Meisterplan

4.7 (36)
Project Portfolio and Capacity Planning Software

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(36)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

97%
recommended this app

36 Software options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meisterplan simplified our resource management

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Meisterplan is a great tool to streamline your complete resource management and save you lots of planning hours and avoid misunderstandings. It's super easy to use, has an intuitive interface and many interfaces to exisiting planning tools so you do not need to enter data twice.

Pros

You always see the current allocation of your resources and with simple drag-and-drop you move projects and recognize the changes for your resources and financials

Cons

The planning of part-time resources could be improved

Anton Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best product for portfolio management with resource bottleneck

Reviewed on 7/03/2017

I've chosen Meisterplan among 50+ PM tools due to easy-to-use resource allocation and project aligning features. Most suitable for high-level roadmap planning having limited resources for project development.

Jaehwan Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dayforce HCM

Reviewed on 19/10/2017

Pros

Paperless documents. It's very organized and convenient. Saves a lof time and increases efficiency in HR work.

Cons

A little complicated to adapt. Cost could be a little pricey to others. Quicker response in customer service or maintenance could be appreciated

Holger D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Superb interactive Project Management and Portfolio & Ressource Management

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

(+) With Meisterplan we can setup individual attributes within the complete scope of data, join personalized analysis of project teams, budgets and portfolios. It is fully customizable and can be rightsized to our needs and requirements. According to other known project portfolio management solutions this is one of the big bulletpoints and USPs of Meisterplan.

(-) Some controls dont sometimes do what they should do and react a little bit sluggish, and please add some new color themes and attributes for some dashboards and diagrams.

Benefits: Project Portfolio Management and agile business strategy within big software teams, multiproject management while implementing software and user processes in production and to overview agility, performance, budget, timelines and sustainability.

Andrew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Impressive project planning...

Reviewed on 23/11/2018

Pros

We tried this package after years of using the main competitor and have found this Meisterplan easy to use with impressive resource planning and prioritisation features.

Cons

Can be expensive to use as your needs grow.

Hein-frieder P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and easy

Reviewed on 7/03/2017

Just beginning with Portfolio Management in the Coporate IT, this product is easy to get in use, although powerful in function. At one glance we are now able to focus on the decisions needed.

Frank G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy start without training

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

With Meisterplan we were productive in just a few hours without extensive training. It offers the chance to use our own project management method what makes it quite simple to rollout. And ist well done for project portfolio management.
Project Portfolio Management and Project Management Processes become simple and fast.

Juergen H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great solution for business strategy alignment

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

For us it was difficult to find out which project is really aligned to our overall business goals. Meisterplan is the ideal solution to find the optimal way of prioritizing project in order of the impact of the business strategy.

Bredon J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nothing else like it for the money

Reviewed on 13/07/2017

Pros

Meisterplan filled a significant gap for us in understanding how we are utilizing our capacity. We now have a much better idea when we need to either say no to new projects or adjust timelines and team members assigned to projects. We use a couple of other project management tools, but nothing that gives us a high-level view of things like this. It brought our stress level down to manageable levels.

Cons

Meisterplan is a very complex, feature-packed tool. This steepens the learning curve on the user interface a little bit. However, I think it is the easiest to use of any of the tools I've been exposed to. At a fraction of the price of many enterprise-level tools, I'm not complaining.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very good extension to exisiting project management

Reviewed on 16/11/2015

We run our own self-developed project management solution. Meisterplan helped us to save this investment because it only puts the interactive portfolio management on-top of it. This give us more agility and flexibility.

Pros

Better control and analysis of existing projects. Portfolio and Resource Management

Cons

It's really useful and we didn't found any need for improvement

Michael E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Excellent solution

Reviewed on 9/07/2015

We used Meisterplan to clarify our efforts and values in all planned project. By using Meisterplan we could prioritize the most valuable projects and focus our resources on that. By doing that Meisterplan saved us lots of time.

Pros

very easy to use, integration of Excel projects fast and simple, outstanding personal support

Cons

pricing model not transparent

Heiner V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Meisterplan is an eye opener for resource bottlenecks

Reviewed on 3/11/2015

After a very short on boarding process we imported our own data and only a few moment laters we have seen where we have resource bottlenecks and overloads. That was impressive.

We would like to have some more option for the daily planning of resources.

