the box (for free) with excellent paid extensions

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Very happy to continue to use WooCommerce on a wide variety of scenarios.

Pros

I like how flexible WooCommerce is. You can do pretty much anything any e-commerce solution can do, often for free.

Cons

The paid extensions are often not cheap, and are quite expensive.

Also, customising the functionality often requires writing code, which is not the most user-friendly feature (although it is developer-friendly).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eliel B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Your first ecommerce platform

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/07/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Quite positive, although you will most likely need dev knwoledge.

Pros

Relatively easy to design, deploy and handle. Its one of the 'cheap' options when starting an ecommerce store.

Cons

You still need html, javascrypt and maybe css knowleadge. Also, be aware that woocommerce is going to be temporary, once your company grows, you will have to find a more robust solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Moegamatnoor M.
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Thank you Woocommerce for an amazing product

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 7/10/2020
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with WooCommerce has been great, Literally saves me time and creates a way for me to do more.

Pros

The use of this has really made it easy for me to create a store very easy without complication. The great part of it is that it is free and easy to use. Dashboard is simple to use and the design with themes are are done for me.

Cons

I have not found any cons yet as regards to this software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Richard D.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The easiest way yo build your e-commerce

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 25/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Woocommerce is a plugin developed for wordpress, which allows you to build an e-commerce easily and intuitively.

You can manage products, stock, orders and integrate it to your page without much work. And last (but not least) you can plug your boton pay.

Cons

There is no owning hosting, if you want more add-ons, you have to buy it, they are sold serapately (if you need severals, you have to buy a few of them), there is a general service center (no an specific one)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sara T.
Industry: Graphic Design
Company size: Self Employed

When you have more time than money - worth learning!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/09/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It's absolutely a game-changer for me and my very small business. I sell items online and moved away from big commerce marketplaces because the fees were eating me alive in an already super competitive market. I can now run my own store on my own website and list as many items as I was for free. I also have the ability to modify Woocommerce however I see fit to my needs. It's a little tricky at first but worth the time investment considering it's a free opensource app.

Pros

It's free and it's open source! If you have the time and a little bit of patience this is well worth the investment of knowledge it takes to get it up and running. The modifications you can implement and the documentation on how to do so I plentiful online. Having the ability to manipulate such a versatile plugin for your website is monumental when running a small business and literally doing everything for yourself. You can also integrate print-on-demand stores like Printful into your Woocommerce store which is one of the best features!

Cons

It can be overwhelming. If you are not familiar with the backends of websites and a little coding this might not be for you. If you are unfamiliar with e-commerce this can also be overwhelming too. The language and deep level of modifications and settings can make your head spin.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Fahadh N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Expand your eCommerce horizons

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/07/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I would rate 8/10 for a smooth e-commerce experience WooCommerce offers.

Pros

Whenever you hear the word e-Commerce, it brings to your mind about buying and selling items from a web platform. But, WooCommerce has easily expanded the definition by providing flexibility to expand the eCommerce usage towards more industries. Other than tangible goods, services also can utilize WooCommerce conveniently with a few customizations or with a few side-kick plugins (Plugins that help extend WooCommerce functionality). For instance, if you run a delivery service, you can let your customers can place their delivery through the WooCommerce-based website, calculate the payment based on the distance and then pay for it online. Likewise, many other industries that provide services can utilize WooCommerce as their virtual store. Especially at a pandemic time, people rely on online platforms to fulfill their needs. They use online platforms not only to order tangible products, but also to pay for services. WooCommerce has a very easy to use user interface that is self-explanatory even for a non-technical person. WooCommerce support multiple languages, so you can set it up according to the language you utilize. If you can read and understand the language, it's just matter of time to set up your own eCommerce system.

Cons

Out of the box, WooCommerce supports sale of products and services. But to expand it to a more powerful and customized one, you need to rely on 3rd party plugins that help you expand the requirement. Some 3rd party plugins go abandoned / outdated - which might cause the functionality of the customization you've done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Danish M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

WooCommerce look a bit old but works very well.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

WooCommerce just helps me to create every type of feature-rich conversation-focused eCommerce website that can expensive when creating it without available options like Shopify. Although using WordPress requires some basic level of tech knowledge and to be a nice googler because you have to Google a lot of stuff to find the perfect solution and because of Free support it can take a few days of WooCommerce Officials to help you out. But I never needed their support because Google already had every solution I was looking for.