We ever wonder where we lost time in our projects. Meisterplan visualize and analyze the resource allocations very easy.

Dirk P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

simple and effective interactive PPM solution

Reviewed on 19/06/2015

I used this solutions for prioritizing our internal projects and
found it very helpful. It is easy to use and offer a wide range of planning
capabilities to find the optimal project portfolio. This saved at the end
a lot of costs and also supported an efficient resource management.

Pros

easy to use, dynanmic and interactive portfolio planning, very easy
alignement of business goals and strategy with projects

Cons

some collaboration features missed

Johannes W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fast implementation and return

Reviewed on 3/11/2015

With Meisterplan we easily can align our projects with business goals, resources and financials. This led to fast and reliable business decisions.

Frank G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intuitive use of main interface (project roadmap and capacity/resource view)

Reviewed on 13/04/2018

Comprehensive overview, new ideas.

Pros

Visualization/presentation of projects and capacity/resource view. It gives all information at a glance and the deep dive on projects or resources in intuitive.

Cons

I could not figure out how the reporting really works, but it also was not my primary focus so far. Pivot features are fine, standard reports are ok, but mostly not helpful for my own use case.

Joshua L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Extremely innovative product

Reviewed on 25/06/2015

What an amazing product for doing portfolio profiling. Many different integration points to bring data in from external systems.
You can pick up and start to use this product without almost no training. This is where enterprise software needs to get to.

Questions to itdesign are responded to quickly. Thire SaaS based systems are provisioned extremely fast.

I'm looking forward to see where this product goes.

Florian G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

State of the art - Ressourcenplanning

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

We manage more than 100 projects and ChangeRequests every year. Meisterplan helps us to maximize our resources and keep track of our projects. The operation is simple, so that no training is required for the application. For me, Meisterplan is the best resource planning tool, which is currently available.

Dávid C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Project and/or portfolio management for company at any size. Low implementation cost.

Reviewed on 23/02/2016

Tested the application for two month, using the demo projects and creating new portfolios and scenarios.
Pro: Very visual, easy to use, not expensive, very reliable service, multiple interface, logging all scenarios in pdf.
Contra: No risk management.

Holger D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 28/10/2015

Paul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Our Vision “All project information visible, tracked and managed on a cloud based Portfolio...

Reviewed on 3/07/2015

MeisterPlan helped us get to grips with our client delivery projects, allowing us to identify and track our key milestones, manage our resource planning, forecasting and actuals using the financials. The product is simple and easy to use and the support and people are second to none.

Pros

Simple and easy to use
Missing data can be entered manually at any time
Supports the decision-making process of the Management Board

Cons

Users report out-of-the-box

Dieter W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Powerful yet easy to use

Reviewed on 23/07/2015

For a long time I was looking for the right tool to support a method called "project management by autonomous systems". Years later I found Meisterplan to be the exact electronic counterpart.
My customer uses Meisterplan to show the huge amount of projects going on and to prioritize according to company- and IT-strategies. Resources are planned to about 80% quality (Meisterplan is NOT a project management tool, but a strategic decision making tool!) which is totally sufficient and gives an excellent overview.

Pros

ease of use, easy to setup if internal processes are prepared beforehand.
Very good customer support.

Cons

currently no possibility to change basic data inside the system natively. you have to take an import-xls and re-import changes. Should be fixed with the next version...

Benjamin K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use resource planning application

Reviewed on 30/10/2015

Until now we used Excel for resource planning. With Meisterplan it was so easy to import our existing excel planning that we could start with the solution in less than a day.
In this version we still need Excel. But we know that Meisterplan will solve this dependency in the next version.
With excel we could not easily assign projects and resources and business goals. Meisterplan was the only solution that could help.

Chris N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complex and well-rounded software at a good value

Reviewed on 25/10/2018

Pros

Complex and detailed interface that is extremely useful once you get the hang of it. I also appreciate the affordable cost of this product.

Cons

In general this is a particularly difficult software to get started with when you are dealing with multiple team members with varied experience levels with enterprise-level software.

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best resource management solution

Reviewed on 30/10/2015

We took Meisterplan for planning our consultants and external projects and found it quite helpful. It's so easy to assign resources to projects and to see what happens with their capacity. At the end we improved our planning accuracy and the communication with our customers.