Pros

Many businesses offer easy integration with WooCommerce, It is very easy to understand and use with all the tutorials and documentation, even a beginner can configure it. Being so much customizable is what I like the most in WooCommerce, You can use either Free or Paid plugins from the WordPress Repository and integrate with WooCommerce to meet any of your needs, Whether it is marketing, optimization, sale or design changes. You can almost make any type of eCommerce website with WooCommerce using the available plugins and have the best conversion rate with optimized checkout with different Plugins

Cons

Its design looks a bit out-dated. We have to use different plugins to extend the functionality that some of them also use server resources. Its own dashboard is very very out-dated, It's very bad but fortunately, we can now use WooCommerce Admin but it still needs to improve as much as Shopify. Some of WooCommerce scripts take a lot of time loading of the front-end. For which there is no option to optimize either disable of the front pages where it is not needed. WooCommerce must update their Front-End and Back-End to look more modern and simple because people just hate the old one. Official Support can tke a long time to reach you if you're stuck at some point.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

WooCommerce is robust but can be a bit daunting to setup or use for complex situations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/08/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I like WooCommerce because I use it a lot and it works well with my own Web Development I do but sometimes it's just quicker and easier to tell a client to use something else in some cases.

Pros

WooCommerce does a great job at a variety of different things right out of the free (mostly) box. Want to open a shop for your comic book collection? Done. Want to sell tickets to an event? Done. Want to just keep a log of event attendees and "sell" a free ticket? Done. Just about anything you could need to do is fairly simple with WooCommerce once it is setup.

Cons

Setup and configuration can sometimes be a bit daunting especially for those that are not well off on knowledge of WordPress. If you want to do certain more complex things with WooCommerce you can sometimes run into issues either being able to do them at all, being able to do them exactly the way you want, or finding a plugin that operates the way you need. Then, even when you do find a plugin, you have to then keep yet another plugin up to date as well as possibly pay for said plugin too. It can add up quick if you start to get a little more advanced with WooCommerce.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Best eCommerce for WordPress hands-down, but prepare to pay for most customizations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/09/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

When it comes to choosing the right eCommerce platform for WordPress, it's the most rock-solid, safest choice for any long term use based on my experience from over a dozen store launches.

- The plugin is frequently updated, compatible and tightly integrated with WordPress (as WooCommerce was purchased by WordPress' parent company in 2015)
- The core WooCommerce plugin is freely available to install, which would work for many small, generic storefronts.
- Offers the largest selection of third-party plugins/extensions available for WordPress ecommerce.
- Wide out-of-the-box support with popular third-party WordPress themes.
- Relatively easy and fast to set up, with good documentation; offers a few free starter themes via the WooCommerce store.
- If you're willing to pay, WooCommerce can do just about anything and integrates with almost anything.
- The WooCommerce core plugin is built mostly barebones (using extensions to add functionality), which brings better speed and less bugs.
- Good customer service support and detailed documentation for their paid WooCommerce add-on extensions.
- Offers very powerful Zapier support (requires a paid add-on).

I've never had any point where I've considered using another online store platform with WordPress, or even one of the many non-WordPress hosted ecommerce website subscription solutions.

Cons

- WooCommerce extensions are surprisingly expensive and also subscription-based, requiring an annual fee. Inexpensive third-party alternatives exist, but there is risk involved.
- Building an extended "platform" such as a membership site / offering subscriptions (for example) can require multiple paid WooCommerce add-ons that rack up hundreds of dollars in annual fees.
- WooCommerce mobile app tools do exist, but do not offer much functionality beyond sales reports.
- Highly customized WordPress stores using a lot of plugins are at an increased risk to see major conflicts and performance degradation, and troubleshooting can be difficult.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mike M.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Powerful E-commerce Interface

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/02/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We've enjoyed WooCommerce during the last few years and have found it to be a solid e-commerce solution for our business. The system continues to improve and grow and we would recommend it to any companies looking for a powerful, customizable platform from which to launch their online sales and manage their customer base.

Pros

WooCommerce forms the backbone of our e-commerce website and we've been using it for around five years at this point. It handles a high quantity of orders with ease and its customization options are so far-reaching that if you can dream of a plugin for the system, it probably already exists or is under development somewhere (this may have something to do with its integration into Wordpress). Recently, we've been utilizing the Subscriptions feature to more accurately manage our customers' accounts, and this feature is particularly useful for recurring transactions. Coupons are easy to create and keep track of and WooCommerce can also be linked to external systems for more accurate monetary calculations and other relevant business features.

Cons

Reporting within the system does leave something to be desired. We've found that the reporting dashboard is fairly limited, particularly for more advanced metrics that can be found in systems like Quickbooks. However, as noted above, the system can be linked to other systems using plugins and various connectors, so it's possible to extract that detailed sales data if need be. On occasion the sheer amount of customization options can be overwhelming, as well, though this is a better problem to have than a system with too few options. The various plugins just need to be managed in a coherent fashion to ensure site stability.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Abid S.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Excellent E-commerce Plugin For WordPress

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 20/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

There are lots of reasons that I love WooCommerce. I really like the interface of WooCommerce, because it is very easy to understand and use. The product title, product long description and product short description, these are the fields where we can describe our products. So I always tell each and everything about my products to my website users. So after reading these details they buy the products. I have also used WooCommerce for my clients. My experience with this WordPress Plugin is outstanding. Because now I can design a good looking and professional e-commerce website.

Pros

WooCommerce is an incredible WordPress plugin which allow the users of WordPress to create a professional and stunning shopping website. Adding products and defining different categories to the products now is every easy with WooCommerce. You can publish simple product, variable product and even affiliate product. If you have affiliate marketing experience, then you should use this Plugin, because you can add your affiliate link products easily in your website. You can find different payments methods in this Plugin settings like if you have an account in any bank, you can tell your bank swift details to the customers. You can add your PayPal account, or even you can enable Cash on Delivery option for your customers.

Cons

According to my experience, display option of the different products should be simple and easy for the new users. Like in some free themes the users add this concept using code. So I think so, there should be an option in the settings of the plugin, where a user can easily display the products with different search options in the webpage.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andy M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Woocommerce Encourages Buyers to Buy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/09/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Works well with complete theme creative programs like Beaver Builder and DIVI themes. It also integrates well with Advanced Custom Fields which opens a large door to product customisation. Above all, a fantastic application for setting up an ecommerce shop without knowing too much about code or tricky customisations. It's a true plug n play application which works well with Wordpress.

Pros

This software is easy to setup and start adding products.
Assigning a redirect from any 'add to basket' product link directs buyers directly to the checkout page.
Woocommerce can easily be customised with simple choice buttons or additional CSS.
Allows you to connect easily with payment providers.
Works well with most popular SEO plugins.
You can easily create reports and integrate Woocommerce with Marketing CRM's such as Mailchimp.

Cons

Shipping is a bit tedious - I only sell to EU countries, so it would be nice if Woocommerce grouped countries together.
Live orders arrive in the orders menu but it would be nice to see what the product was without having to click on the eye icon.
Email notifications to customers are very basic. It would be better having a more advanced customiser which could incorporate a more customer friendly layout or upsell process.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Art B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

E-commerce platform, where your imagination is the limit.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I've seen million-dollar businesses with company build on WC, but is also great for small $100/month businesses.

Pros

WooComerce is open. The sky is the limit, endless possibilities, million of plugins waiting on the repository.

Cons

Sometimes those plugins don't work with other plugins. There's no hard styleguide from WC, so plugins might be hard to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Umair B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Easy and Professional E-commerce Plugin

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Woocommerce in my client's projects. Whenever I get any customer related to the online store, then I prefer to use Woocommerce using the Wordpress content management system. The themes I have used in these websites are really good looking and professional. There are lots of free and paid themes we can find on different websites. So my overall experience with this amazing plugin is incredible.

Pros

Using Woocommerce you can create simple, grouped, affiliate and variable products. If you are going to add a product with different specifications, then the variable product option is awesome. If you are going to start your own affiliate website, then you can try the affiliate product option. Woocommerce gives full features like you can see the order details in the WordPress dashboard, customer details, and everything. According to my e-commerce experience, woo-commerce is the easiest and professional plugin to design an E-commerce website.

Cons

Sometimes when we want to show the products in specific pages of our website with specific and unique options, then Woocommerce gives few code options, that we can use for this purpose. According to my point of view, the solution should be in the front-end of the dashboard instead of the back-end of the website like in the editor of WordPress. All other things of Woocommerce are awesome and easy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roshen D.
Industry: Computer Games
Company size: 2-10 Employees

One of the best ecommerce platforms

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 11/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I think WooCommerce is great company with almost everything free on their e-commerce platform and I would recommend it to anyone looking to start a new online business.

Pros

This software was very easy to use and completely free. The design of the site was also very clean and modern which fit in with my logo. Also the software isn't really hard to learn. After one YouTube video I was all set and adding products to my store.

Cons

There aren't any cons I think of WooCommerce but there are some on WordPress which is what WooCommerce is installed on. Installing a WordPress server is very complicated and frustrating and I didn't understand any of the "techy" stuff. So I purchased WordPress hosting from a company named Easy WP for about $4/month and they installed the server and did everything for me so all I had to do was create my website and products. For non "techy" people like me I recommend purchasing something like this since it will be easier to get started.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ozan O.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A good starting point to e-commerce

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I've used WooCommerce for basic e-commerce websites and it make a good job for it. Managing products, orders and shipments is relatively easy. It is a really good and free option to test your e-commerce idea.

Pros

Woocommerce is easy yo user for Wordpress users. If you are a Wordpress user, you can easily implement Woocommerce and start your e-commerce business. It comes with a couple of basic templates and allows to add products and open your website very fast.
Woocommerce runs robust and stable as a core WordPress plugin. Automatic updates keep the plugin at the latest version. It is very good for security issues. Default plugins are very basic but there are lots of great plugins for woocommerce. You can find a theme and plugin nearly for all of your customization needs.

Cons

Default themes and functions are very basic for an e-commerce operation. This means you have to add more themes and plugins. While there are lots of great themes on the market, useful ones should be very expensive. There should be inexpensive alternatives but there should be a risk involved them when it comes to security. It is possible to face performance and slowness issues if you installed lots of plugins to fulfill your needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Build Whatever You Want - Sell Whatever You Want

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using this to sell simple items, custom build items, and tickets to events.

Pros

This thing is so customizable its hard not to love it. You can sell anything from nuts & bolts to guitar lessons. You can add in whatever custom fields you need. You can expand the ease of use with the multitude of compatible plugins to solve shipping, invoicing, etc.

Cons

I'm a fairly DIY person, so I didn't mind hunting for solutions to my problems. However, I can see if folks are not inclined to be DIY about this they might be annoyed with the lack of documentation WITHIN Wordpress. However, there's tons of documentation available online as well as third-party plugins and support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ernesto enrique F.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best, fastest and easiest way to get an online shop

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

With woocommerce I was able to have my own store and be able to offer products online, that certainly solved many things in my business because now I can offer them around the world

Pros

Woocommerce is for me, the best plugin that can exist.

It allowed me to have my online store without much effort in an easy and fast way. What I like most is the amount of options available for the items you want to add, you can have items with different prices, presentations, sizes, etc.

Another of the things I like most is the variety of payment methods that you can configure to offer your visitors and potential customers, from a credit card to online payment platforms.

In one tool, you get everything you need to have a professional online store to offer your products in the world.

Cons

In general, woocommerce has everything you need and it is quite simple to configure and implement, however, there is only one thing that I would like to improve, the customization options in the store design can become so complicated that If you do not have knowledge of web development you can not have the design you want and you must comply with the one that comes by default or according to the template you choose.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ricky R.
Industry: Apparel & Fashion
Company size: Self Employed

Great Value For Those Just Starting Out

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience with woocommerce has been a good one. I have used it in the past on wordpress sites that I have setup and was completely with satisfied with its wide variety of custom themes, plugins, and support documents. When budget is a issue this my go to solution for for keeping monthly prices down while at the same time producing high quality stores that can compete in the marketplace against paid packages.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that its completely free unlike other similar solutions on the market. By providing a free solution for creating your e commerce site Woocommerce allows the site owner or developer to allocate their funds to more essential matters like marketing and promoting your site to draw in and gain a wider audience. Similar services on the market require monthly fees just to keep your online shop up and running which over time can prove detrimental to shop owners who are just starting out and may not have generated enough customers to keep the site afloat on its own. This is where woocommerce proves advantages over its competitors.

Cons

What I like least about this software is that by it not being a all in one solution, unforeseeable expenses may arise. For instance, other similar software packages include domain and website hosting already built in which eliminates the needs for searching and find the right hosting service that will offer the right amount of bandwidth and storage needs for your new shop.This simply isn't the case with Woocomerce where you are responsible for doing that critical research on your own.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10